English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 October 2009, 02:52   #1
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Question Bootable IDE to CF Compact Flash Card 40 Pin Adapter

Can this be used as an alternative to an amiga ide hd, resulting in hot swapable sd card based hds on any amiga computer?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=150381439950
Kitty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 October 2009, 03:43   #2
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,491
Looks pretty nifty, its 3.5" though and not 2.5" IDE so it would need to be converted i believe, would make for a nice alternative. The description states hot swap is out of the question though

This would be handy for me at work where i can create various rescue discs for various operating systems etc

Last edited by kipper2k; 21 October 2009 at 03:50.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 03:50   #3
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
The description states hot swap is out of the question though
Never noticed that, thanks for pointing that out.

However as long as the Amiga is turned off first then its still usefull.

Quote:
Attention: This adapter does not support hot insertion of CF cards, please turn off power when changing cards
Kitty is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 03:58   #4
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,491
Yup, you can buy adapter cables, just need a nice enclosure and connector arrangement to make it look professional.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 04:07   #5
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
so what else exactly would I need to connect this to an amiga?

Links if possible
Kitty is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 08:29   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
I've used one of these in my A4000D for years. The A4000D has 40-pin IDE and so this just works! Connect to the IDE ribbon cable and you are away!

To a make one work with an A1200T, just a cheap converter cable (make sure you get one the right way round!) would be needed.

You would NOT want to use one of these in an A1200D or A600, there are different types, internal ones for those computers.

This is for Compact Flash cards NOT SD as you said in your first post.

Last edited by alexh; 21 October 2009 at 08:34.
alexh is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 20:00   #7
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
This is for Compact Flash cards NOT SD as you said in your first post.
Thanks for that info, I have a tendency to flick through what I read rather than read it all properly
Kitty is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 21:28   #8
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
you have lots of choices , first of i assume you got a 1200 though it same for 600
the onboard interface has 44 pins so the simple route would be to get a card that has 44hole conector on the under side so it fits horizontal to ya mother board.

the other optins require a lead be it 44 or 40 wire, I`m not certain without lookin but the 44pin ones don`t need extra power from a floppy adapter where as the 40 pin ones do, you also need a 44 to 40 pin cable if you go that route, lots of options

sorry no links but we here to help if you find any, its best to ask before you buy though the most expensive bit will be the cf card.
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 01:59   #9
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
so this will work will my adide 68k on my a500?

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 04:39   #10
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
quick answer: yes, if the CF used is compatible, look into the CF compatibility list here.
rkauer is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 04:41   #11
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
link?
lost_loven is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 09:50   #12
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,439
lazy_loven! tsk tsk

'Bootable' in the eBay ad context only means 'bootable on PC'. All you need is a CF card, an IDE cable, and a $4 IDE adapter from Hong Kong. If your Amiga is not an A600 or A1200, you need a harddisk interface also. (Sidecar external box or internal expansion card.)

All CF cards that work with Amiga at all, are bootable on Amiga - just tick a box when you partition it.
Photon is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 13:23   #13
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
as i stated lol i have the adide interface already and just wanted to make sure it would work with it.. so i guess i am good to go and get it.. bye bye 3.5 inch hard disk .. getting something smaller WOOT. ..

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 16:47   #14
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Smaller, silent, lighter (feather weight), meagre power requirements, lightning fast on boot and for reading (writing is slower than HD).

Disadvantages: some brands are impossible to make work on Amiga and the adaptor you have can be not compatible with the space you have (hardly).

Link? Photon called you lazy...

OK, here it is: linky Good reading! Only ~560 posts...
rkauer is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 23:52   #15
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
Lazy ? how you figure? I have lots of space in that 500 btw ....

Last edited by lost_loven; 22 October 2009 at 23:58.
lost_loven is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a Compact Flash card on a600/a1200 IDE Smiley support.Hardware 717 23 October 2015 15:09
Do 40 Pin Compact Flash to IDE Adapters need power? Peter support.Hardware 11 22 November 2011 18:57
about compact flash adapter orange support.Hardware 3 18 April 2011 19:31
IDE CF Compact Flash Adapter Power Plug crazyegg support.Hardware 8 13 October 2009 01:54
Compact Flash SCSI (50 pin) adapter? Frimann support.Hardware 12 08 June 2008 20:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31591 seconds with 14 queries