English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 September 2018, 16:14   #1
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 95
Warp3D 4.2a PROBLEMS textures with HereticII/CybervisionPPC

hello

I have problems (textures NOT ok, for exemple when I shoot fire and with lights on the walls and while swimming) in Heretic II game (full game with two CDROM), using A4000 CyberstormPPC + CybervisionPPC with Warp3D 4.2a.
http://aminet.net/package/driver/video/Warp3D-4.2a

If I use Warp3D4.0 I have no problems (all textures in Heretic II are ok).
http://aminet.net/package/driver/video/Warp3D-4.0
(same as no problems with older Warp3D 3.x included in the CDROM of the game)

WarpUP software is OK (last version 5.1 http://aminet.net/package/misc/os/WarpUP_V51Upd )

Heretic II is patched with update "h2update_000717.lha"

I checked variables "PowerPC", "CyberGraphX", "Warp3D", "HereticII" in ENV: but not solved the problem at the moment ... any idea ???
drluking is offline  
Old 21 September 2018, 20:16   #2
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 103
Idem with WipeOut 2097 on A1200PPC+BVision.

If i use Warp3D 4.2a i have no graphic bugs on demo "Encore - Sulaco", but the smoke of spaceships is corrupted.

With 4.0 version i have bugs on the demo but WipeOut 2097 is perfect.
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 22 September 2018, 01:37   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,589
Dany, you tried WaZp3D

http://aminet.net/package/driver/video/Wazp3D
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 September 2018, 01:53   #4
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 95
hi
using Warp3D 4.2a I don't see problems with textures in WipeOut 2097, Quake II, Shogo and demo Encore Sulaco, while I have this particular problem apparently only in Heretic II and Heretic II demo.

Do I need to modify some variable in config.cfg file in /user directory and/or install.cfg in /base directory or other file *.cfg ??????????



@AMIGASYSTEM
sorry but you are completely offtopic (here It's about a specific problem with this game and this specific libraries 4.2a, to be solved, we are not interested in "workaround solutions", thanks)

Last edited by drluking; 22 September 2018 at 02:00.
drluking is offline  
Old 22 September 2018, 02:10   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,589
No problem, you talk about differences in results between Warp3D-4.0 and Warp3D-4.2a, this shows that the problem may be on the library, and that's why I advised you to try a more advanced and more up-to-date library.

--- Italiano ---

Va bene nessun problema, parlavate di differenze di risultati tra Warp3D-4.0 e Warp3D-4.2a, questo dimostra che il problema poteva essere sulla libreria, ed è per questo che vi consigliavo di provare una libreria più avanzata e più aggiornata.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 September 2018 at 02:22.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 September 2018, 02:49   #6
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 793
Is Wazp3d hardware 3d or.software? If the latter it is a non-solution.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 22 September 2018, 07:18   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,589
I know that Wazp3D is a Software OpenGL Renderer Library (only Waz3D.library-WinUAE use the x86 Sof3D.dll that can serve for x86 Soft Rendering or x86 Hardware OpenGL), i had only suggested just to do some tests.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 September 2018 at 07:38.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 September 2018, 10:11   #8
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 95
Hi Hedeon,

It's a 3D GL problem in Warp3D 4.2a (while software render is perfect) (not interested in Wazp3d logically); if I remeber correctly a my friend had a similar problem with Voodoo3 or CybervisionPPC with Heretic II, that He solved, but I do not remember how

I think It's something to change in variables (of RTG or WUP or W3D or Heretic II itself ?) ... but what ?

Last edited by drluking; 22 September 2018 at 10:18.
drluking is offline  
Old 22 September 2018, 14:32   #9
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 95
news: I think to have found the problem ... It should be a "blending" problem with Permedia 2 graphic cards

I have found interesting informations here:
http://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/UserDoc:Warp3D#Permedia_2
http://forum.hyperion-entertainment....=2662&start=50

you should try adding the following variable "DisableAdditiveBlending" in Warp3D, but this is possible only in Warp3D 5.x for AmigaOS4 (not in Warp3D 4.2 for AmigaOS3.x) damn ...

or do some hacks in Warp3D 4.2 with some merge of the previous one (Warp3D 4.0) correctly working ... or in the code itself ...

or better solve the problem inside the game Heretic II config ... here in attachment the my config file editable ; with its inside GL_* entries , but which ones to change ?

config.cfg.txt


here the images of the problem only in Warp3D 4.2 version

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9250.JPG
Views:	42
Size:	94.5 KB
ID:	59924

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9251.JPG
Views:	39
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	59925

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9252.JPG
Views:	42
Size:	83.0 KB
ID:	59926

At the moment I have baypassed the problem, creating a simple script that modifies the version of Warp3D from 4.2 to 4.0 before running Heretic II, then another one that come back from 4.0 to 4.2, with flush library, but logically I would like to solve this annoying problem ...

I do not know exactly the differences in terms of speed and quality between the versions Warp3D 4.2 and 4.0 ... does anyone know ?

Last edited by drluking; 22 September 2018 at 14:43.
drluking is offline  
Old 22 September 2018, 22:26   #10
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 183
Does the error happen also on 32 bits screen like RGBA32 ?
as some alpha blending errors are due to bad coding that use the dest (screen) alpha
thellier is offline  
Old 22 September 2018, 23:40   #11
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by thellier View Post
Does the error happen also on 32 bits screen like RGBA32 ?
as some alpha blending errors are due to bad coding that use the dest (screen) alpha
Hi

according to the game manufacturer's documentation, it is only 15 and 16bit (not 24 or >)
http://hyperion-entertainment.biz/in...warpos?start=2

I remember that a friend of mine had this problem or similar with the game Heretic II time ago (I do not remember if he used a cybervisionppc card or a voodoo3) and he had solved by changing or adding a boolean variable (I do not remember if in the game configuration or in the 3D GL drivers Warp3D or other CGX/WarpUP ... many years have passed).

However, Does none play Heretic II with cybervisionppc and the latest version of Warp3D 4.2a ???
drluking is offline  
Old 24 September 2018, 10:20   #12
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 183
UseChromaTestABGR
http://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/UserDoc:Warp3D
thellier is offline  
Old 24 September 2018, 23:45   #13
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,404
It kind of looks like how it looks when envarc:warp3d/forceversion=3 is on.

I could get you my config.cfg from Voodoo, but I don't know that's going to help you much.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 25 September 2018, 00:41   #14
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 95
solved It's needed a second patch update for this game by Hyperion

"There had been a few overlooked endian conflicts in the client effects library, and up to now the ref_gl library assumed that a Permedia2 cannot do additive blending. With the latest fixes in Warp3D V4.2, the Permedia2 driver now support hardware additive blending, and ref_gl now uses the Warp3D query mechanism to find out if additive blending is supported. Up to now, it didn't check this and use different texture environments to make the emulated additive blending look better. All of this has been removed, but as a consequence things might look different on a ViRGE based graphics card like the CyberVision64/3D."
drluking is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird WarpOS/Warp3D problems after installing MiamiDX/IBrowse fitzsteve support.Apps 7 12 January 2011 12:46
WTB - CyberVisionPPC merlinkv MarketPlace 0 27 December 2010 09:08
CybervisionPPC H/W Installation CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 4 09 April 2007 11:32
wanted: CybervisionPPC Slayer MarketPlace 0 28 August 2005 05:45
Warp3D Problems with CGX and CSPPC nujack support.Apps 8 16 June 2005 11:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07950 seconds with 15 queries