English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 January 2017, 12:26   #1
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 133
AmIRC-68000 on accelerated a500 -- thinks it is AmIRC-68020

Hi,

I have an a500 with workbench-3.1, and with an aca500 plus installed.

I've installed MUI-3.8, I have a new enough setpatch, and now I am trying to run AmIRC-68000 (since I don't have a 68020 or above).

I downloaded:
http://www.biclodon.com/software/ami..._362_68000.lha

Stuck it on a CF, put it in the amiga, extracted it (which made a drawer called 'AmIRC-68000'), but when run gives:

Quote:
AmIRC020 requires an Amiga system equipped with AmigaOS 3.0 or higher and a 68020, 68030 or better CPU.

Please use the standard AmIRC instead.
This is werid right? The executable thinks it is the 68020 version... I also tried the 020 version in case the authors mixed the versions up, but alas no.

Am I missing something? Maybe the aca500 plus confuses AmIRC?
vext01 is offline  
Old 28 January 2017, 21:39   #2
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 439
Either the 14MHz clockspeed or the 3.1 Kickstart may be confusing the program?
appiah4 is offline  
Old 28 January 2017, 21:54   #3
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 648
Try from here:
http://www.amirc.org/download

Check SnoopDOS as well. What does it show?

Try from here as well:
http://aminet.net/search?query=amirc&sort=dl&ord=DESC
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 21:14   #4
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 133
Nothing unusual in the snoopdos log (with all functions and rom calls on). Just successful environment reads, program execution and library loads. (Neat tool by the way, thanks for making me aware of it -- reminds me of ktrace/strace/truss for unix!).

I also tried clocking the cpu down to stock 7mhz and disabling the freezer. No joy.
vext01 is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 21:21   #5
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Lucas View Post
Yeah, the link I posted is referenced from this page.
vext01 is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 14:44   #6
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 133
Or can anyone recommend an alternative IRC client?
vext01 is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 15:25   #7
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 988
AmIRC really is the best, you could grab a older build i suppose.
Locutus is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 16:26   #8
Yulquen74
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kleppe / Norway
Posts: 207
I use AmIRC 3.5 (25.06.00) with kick 3.1 & roadshow, using 68000 @ 66MHz. No problems.
Yulquen74 is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 20:14   #9
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 648
Just like suggested try an older version of AmIRC.
There are other clients:
BlackIRC - http://aminet.net/package/comm/irc/BlackIRC-FW
WookieChat - http://aminet.net/package/comm/irc/WookieChat2.11_OS3
Grapevine - http://aminet.net/package/comm/irc/grapevine
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 26 January 2020, 07:51   #10
arongooch
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Adelaide / Australia
Posts: 3
Just wondering if this problem been solved?

I too have the same problem with the 68000 versions of AmIRC not working on my ACA500plus machine with MUI3.8 installed and running and KS3.1, presenting the same error stating it requires a 68020 or higher CPU. I also have tried on completely stock 7MHz 68000 speeds and still does not run. Why have the 68000 version of AmIRC if it does not work?

I downloaded my copy form Aminet and have also tried an older build with same results. Very strange.
arongooch is offline  
Old 26 January 2020, 12:32   #11
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 133
I never got it working I'm afraid. It seems the ACA interferes with amirc somehow.
vext01 is offline  
Old 26 January 2020, 12:38   #12
Misclegend
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 131
you can use the 68020 emulator to run amirc

020emul amirc
Misclegend is offline  
Old 27 January 2020, 10:58   #13
arongooch
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Adelaide / Australia
Posts: 3
Forgive my lack of knowledge on this subject but 020 emulator? Ive never heard of a 020 emulator on the Amiga. A quick search didn't reveal much either from what I can see. So this is a command line program?
arongooch is offline  
Old 27 January 2020, 19:38   #14
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 929
http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/Run68017

Code:
Run68017	Provides run time emulation of about 30 of the 68020 instruc-
		tions with a 68000.  Only the emulated instructions can use the
		new 68020 addressing modes.  Uses a gagdet to enable/disable
		emulation.  An upgrade from Run68013 on disk number 756.
		Includes source in assembly.
		Author:  Kamran Karimi
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 11:41   #15
arongooch
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Adelaide / Australia
Posts: 3
Thanks, will try that emulator out.
arongooch is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmIRC is now FREE ! amiga_user Amiga scene 19 10 July 2011 16:10
Registering amirc? pan1k support.Apps 8 10 July 2006 16:15
AmIRC?? BarrySWE support.Apps 2 30 September 2005 09:43
Amirc ^SnOoPy^ request.Apps 6 30 August 2005 23:59
AmIRC getting started???????? backtoskooldaze support.Apps 9 05 October 2002 21:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08556 seconds with 15 queries