English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 12 March 2011, 13:30   #1
ceaser

Amiga 3000 6 GB SCSI hard disk inside - starting from scratch

Hey. I self-taught myself on the Amiga 4000, but I really never mastered how to properly prepare a hard disk for the Amiga. On this Amiga 3000, I've been using Workbench 3.1, and for some reason when I partition the hard disk it just does not work correctly, and will not install Workbench onto it. Should I use Workbench 2.04? I tried changing drive type then low level formatting then it says you're supposed to verify and do something with the bad blocks but I can't figure this out. No matter what I keep getting an unusable hard disk.

Help! Which steps would you take to get it going?

Also, I don't even remember if it was a PC thing or an Amiga thing, but I can remember the name of this program called Partition Magic. Should I use some 3rd party partitioning software like that?
Old 12 March 2011, 14:39   #2
lost_loven

Make sure its properly terminated and do 2 gig partitions and try formatting it.. 3.1 is far better than 2.04. Used quick format.. Low level takes to long and WB doesn't see or like anything above 4 gig for the first partition. There are other file systems you can use to use greater than 4 gig partitions like smart file system . I would try this first.

lost
Old 12 March 2011, 14:39   #3
thomas

Change drive type, define new, read configuration. Then return to the main menu and go to partition drive. Do not touch the low level format button and the bad blocks button.
Old 12 March 2011, 14:42   #4
lost_loven

nice reading

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amiga_Fast_File_System

lost
Old 12 March 2011, 20:15   #5
ceaser