English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 December 2002, 14:39   #21
AEV
Registered User
AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally posted by Shatterhand
Codetapper, are you sure your info on Strider is correct? That's very interesting, I didn't know about that...

Lemmings was converted to arcades? That sounds sooo stupid.. how would Lemmings play on arcade ?

Road Wars was also available on Spectrum and MSX.. I didn't know there was an arcade game of it...

One Amiga game that would rule on arcades would be Battle Squadron.
I'm not sure but wasn't Battle Squadron just an english version of UN Squadron which was released in the Arcades on CPS1 hardware?
AEV is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 December 2002, 00:43   #22
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,740
Battle Squadron is completely different to UN Squadron - Battle is a vertical shoot-'em-up and UN is a horizontally scrolling shoot-'em-up.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 08 December 2002, 09:31   #23
APFelon
Cable Buyer
APFelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Big Lake, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 123
Back in my younger days, I used to work in an arcade as a tech. Not that any information that I gathered is of use to anyone, but hey, I can tell people I used to work in an arcade at The Mall of America (America's Original Sports Bar (TM)).

One piece of equipment we used to have was called "Virtuosity"... a virtual reality machine.The user would strap a breadbox-sized gizmo to his ass, a cumbersome visor to his peepers, and a control stick wedged in his or her beer-soaked palm. The user would then twist and turn, and a ring on the podium would sense motion.

It was about as fun as diving into a full spitoon, and for the low, low cost of 5$ USD.

However, wedged under the platform was an Amiga 3000 (if I remember correctly, it probably was a 4000) controling all of the wonderful action in the reflected LCD screens.

That's the only true Amiga game I have seen in an arcade...
APFelon is offline  
Old 08 December 2002, 11:44   #24
_Bnu
 
Posts: n/a
Actually, wasn't there a CD32 arcade cabinet?
 
Old 08 December 2002, 15:44   #25
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,957
Quote:
Originally posted by gary
Do any of you know someone who owns/runs a video game arcade? It is fairly straight forward to hook up amigas to the older style (lo-res) arcade cabinets and it would be interesting to see how a game like battle squadron would do especially if the cost per game was really low (eg: back to 1980's prices). The tricky bit would be getting the game to only allow starting once the coin mechanism had been triggered.
I've seen cabinets running a SNES inside... I think there is some sort of mechanism you can use that makes teh Start button useless unless you insert a coin. This could be utilized on the meega
Akira is offline  
Old 09 December 2002, 09:15   #26
Tim Janssen
Junior Member

Tim Janssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Den Bosch / The Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 1,271
More infor about Zool arcade cabinet

Okay, I have found the Amiga Joker issue (April 1993) featuring the Zool Arcade Cabinet. My PC is currently being repaired but will be hopefully'back to be normal' tonight. I will scan the picture as soon as I can.

Here is some extra info: According to the text it was scheduled to be released during Summer 1993 in the Arcades. The Amiga Joker team had no idea whether the graphics and gameplay would be identical to the Amiga counterpart. At that moment they only had a photo of a prototype Zool Arcade-cabinet available. There is no additional information available.
Tim Janssen is offline  
Old 09 December 2002, 21:08   #27
Tim Janssen
Junior Member

Tim Janssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Den Bosch / The Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 1,271
Smile Arcade Cabinet

...and here it is: the Zool arcade cabinet prototype.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	zool-arcade.jpg
Views:	959
Size:	52.9 KB
ID:	4244  
Tim Janssen is offline  
Old 09 December 2002, 21:27   #28
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,110
Thumbs up Excellent

Thanks for the scan Tim.
I've had a look through my Amiga Format collection and I found the arcade Zool article. It's in AF 45 (April 1993) page15. It has the exact same screenshot as you've provided. The level looks like the one with the Lollipops sticking out of the ground. Candy world or something.

Here is what AF say about it:

Zool At The Arcade
-----------------------

Amiga owners have known for months that Zool is good enough to be an arcade machine, but now Bell Fruit Manufacturing have caught on to the fact too. Summer 1993 will see the ninja mut-ant kicking and spinning his way across many a sea front and town centre arcade, as the Zool coin-op is launched. Play will strongly resemble the Amiga version but additional features will be incorporated, including over 100 levels of arcade action. If you've finished the computer version, start saving those 50 pence pieces.
Steve is offline  
Old 09 December 2002, 21:30   #29
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,957
Re: Excellent

Quote:
Originally posted by Steve
but now Bell Fruit Manufacturing have caught on to the fact too.
No wonder it never made it to the arcades

IMO Zool is too slow-paced to be an arcade game. At least Zool 1. Arcade games HAVE to be quarter-munchers
Akira is offline  
Old 09 December 2002, 22:21   #30
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,110
Re: Re: Excellent

Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
No wonder it never made it to the arcades

IMO Zool is too slow-paced to be an arcade game. At least Zool 1. Arcade games HAVE to be quarter-munchers
I've sent Bell Fruit Games (they're new name) an e-mail asking them if it was ever released and if they can give me any info on it. I hope I get a reply from them.
Steve is offline  
Old 09 December 2002, 22:29   #31
NytroX86
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
IMO Zool is too slow-paced to be an arcade game.
There are two speeds in Zool. I find normal fast enough, but Fast mode really is quite fast, perhaps more suitable for an arcade machine.
 
Old 10 December 2002, 03:50   #32
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,593
I think what Akira meant with "slow-paced" is that it takes ages to finish it. Arcade games usually are 5 minutes fix that won't last too long. Zool has some "deepness" not found in most arcade games, like, wandering hopeless trying to find the exit.

Akira: I've seen this kind of equipment here too, problem is that Amiga doesn't have a start button, just a fire button. And for obvious reasons, you can't make the fire button useless . I've also seen cabinets with PSXs, SNESs and Dreamcasts that when you insert a coin, a timer appears, and when the time runs out, the controls stop working. It usually lasts for 10 minutes.

AEV: I think you are talking about Area 88, which is the other name of U.N. Squadron.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 10 December 2002, 05:40   #33
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,957
Quote:
Originally posted by NytroX86
There are two speeds in Zool. I find normal fast enough, but Fast mode really is quite fast, perhaps more suitable for an arcade machine.
Yes, as Shatts said, I don't mean the speed of the game, but the pace at what everything evolves... And not actually how long it is before you finish it. it's something about its pace, how things are laid out, the learning curve, etc.

Shat: yes you can render the only firebutton useless... whenevrr you insert a coin it's available and you can press it for starting. It's just the same as if teh Start button was blocked. These SNES machines I saw actually block the whole joypad until you insert a coin.

What I do NOT understand, is how the mechanism recognizes when it's game over time and you would have to continue... whenever the continue screen appears, the pad locks up again. Pretty damn strange, that.

Teh DC Arcade Systems are completely FORBIDDEN by Sega. They are absolutely illegal, but of course, we get that kind of shit here But the ones I see here dont work for time, just as with the SNES thing, they last for a slong as your game does... no idea about how teh mechanism recognizes game overs.
Akira is offline  
Old 10 December 2002, 19:30   #34
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,593
Hmm.. now that you've mentioned, I also once saw a PSX arcade cabinet running Tekken 2, and when you inserted a coin, the game would show that options screen, where you can choose the game mode. But in that screen, you couldnt move the pad, only press start. And then, when you are in the character selection screen, you could move the pad
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 11 December 2002, 02:59   #35
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,957
Strangest thing about the DC Arcade System... I tried a system with Crazi Taxi loaded... One you insert the coin and press start, the machine goes through the options automatically, you cannot control it at all

I really have no clue about how it works. But it's absolutely illegal. Even more since I am SURE inside those DCs lie pirate copies of the games.

Bloody southamerica
Akira is offline  
Old 03 April 2003, 09:40   #36
Tim Janssen
Junior Member

Tim Janssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Den Bosch / The Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 1,271
Lightbulb Platoon (Arcade)

Bringing this thread back, yesterday I downloaded Platoon for MAME (you know, the arcade machine emulator) - and guess what, it is exactly Ocean's Amiga incarnation of Platoon. The only information I have is this game is released in 1987 in the VS only.
Tim Janssen is offline  
Old 03 April 2003, 11:06   #37
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 660
As someone else said there where a cd32 arcade. Most cd32 sites has a bit about this (ninjaw).
The first virtual reality machines where a couple of linked a3000s as well.. but that's more of the amiga in an arcade.

Most jamma arcade boards from around that time ran on a 68k motorola as the amiga... shame the cd32 never got more attention.. it prol could have carried most cps games right over. Then again the PC allready did by that time.
spiff is offline  
Old 16 April 2003, 20:04   #38
Hammy
Junior Member
Hammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: England
Age: 30
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Hammy
what about the nintendo playchoice 10, the one with a nes inside that was timed, thats an official system aswell..
Hammy is offline  
Old 17 April 2003, 00:33   #39
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 531
Quote:
Actually, wasn't there a CD32 arcade cabinet?
This was called the Cubo 32. It was basically a CD32 with some extra hardware tacked on. I had a few custom games...like poker and memory I think. I think it was only featured in France, and from what I can remember, not too many were made.


I think quite a few casino slot machines used Amiga hardware as well.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 17 April 2003, 03:01   #40
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by th4t1guy
This was called the Cubo 32. It was basically a CD32 with some extra hardware tacked on. I had a few custom games...like poker and memory I think. I think it was only featured in France, and from what I can remember, not too many were made.
Candy Puzzle (HOL Database (id=4273)) was a game that works only on the Cubo CD32. Do you have any additional info on any other games for Cubo 32?
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga in the arcades Twistin'Ghost Nostalgia & memories 46 17 June 2016 10:00
Which amiga games would have been good coin-op arcades? JudasEZT Nostalgia & memories 80 19 January 2013 23:33
Most surprising thing you've seen at the arcades Jgames Retrogaming General Discussion 46 25 October 2010 19:49
Amiga developers and the Arcades Tim Janssen Nostalgia & memories 10 25 March 2004 23:52
What happened to the Arcades? Tim Janssen Nostalgia & memories 20 21 November 2001 17:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23717 seconds with 13 queries