English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 October 2016, 12:44   #1
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 518
Is OS 3.9 worth it?

Hi All,

I have recently acquired a CD of OS 3.9 - Is it a good idea to install OS 3.9 on my A2000? Or will it just chew up memory for not much more functionality? (Specs: 68020, FPU, 12Mb fast RAM, OCS)

I use this machine for animation (2D and 3D), not fussed about surfing the net or anything.

Keen to hear people experience with OS 3.9...
Marchie is offline  
Old 18 October 2016, 13:01   #2
DopPie
Zone Friend

DopPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Den Hoorn, NL
Age: 41
Posts: 259
I don't like it. But I am a BetterWb user who is happy with a 4 colour workbench.
DopPie is offline  
Old 18 October 2016, 13:19   #3
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,305
3.5/9 is appropriate if you use software and hardware from the late 90s and later, large hard drives, graphics cards etc. It isn't really intended for a stock or only slightly expanded system.
ajk is offline  
Old 18 October 2016, 14:46   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,522
I would rather check what your animation programs support. If they make use of more RAM, CPU and maybe gfx card than it might be a better solution to upgrade this parts.
daxb is offline  
Old 18 October 2016, 15:00   #5
jayminer
Registered User

jayminer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Umeå / Sweden
Posts: 217
I kinda like OS3.9, the only thing I dislike is Glowicons because they are slow and IMO not very good looking - but they can be exchanged for MagicWB-icons instead and then it feels very similiar to 3.1 in speed but with some more modern updates.
jayminer is offline  
Old 19 October 2016, 16:44   #6
Robbie
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southbourne
Posts: 72
You might find it slows down your system on an '020 and adds relatively little. I've gone back to 3.1 recently and haven't found any reason to regret that move yet.
Robbie is offline  
Old 19 October 2016, 16:48   #7
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,059
I like to use 3.9 on 030 or faster systems, but for an 020 I would stick with 3.1 or perhaps try 3.5. When I had an ACA620 in my 600, I liked using Scalos (from ClassicWB) over Workbench. Feels relatively modern without too much bloat.
demolition is offline  
Old 19 October 2016, 17:10   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Marchie

Personally I think ClassicWB 3.5 is delightful for a modestly expanded (020+) Amiga with atleast 8MB of FAST RAM.

This will use about 3MB of FAST RAM on Boot which should leave you a good 8MB to play with =)

OS3.9 will use a tad more some what closer to 5MB of FAST RAM if it can take it and I would humbly suggest the use of a 16MB system with a FAST 020 (25MHz +) or 030 as a minimum for this OS. Although in saying this you could get away with a 16MHz 020 if you were running DMA based SCSI as this off-loads a fair amount of work from the CPU.

Alternatively ClassicWorkbench 68k or ClassicWorkbench Advanced are also great desktops.

I have yet to try AmiBench on any Amiga which is something I do plan on doing soon.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 20 October 2016, 00:47   #9
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@Marchie

Alternatively ClassicWorkbench 68k or ClassicWorkbench Advanced are also great desktops.
Interesting...

I recently acquired an A1200 which has (what I now know to be) ClassicWBLITE on it and was wondering why it was so different from the WB3.1 on my A2000...

Can someone explain exactly what Classic WB is? Is it a 'theme' or skin for WB?

Will I lose my installed programs/utilities if I install ClassicWB over top of my 3.1 system?

Sorry, this is is probably a really noob question...
Marchie is offline  
Old 20 October 2016, 01:18   #10
esc
 
Posts: n/a
ClassicWB is a workbench pack - http://classicwb.abime.net - and it is designed for a 'fresh' install of Workbench.
 
Old 20 October 2016, 14:16   #11
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,938
To add to esc - ClassicWB pack includes original WB, many tools as well fixes for WB that you usually don't have applied on regular 3.1 WB all while preserving chip memory, to ensure all programs will work fine.

Add to this options you get when booting with right mouse button being pressed (run WHDLoad game without loading workbench to preserve memory) - ClassicWB is clear winner as an OS for Amiga hardware.

Easy to install, just copy and rename your kickstart images once done installing to ensure all WHDLoad games will work, and you are all set. Full version should work on anything over 2MB, LITE is meant for not upgraded A1200, while 68K is meant for Amiga 500/2000 without low memory and no AGA chip.
Anubis is online now  
Old 20 October 2016, 14:44   #12
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,658
Personally I have 3 A1200s and they all run OS3.9. If you spend much time doing "serious" work, using Workbench and so on then it makes the Workbench a far nicer place to be. When I use 3.1 nowadays it feels so much more limited, it can be surprising the number of things you get used to in 3.9 that are missing from 3.1. Of course you can add hacks and patches to 3.1 to add some of these things, but not everything can be reproduced (e.g. Workbench's ARexx port), and it's nice to have everything together in the one package.

Some of the downsides have been mentioned before (extra RAM usage and slightly slower), but if you have the RAM to spare and have a fast 020 or better, it's well worth it IMHO.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 22 October 2016, 12:29   #13
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,651
There's quite a few differences between vanilla 3.1 and 3.9 but it's easy enough to close the gaps.

I have 3.1 on my a1200 which started as a classic WB lite package but has been tweaked to bring in lots of 3.9 functionality. The tweaking is pretty easy to do, just a bit of effort and research. I have 3.9 on my a4000 with boing bags 1 and 2 installed. Other than some minor ui differences I see essentially no difference in the two operating systems in daily use if you're comparing a classic WB build to a bb2 3.9 build.

Last edited by trixster; 23 October 2016 at 15:22.
trixster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Much Is That Worth? fondpondforever Retrogaming General Discussion 6 04 June 2014 15:05
is this hd worth getting? GameBase New to Emulation or Amiga scene 14 30 January 2013 21:32
What are these worth? bigmac MarketPlace 1 31 December 2009 04:08
OS 3.5, Is It Worth It? Badders New to Emulation or Amiga scene 29 25 August 2006 23:18
How much is worth? Eny- MarketPlace 10 28 April 2005 01:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09425 seconds with 13 queries