English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2011, 03:50   #1
Justice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 66
Help installing latest version of WHDLoad

Hi, I have version 16.9 of WHDLoad installed on my PC. I am using it in conjuction with WinUAE and ClassicWB. There is an updated version of WHDLoad available, how do I go about updating my current version to the new one?

I will need to be told the actual steps, I don't know anything about computers, emulation or the terminology used when discussing it. I'm not even sure what each of these programs does, but by following instructions I've been able to get them all to work so far.

The WHDLoad website isn't particularly helpful either, I can barely make out whether any of those incomprehensible links are even relevant to what I'm trying to achieve. There is no version number listed next to them either. But anyway I got the latest version after some furious googling and clicking around/researching.

I just don't know what to do with it now, it's a .lha file.
Justice is offline  
Old 24 November 2011, 08:09   #2
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Just unpack the .lha (on the Amiga) and run the installer script. Or copy manually the files.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 24 November 2011, 09:56   #3
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 511
If you're using WinUAE, then you can just drag the .lha file onto the emulation window - it will appear as a drive on the emulated Amiga.

Then just open it up and install.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 24 November 2011, 14:16   #4
Justice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 66
Thank you for the advice. I dragged the .hla file into Amiga emulation and was able to install the latest version of WHDLoad from there. I can tell because when I launch it, it now says 17.0 instead of 16.9.

I installed the program files in C: which was the default. I installed the documentation into Help: which was the default. Can someone tell me the actual locaton of the WHDLoad install?

Which drive in Amiga emulation is C: and how do I view it?

Where is it on my PC harddrive?

I'm trying to figure out if there's some kind of interface and settings for WHDLoad accessible from the directory in which it is installed. Or is it just a program without options that just does one thing?

I'm asking this because I often get errors trying to start some of the games and was hoping this was just a settings thing.

Some of the errors are related to missing ROM's though. I get one that goes:

DOS ERROR #205
(object not found)
on reading "devs: kickstarts/kick34005.a500


I have a few ROM's installed and they work fine, I guess I'm just missing that one, which a lot of games seem to want. I know the ROM's are copyright, but I know they are available and will aquire them if needed. Do I need to get more ROM's and install them?
Justice is offline  
Old 24 November 2011, 17:57   #5
Justice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 66
I got the 1.2, 1.3 and 3.1 ROM's and put those where WinUAE could see them (ROM's). Then I copied the 1.3 and 3.1 ROM's to SYSTEM/DEVS/KICKSTARTS and renamed them accordingly. I can now load games which I previously could not.

But when I start WinUAE it's still telling me that ROM's relevant to the Amiga 600 are missing. Do I have to get those ROM's (not sure what their version number is) and install them in order to avoid seeing this message?

Or does it have to do with the default settings of WinUAE and is there a place I can set it not to look for Amiga 600 ROM's?
Justice is offline  
Old 25 November 2011, 15:14   #6
Justice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 66
Does anyone know what the Amiga 600 ROM numbers are?

I just want to get WinUAE to stop asking me for them each time it starts. I double I'll ever want to emulate an Amiga 600.

Is it the 2.0 one?
Justice is offline  
Old 25 November 2011, 18:07   #7
DeafDaz
Deafdaz
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Blackpool Egland
Age: 45
Posts: 200
I thinks so... or is that the 500+ ROM?. have a look on ggogle and research which Amiga uses what rom. that should help.
DeafDaz is offline  
Old 25 November 2011, 18:39   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,949
2.04 = A500+
2.05 = A600
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 26 November 2011, 11:22   #9
Justice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 66
Thanks!

Edit - What do I need to rename the Amiga 600 ROM to in SYSTEM/DEVS/KICKSTARTS?

Last edited by Justice; 26 November 2011 at 12:10.
Justice is offline  
Old 26 November 2011, 12:49   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justice View Post
I just want to get WinUAE to stop asking me for them each time it starts. I double I'll ever want to emulate an Amiga 600.
Untick "Start in quickstart mode" or change quickstart mode to non-A600 configuration.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ScapeMaker : latest version vxm request.Apps 1 11 June 2012 22:47
Latest version? emuola project.KGLoad 13 30 May 2010 11:12
installing latest winuae question kirk support.WinUAE 4 15 April 2009 23:12
DOPUS 4... Where is the very latest version? Tony Landais request.Apps 14 11 July 2005 19:52
Latest version of mame32 Djay Retrogaming General Discussion 4 04 April 2004 19:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07391 seconds with 13 queries