English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 February 2013, 08:01   #1
Richardcavell
 
Posts: n/a
How to play RSI Mega Demo on WinUAE?

Hi, guys.

I'm trying to play the Red Sector Megademo (1989) using WinUAE. However, I need to fiddle with the settings.

If I set the emulator up to use 512k of chip RAM and 512k of slow RAM, it will get stuck on one of the loading screens during the first disk. I can fix this by removing the slow RAM. Incidentally, I remember that this was a bug with the actual hardware back in the day - in order to play the RSI megademo on real Amiga hardware, I had to remove my extra 512k RAM from the trapdoor.

However, it then develops a bug where it cycles through the next few demos without playing them, and never prompts for the second disk. I can't seem to find the setting that fixes this.

Once again, I remember this sometimes happened with real hardware. So if anything it shows that the emulator is emulating perfectly - with all bugs!

Any ideas?

Richard
 
Old 25 February 2013, 10:26   #2
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 748
Did you download your copy linked from pouet or bitfellas? For me both versions were DMS files and have problems with skipping sections.

Please see my thread about it here
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64916
and last post on this thread
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=56119

I forgot where I get my version from but try searching for "RSI Megademo ADF" and try some ADF versions.

I do have the correct files at home somewhere but I'm at work right now.
john1979 is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 13:42   #3
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,594
In Amiga Forever it seems to use KS 1.2. There's a WHDLoad installer for it, too.
zipper is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 14:04   #4
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 748
Using the working images I can get it to play perfectly all the way through on my A600 with KS1.3. It doesn't seem to mind what memory expansions I have in at the time either. The only problem for me was those pesky DMS images.
john1979 is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 14:14   #5
Kitty
Can’t rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,518
I actually thought this was a 1meg demo, kickstart 1.3
Kitty is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 18:18   #6
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 49
Posts: 150
The RSI Mega Demo runs on any OCS/ECS Kick1.2/1.3 Amiga with 512kB Chip-RAM and only 1 floppy drive (df0).
So deactivate df1/2/3 or use 1MB Chip-RAM, since every floppy drive uses it's own Chip-RAM buffer.

This Mega Demo did even load on Delta's machine, this was some kind of "quality mark" back then .. lol

I just made a test run with WinUAE to make sure i'm telling no bullshit.
But my memory is still working fine.
And i can still answer all the questions in the last part of this Mega Demo.
Not bad after more than 20 years.

But use only verified ADF images from TOSEC!
Like "RSI Megademo (1989)(RSI)(Disk 1 of 2).adf" and "RSI Megademo (1989)(RSI)(Disk 2 of 2).adf".
You can download them from planetemu.net if you don't got these images.
Skylight is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 18:21   #7
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
I actually thought this was a 1meg demo, kickstart 1.3
In 1989 demos were still working on a bog standard 512k Amiga.
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 February 2013, 20:44   #8
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,519
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
I have always used this config: A500, K1.3, 512kchip, 512kfast.

And on the real thing - A1200 and Relokick 1.3.

Been a long time since ive fired that program up mind
ElectroBlaster is online now  
Old 25 February 2013, 21:18   #9
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
The RSI Mega Demo disk images work fine using WinUAE version 0.6.6 pr2.
prowler is offline  
Old 26 February 2013, 05:05   #10
Richardcavell
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks boys

The secret is that some of the disks that are on the Net are buggy.

It is known that there were more than 10 versions of this megademo released, which have different versions of the scrolltext, so I'm guessing that at least one of them was corrupt or has been corrupted and the data corruption has propagated.

Richard
 
Old 24 March 2013, 23:57   #11
Carlos Ace
Junior Member

Carlos Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Lusitania
Posts: 418
Send a message via ICQ to Carlos Ace
I remember that an unoficial fix version for A500+ (1 Mega chip) was made (i saw various ads in magazines that were selling it as shareware).
I´m still searching...
Carlos Ace is offline  
Old 25 March 2013, 04:48   #12
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
There is some fix on Aminet http://aminet.net/package/demo/mega/rsimdfix
s2325 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSI Demo Maker RokChild support.WinUAE 3 02 March 2014 14:15
trying to find a certain Mega-Demo fil support.Demos 2 15 August 2012 17:07
Probs with Rebels Mega Demo II HOL2001 support.WinUAE 13 11 June 2009 20:31
mega lo mania demo gfx? Hungry Horace project.Sprites 5 22 June 2008 15:43
FIXED: Speedball (Hangs during demo play) amiganer project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 21 07 August 2007 14:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10202 seconds with 13 queries