English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2018, 15:02   #1101
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiP View Post
I meant this: ADFOpus_HxC.zip
Hey RiP,

could you please tell me where you found this?
sigma63 is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 08:28   #1102
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigma63 View Post
Hey RiP,

could you please tell me where you found this?
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...DFOpus_HxC.zip

But the HxC software have the same feature :

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_..._soft_beta.zip
(Use the disk browser.)

Last edited by Jeff_HxC2001; 04 September 2018 at 15:02. Reason: switching to https.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 13 July 2018, 10:29   #1103
RiP
IK+

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DF0:
Posts: 118
Thanks Jeff but I have still trouble making a big hfe file to work on amiga even with HxC software
RiP is online now  
Old 13 July 2018, 15:21   #1104
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiP View Post
Thanks Jeff but I have still trouble making a big hfe file to work on amiga even with HxC software
Yes as i said :

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
I don't recognize the screen capture ? what is this ? Is it related to the hxc software ?
Anyway DD AmigaDos floppy format is limited to 880KB.

You probably want to use the hxcmount tool for amiga :

http://torlus.com/floppy/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1853

Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 01:35   #1105
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
Some updates ! :

Quote:

17 June 2018: Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.1.25.1a ( -> In the "Next_WIP_Alpha_Firmware_And_Tools" Folder !)

- Internal improvements.

- "Double steps per increment" rotary support added.

- New menu entries :
- Head settling time. (7 digits gotek meny entry number 6).
- Rotary type. (7 digits gotek menu entry number 7 - 0=Single Step, 1=Double Step, 3=Disable.).

19 June 2018: Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.1.26.1a ( -> In the "Next_WIP_Alpha_Firmware_And_Tools" Folder !)

- Fix the "clear settings"/reset factory function.

15 July 2018: Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.1.26.5a ( -> In the "Next_WIP_Alpha_Firmware_And_Tools" Folder !)

- Thomson *.FD file support : Faster Loading (sectors interleave factor fixed).

30 July 2018: Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.1.27.1a ( -> In the "Next_WIP_Alpha_Firmware_And_Tools" Folder !)

- Push buttons Auto-repeat : Better/Smoother rate changes. Rate changes delays adjusted.
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...a_firmware.zip

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...ease_notes.txt

Last edited by Jeff_HxC2001; 25 September 2018 at 07:48.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 07:06   #1106
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,769
I just updated my Gotek to v3.1.27.1a but am having issues with the autoboot mode or more specifically, the HXCFEMNG.exe tool.

Perhaps I am doing something wrong, but it has worked for me in the past.

I have my USB stick mounted as H:, a single partition formatted with FAT32. I moved the Autoboot HXCSDFE.CFG and the Amiga AUTOBOOT.HFE to the root folder as well as some .img files (I will be using this Gotek in a PC).

When I do 'HXCFEMNG.exe -disk:h: -populateslots -verbose' it doesn't write any files to the console. It normally writes the list of images, correct?
If I then do a 'HXCFEMNG.exe -disk:h: -getslots -verbose' there is also no output except for the program header.
If I just run 'HXCFEMNG.exe -disk:h:' I can access the slots and assign them manually one by one and that seems to work (albeit slow and tedious), however I still cannot use -getslots to read the slots that I just created through the menu. When I launch the selector menu it also states that my firmware is not up to date but I don't know if that is important (where does it read this from?). The Gotek is flashed with the latest FW and I used the latest HXCSDFE.CFG and AUTOBOOT.HFE.

Since I can use the menu manually I assume that the drive access is working fine, but is the HXCFEMNG.exe tool broken somehow with the latest FW?
demolition is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 09:08   #1107
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
Probably no point with the firmware. There is a very recent fix available for the windows version manager :

https://github.com/jfdelnero/HXCFE_f...ector/releases
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 09:31   #1108
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Probably no point with the firmware. There is a very recent fix available for the windows version manager :
Thanks, this one works better however not completely. I am now able to do getslots and setslots, but if I clear all slots and then do a populateslots, it will only find and add a few files (4~6 images). If I then do a populateslots again, it will find a few more files and add those. I can keep doing this, and after perhaps 20 iterations, it no longer find any more files and it has added all my 99 image files. The order seems quite jumbled up (it is not alphabetical like I would prefer), and it is not like it is adding the files one directory at a time.

When I do a getslots, I will see the files in the order that I want, but the slot numbers in the left column are mixed around, so I had to manually edit the numbers in the file and then do a setslots from this file to get the desired order of files on the Gotek.
demolition is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 15:01   #1109
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Thanks, this one works better however not completely. I am now able to do getslots and setslots, but if I clear all slots and then do a populateslots, it will only find and add a few files (4~6 images). If I then do a populateslots again, it will find a few more files and add those. I can keep doing this, and after perhaps 20 iterations, it no longer find any more files and it has added all my 99 image files. The order seems quite jumbled up (it is not alphabetical like I would prefer), and it is not like it is adding the files one directory at a time.

When I do a getslots, I will see the files in the order that I want, but the slot numbers in the left column are mixed around, so I had to manually edit the numbers in the file and then do a setslots from this file to get the desired order of files on the Gotek.
Just to be sure : Is it a new issue ? I suspect that you have the same issue with older versions : Could you try this one ? : https://github.com/jfdelnero/HXCFE_f...or_Manager.zip
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 23:14   #1110
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Just to be sure : Is it a new issue ? I suspect that you have the same issue with older versions : Could you try this one ? : https://github.com/jfdelnero/HXCFE_f...or_Manager.zip
I cannot say how new this issue is since it has been a little while since I used this tool. Actually it was before you implemented native support for OLED displays, so that is quite a while back. Back then it was working as I would expect as it would find and add all image files, including ones in subfolders, the first time I would do -populateslots after a -clearslots.

I just tried the version you linked to me and it also does not add all files.
I started with a -clearslots, and then I did -populateslots. The 1st run would add slots 1 through 16, the next 5 runs would add 4 slots each, the following 15 runs 3 slots each, then 6 runs with 2 slots and finally 6 runs with 1 slot each. Now all 99 images have been assigned to slots and it does not find any more images.

So there seems to be some pattern to it as it will add fewer and fewer slots as it progresses.
demolition is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 23:18   #1111
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
Ok. i will need the dd/raw image of your usb stick to investigate further.
If you want, contact me, i will give you an ftp access to put the dd image.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 23:38   #1112
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
I cannot say how new this issue is since it has been a little while since I used this tool. Actually it was before you implemented native support for OLED displays, so that is quite a while back. Back then it was working as I would expect as it would find and add all image files, including ones in subfolders, the first time I would do -populateslots after a -clearslots.

I just tried the version you linked to me and it also does not add all files.
I started with a -clearslots, and then I did -populateslots. The 1st run would add slots 1 through 16, the next 5 runs would add 4 slots each, the following 15 runs 3 slots each, then 6 runs with 2 slots and finally 6 runs with 1 slot each. Now all 99 images have been assigned to slots and it does not find any more images.

So there seems to be some pattern to it as it will add fewer and fewer slots as it progresses.
Thanks for the feedback and the dd test image !

This is now fixed :

https://github.com/jfdelnero/HXCFE_f...ctor/releases/
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 00:45   #1113
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
This is now fixed :
Thanks, I can confirm that this version seems to work for me as well. I added 250 images spanning multiple folders to the stick and all of them were found and added in alphabetical order in the first run as expected.
demolition is offline  
Old 05 August 2018, 02:29   #1114
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
New firmware ! :

Quote:

5 August 2018: Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.1.29.1a ( -> In the "Next_WIP_Alpha_Firmware_And_Tools" Folder !)

- OLED screen : Standby/screen saver mode - The screen is now dimmed to a minimal level.
The standby delay can be changed into the setting menu.

- OLED screen : New Menu entry - "Video" Polarity mode (Normal/Inverse)



https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...a_firmware.zip

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...ease_notes.txt

Last edited by Jeff_HxC2001; 04 September 2018 at 15:02.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 09:09   #1115
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
New file selector (For all SD HxC & HxC Gotek) :

https://github.com/jfdelnero/HXCFE_f...ector/releases

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...or_Manager.zip

Quote:
HxC Floppy Emulator file selector Version 1.85

Main changes :
  • Atari ST & Amiga version -> Huge graphical performance gain !


Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 14:49   #1116
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 125
I've added the buzzer mod to my Gotek and it's working fine except the buzzer can be a bit loud at times. Is there any way to adjust it's volume?

I know there's a sound volume option inside the internal parameters settings but this doesn't seem to do anything?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 18:51   #1117
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiz12 View Post
I've added the buzzer mod to my Gotek and it's working fine except the buzzer can be a bit loud at times. Is there any way to adjust it's volume?
Putting a resistor in series with the buzzer will reduce the volume. Since the audio is generated by a digital output pin, I don't see any simple way to decrease the volume through software, unless the driving pin happens to be a PWM output pin from the uC.
demolition is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 18:59   #1118
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Putting a resistor in series with the buzzer will reduce the volume. Since the audio is generated by a digital output pin, I don't see any simple way to decrease the volume through software, unless the driving pin happens to be a PWM output pin from the uC.
Which is the case.
But i suppose that he is using the unstable solution : using the step signal directly.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 19:03   #1119
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,769
Ok, so wiz12 how did you connect the transducer?
You just need to connect it directly to JB like so:
demolition is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 19:52   #1120
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 554
New firmware update !

Quote:
12 August 2018: Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.1.30.1a ( -> In the "Next_WIP_Alpha_Firmware_And_Tools" Folder !)

- Fix a regression introduced into the v3.1.28.1a : Fix normal and indexed mode possible browsing issues (unexpected wrap to index 0).
Please update !
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...a_firmware.zip

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_...ease_notes.txt

Last edited by Jeff_HxC2001; 04 September 2018 at 15:02.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek Floppy emulators and Amiga computers now working together! :) H.M News 684 07 October 2018 23:53
Show us your drive emulator mods (Gotek/HxC/etc) ADz Hardware mods 103 03 May 2018 18:11
Gotek Extension Board - Prototype ready and working perfectly, pics & video Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 5 04 November 2014 12:05
Gotek floppy emulator not working Cooljerk support.Hardware 10 16 October 2014 09:27
HxC Floppy Emulator for CDTV, cannot get DF0 and DF1 working CDTV1991 support.Hardware 0 05 October 2011 15:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17368 seconds with 16 queries