English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2013, 20:58   #1
Dic_Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
FS-UAE Launcher crashes while scanning for files

Under Windows 7 this version crashes every time I scan my folder with all Amiga files. 2.1.27dev2 crashes too. Mac OS X version seems to run fine. Could you imagine to also support the Amiga Forever rp9 format? All the best for you.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 12 March 2013 at 22:43.
Dic_Ray is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 21:05   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dic_Ray View Post
Under Windows 7 this version crashes every time I scan my folder with all Amiga files. 2.1.27dev2 crashes too. Mac OS X version seems to run fine.
Perhaps it doesn't technically crash? Do you get an error message? If so, can you post a screenshot or something? And please also attach Launcher.log.txt to a post!
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 09 March 2013, 13:39   #3
Dic_Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
In the attachement, there is the error message, which says, that FS-UAE Launcher doesn't react anymore and that the program isn't executed right caused by a problem. (and ... "The prgram will be closed an you will be informed, when a solution is available.")

Also I attached my Launcher.log.txt. Under Mac OS X 10.8.2 I didn't get an error. Scanning my whole folder with Amiga related data worked.

Perhaps there are corrupted files, Windows version can't handle.

I look forward, to see a further great version from you.

Best regards

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Perhaps it doesn't technically crash? Do you get an error message? If so, can you post a screenshot or something? And please also attach Launcher.log.txt to a post!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-03-09 13_29_20-FS-UAE Launcher 2.1.jpg
Views:	278
Size:	47.5 KB
ID:	34605  
Attached Files
File Type: rar Launcher.log.rar (70.9 KB, 190 views)
Dic_Ray is offline  
Old 12 March 2013, 21:51   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,693
Does the Germain error message correspond to:
- "The program does not respond any more"..., (i.e. it hangs) or
- "The program has performed an illegal operation" (it has crashed)
?

Does it seem like it crashes/hangs in the exact same spot every time? (The same file, or is it random how far in the scan process it gets?).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 12 March 2013, 21:54   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
"This program doesn't function anymore" -> It will be closed.
TCD is offline  
Old 12 March 2013, 21:57   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,693
Actually, I did understand the German more or less, but it wasn't really clear from the text along when this message appears in Windows/German (When the program does not respond anymore and will be closed, or when the program has done something illegally and will be closed). But it sounds a bit more like that latter!
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 12 March 2013, 22:01   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
The latter indeed. The 'program doesn't respond' -> hangs message is different.
TCD is offline  
Old 13 March 2013, 00:21   #8
Dic_Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Does the Germain error message correspond to:
- "The program does not respond any more"..., (i.e. it hangs) or
- "The program has performed an illegal operation" (it has crashed)
?

Does it seem like it crashes/hangs in the exact same spot every time? (The same file, or is it random how far in the scan process it gets?).
After scanning a lot of data it doesn't respond anymore, but every time on different files. So it is random how far in the scan process. Any glue?
In Mac OS X version it scans the same data with success.

Thank you soo much, you are a genius.
Dic_Ray is offline  
Old 13 March 2013, 00:32   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
Here it works with over 80k files:



That's on Windows 8 64-bit. How long does it take before that error message appears?
TCD is offline  
Old 15 March 2013, 19:29   #10
Dic_Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Here it works with over 80k files:



That's on Windows 8 64-bit. How long does it take before that error message appears?
Sorry for my late reply.

Here you can see, how long it takes and that it crashes randomly, but always on lha files. So I guess, there could be something wrong with the lha-scan code in the fs-uae windows version, couldn't it?

Please Frode could you help with that.

Btw. please would you add Hard'n Heavy and Twin World?

Best
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-03-15 18_58_37-FS-UAE Launcher 2.1.jpg
Views:	247
Size:	44.7 KB
ID:	34667   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-03-15 19_04_16-FS-UAE Launcher 2.1.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	46.4 KB
ID:	34668   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-03-15 19_06_48-FS-UAE Launcher 2.1.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	34669   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-03-15 19_11_58-FS-UAE Launcher 2.1.jpg
Views:	236
Size:	46.4 KB
ID:	34670   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-03-15 19_22_01-FS-UAE Launcher 2.1.jpg
Views:	258
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	34671  

Dic_Ray is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 21:52   #11
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,693
I've tried to make it crash but without success. It looks like it crashes when scanning WHDLoad-installers, so I donwload a couple and scanned them on Windows XP... it worked.

It could of course be a crash in the LHA library if the file cannot be opened or something like that, perhaps it's not readable by you user? I'll check in the code if that could be a problem.

(PS: Heard 'n' Heavy is added to the database now, Twinworld was already there )
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 27 March 2013, 17:25   #12
Dic_Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
Hello Frode,

I tried it again, set file permissions to full access, but got same result. Wonder why it works under Mac OS X?

Thanks for Hard 'n' Heavy.

Best

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
I've tried to make it crash but without success. It looks like it crashes when scanning WHDLoad-installers, so I donwload a couple and scanned them on Windows XP... it worked.

It could of course be a crash in the LHA library if the file cannot be opened or something like that, perhaps it's not readable by you user? I'll check in the code if that could be a problem.

(PS: Heard 'n' Heavy is added to the database now, Twinworld was already there )
Dic_Ray is offline  
Old 26 January 2014, 21:44   #13
Dic_Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
certain lha file, which let fs-uae crash

Dear Frode,

after a very long time, I could find a lha file, which let fs-uae crash under Windows. This only happens under Windows, but not under Mac OS X.

Hope, this helps you to solve this little problem.

Best
Dic
Attached Files
File Type: lha FlyingCows_ProSIAK.lha (7.1 KB, 157 views)
Dic_Ray is offline  
Old 26 January 2014, 22:38   #14
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,693
Hi Dic_Ray, and thanks for the file It actually does not cause a crash here (on Windows either), but with some types of bugs it can be a bit circumstantial whether it crashes or not.

I ran FS-UAE Launcher through valgrind (a great tool by the way), and it does report a couple of invalid memory reads in lzhlib while processing this file. I'll investigate more thoroughly (=debug lzhlib).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 27 January 2014, 22:20   #15
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,693
@Dic_Ray, thanks, your test file helped nail the problem Also, your theory about what the problem was (by PM) was almost spot on. The crashes happen when FS-UAE Launcher tries to extract a directory entry (which is supposed to fail gracefully -- not crash), but a bug in lzhlib caused a crash instead (sometimes).

Can you try the replacement file attached? Find lzlib.pyd in your FS-UAE Launcher installation on Windows and replace with the one in the attached zip file. Hopefully the crashes should be history then

(For packagers, updated lhafile/lzhlib can be found here: https://github.com/FrodeSolheim/lhafile).
Attached Files
File Type: zip lzhlib.zip (7.9 KB, 144 views)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 02 February 2014, 10:30   #16
Dic_Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 100
Yes, it's working now with all my files. Thank you soo much.
Dic_Ray is offline  
Old 03 February 2014, 23:59   #17
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,693
Thanks for confirming I'll make sure the fix is included in the next build!
FrodeSolheim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE Launcher FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 414 20 September 2015 21:39
Greatness of the FS-UAE + Launcher (aka thank you thread) Goingdown support.FS-UAE 1 10 February 2013 13:46
FS-UAE Launcher portable? toprak support.FS-UAE 5 11 December 2012 17:17
[FS-UAE] Amiga Game Database for FS-UAE Launcher nexusle support.FS-UAE 31 24 August 2012 20:24
UAE launcher for game or demo Frazor support.WinUAE 4 28 March 2003 16:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08570 seconds with 14 queries