English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 October 2009, 20:03   #1
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 717
Amiga 2000/3000 keybord problems

Hi,

I have 3 A2000 and 1 A3000 keyboards, some of the key are not working. What would be a procedure to fix the not working keys?
What is the common problem for the keys not working?

Is it the controller or some other stuff?

I have on one Amiga key dead, so I cant do reset, the other is the Back Space key and a Shift key and so on...

Thankx
amiman99 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 October 2009, 20:12   #2
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
It is probably a problem with the keyboard membrane or carbon pad for the key.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 20:28   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
I have on one Amiga key dead, so I cant do reset, the other is the Back Space key and a Shift key and so on...
Hi animan99,

Which keys exactly are you having trouble with (Right/Left Amiga key, Right/Left Shift key, etc.)?
prowler is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 20:39   #4
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 297
Try cleaning the conducting pads of every key with bits of plain white paper used in office printers. Worked for me.
tnt23 is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 20:57   #5
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 717
I used the KME program to test the keys, the bad keys are all on one side:
CTRL, L-Shift, L-Alt, and L-Amiga.

I try to clean it with alcohol and rubber eraser, but still fails, I will try the keys now.

EDIT: That did not work, maybe it's something more then just dirty contacts...

Last edited by amiman99; 24 October 2009 at 21:10.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 21:31   #6
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
Its the membrane if a selection of keys in close proximity are not functioning
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 21:43   #7
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Its the membrane if a selection of keys in close proximity are not functioning
Yes, I looked at the traces, and the non-working keys belong to the same common trace.
I used a volt meter to verify, I don't have elecrical connection from L-Amiga to R-Amiga key, so the membrane IS the problem, because I used the line from R-Amiga key and all my non-working key started to work.
It's too bad I can't solder the wire my-self.

Edit: Can I buy the A3000 membrane from Amigakit?
amiman99 is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 22:02   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Hi amiman99,

As you've seen, the non-working keys share a common connection.

In general, the keys sharing a common connection are found along a line which is inclined at about 30 to the left, i.e. the keys '9', 'O', 'L', and ',' and '0', 'P', ';', and '/', etc. And at the far left of the keyboard, the keys CTRL, L-Shift, L-Alt, and L-Amiga start the sequence.
prowler is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 01:13   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,287
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
There is no membraine in most big box Amiga keyboards, it's a printed circuit board that you can repair. Perhaps one of the diodes is broken?
Jope is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 05:55   #10
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
There is no membraine in most big box Amiga keyboards, it's a printed circuit board that you can repair. Perhaps one of the diodes is broken?
The A3000 keyboard I have, does have a membrane. My other A2000 keyboards do have a circuit boards. Both of them different designs, looks like they "C=" were changing designs or vendors for their keyboards.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 16:03   #11
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
@Jope

I can assure you there are membranes in the later Amiga 3000/4000 keyboards- I would not of recommended this if there were not.

Only early big box Amiga keyboards had the PCB. Commodore quickly cost reduced their keyboards to the membrane design in early 1990s.

@amiman99
We dont currently have any spare membranes (except for A1200), but we will keep you in mind if when we receive any.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 17:24   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,287
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Hence the word most in my text.

All four A4000 keyboards I've had were PCB versions, for example, but I've only had scandinavian ones. Perhaps the large return key ones came with a membrane later on then..
Jope is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 17:31   #13
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
Yes, I looked at the traces, and the non-working keys belong to the same common trace.
I used a volt meter to verify, I don't have elecrical connection from L-Amiga to R-Amiga key, so the membrane IS the problem, because I used the line from R-Amiga key and all my non-working key started to work.
It's too bad I can't solder the wire my-self.
Hi amiman99,

What exactly is stopping you from soldering the wire yourself?

Is it not at all possible, or is it just that you don't trust your soldering skills?

Could I, or someone else, do it for you? Would it be possible to send it (the membrane) by post?
prowler is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 18:12   #14
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
don`t known but would a soft pencil help just to help the tracks along
or some silver paint
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 19:03   #15
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,287
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Silver paint is your best bet, if you have a plastic membrane..
Jope is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 19:09   #16
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Hi amiman99,

What exactly is stopping you from soldering the wire yourself?

Is it not at all possible, or is it just that you don't trust your soldering skills?

Could I, or someone else, do it for you? Would it be possible to send it (the membrane) by post?
I'm pretty good with the iron, but You can't solder on plastic, but the silver paint may be better idea, right now I just took insides of my A2000 keyboard and put it in A3000 keyboard case .
I like the A3000 keyboard style.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 19:26   #17
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
...right now I just took insides of my A2000 keyboard and put it in A3000 keyboard case .
I like the A3000 keyboard style.
That's an inspired workaround.
prowler is offline  
Old 25 October 2009, 20:03   #18
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
thats cheating hehehehhee but if it works it works hehehehe
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 3000 Zorro Bus Problems Ze_ro support.Hardware 15 24 November 2015 11:22
Amiga 2000 & 3000 Dagger MarketPlace 0 03 April 2011 15:26
wanted : amiga keyboard A1500/2000/3000/4000 jimbob005 MarketPlace 3 12 January 2010 15:29
Amiga 3000 problems sovietconscript support.Hardware 35 27 May 2009 21:48
Acard Ultra SCSI-to-IDE Bridge AEC-7720U on a Amiga 2000 or 3000 Vars191 support.Hardware 4 13 November 2008 07:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21211 seconds with 12 queries