English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 May 2003, 05:53   #1
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Holy Smokes! An Amiga program that plays back almost every video format known to man

http://frogger.rules.pl/features.html
Pyromania is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 May 2003, 06:23   #2
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Re: Holy Smokes! An Amiga program that plays back almost every video format known to man

Quote:
Originally appearing on the Frogger site
Codecs that will most likely _NEVER_ be supported
QDesignMusic (QDM2)

Do not ask about those codecs. If you try, you will be shot. Survivors will be shot again.
LOL! What the heck is QDM2?
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 07:07   #3
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
Holy crap! Is this for real? Does it even play these formats at decent speeds?

If I remember right, not even Linux supports Quicktime.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 07:40   #4
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Re: Re: Holy Smokes! An Amiga program that plays back almost every video format known

Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin'Ghost
LOL! What the heck is QDM2?
Must be one of those formats that needs a $5000 license to allow support for. Greedy developers most likley.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 08:42   #5
BustaCap
 
Posts: n/a
Isn't that a map in Quake?
 
Old 19 May 2003, 09:44   #6
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Quote:
Originally posted by BustaCap
Isn't that a map in Quake?
Its a codec the new quicktime uses, what chip does a amiga need to decode mpeg2 ( or do you need a ATI card to do it on a towered amiga)?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 13:39   #7
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Frogger rocks. I am not sure whether this will be fully licenced to play those formats thought...
manicx is offline  
Old 20 May 2003, 08:39   #8
Phiber
Hardware Freak
Phiber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 222
Send a message via MSN to Phiber
hmmh.. PPC needed.. or a 68060.. preferably with highest possible MHz i guess.. in another words..

NOT ON MY MACHINES!
Phiber is offline  
Old 31 May 2003, 00:59   #9
paul_r_t
Registered User
paul_r_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Formby, England
Age: 46
Posts: 41
Frogger works great on my towered A1200, 68060 50Mhz, 96K ram, with a mediator board and Voodoo 3 card. I have tried various formats (Avi, Mov, Mpeg) and i could play them all at fullscreen with no problem, even in a window stretched to fullscreen (in my case 800 x 600). It uses the Vlayer capability of a graphics cards to allow scaling with no overhead on the CPU, the CPU is used soley for decoding! To answer one question Mpeg (video and audio) is decoded in software and not hardware.

The only problem for people who are going to download frogger is the shareware restriction, it only plays the first 30% of the file. If you want it all you have to register, just under 10 in UK money. There are only two sharware programs i have ever registered 'WHDLoad' and 'Frogger', both of these have had a lot of work put into them and are worth every penny!
paul_r_t is offline  
Old 31 May 2003, 04:28   #10
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
This definitely sounds like software worth buying (if you have a spec machine that supports it, natch).
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga format Video Tapes Peter project.EAB File Server 153 11 October 2014 01:34
Amiga format issue 126 cd42 program contents JACK98 request.Other 4 07 May 2010 15:09
program to format/copy Amiga diks/files on the PC side ? Overdoc support.Other 3 21 January 2010 19:08
Amiga Format video - Upgrading your machine Firthy2002 MarketPlace 0 22 February 2005 14:19
Holy smokes look @ the latest MorphOs screengrabs! Pyromania Amiga scene 27 17 March 2003 22:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19867 seconds with 14 queries