English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2009, 12:54   #61
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximumRD View Post
One wonders though, myabe I could load Workbench from floppy using this, if I did would an icon appear for the CD drive?
I dunno. Depends how the drivers for the CD drive (stored in ROM) work. I am sure that you could get it to work with some help from the users on this board. I very much doubt that it would "just work" with a standard WB3.1 floppy disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximumRD View Post
Lastly, would it be feasable to load Workbench from a CD maybe with extra goodies (games utilities etc) on it since a CD has more room?
Yes there are lots of CD's that were on the covers of Amiga magazines which booted to WB on the CD32.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximumRD View Post
How could I go about making such a CD for my own personaly uses?
Use the search option of this BB and you'll find it. Perhaps look for CDTV.TM
alexh is offline  
Old 02 May 2009, 18:54   #62
Xytec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 102
Any updates Alexh?
I have had my order for the CD32 and Floppy Drive kit on hold waiting.
Xytec is offline  
Old 02 May 2009, 22:38   #63
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,351
??
alexh is offline  
Old 02 May 2009, 22:47   #64
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,556
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
you source the connectors Xytec at a good price then there might be progress
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 02 May 2009, 23:08   #65
Xytec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 102
Oh I see, I wish I could
Xytec is offline  
Old 03 August 2010, 21:26   #66
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
I will check it out in a few moment alexh

I have an apollo040 here and cd32 plastics floating in the office somewhere... brb
My friend, bump of the year, but did you have any success?
cv643d is offline  
Old 22 September 2010, 13:04   #67
MrX_Cuci
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 40
Posts: 186
So, would Kyroflux work with this drive? I wouldn't know who to hook it up to be honest but hey.....
MrX_Cuci is offline  
Old 22 September 2010, 13:31   #68
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrX_Cuci View Post
So, would Kyroflux work with this drive?
Eh? Kryoflux is not an AmigaOS device, it is a Windows device.

http://www.kryoflux.com/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Software Preservation Society
Developed with 3.5" Samsung SFD-321 [alex: i.e. a PC] Floppy Disk Drive
Host software is currently Windows only (XP, Vista, Windows 7 in 32 and 64-bit flavours).
alexh is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 09:58   #69
MrDBUG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Larvik, Norway
Posts: 63
Hmm it appears Analogic Computers still sell these drives .. ! Even with a CD32 bundled for 80 quid and postage .. ! 50 plus postage for just the drive ... ? Should I buy one ? Id REALLY like a disk drive for my CD32 :-) The missing IO on the CD32 is what is wrong with it ..
MrDBUG is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 15:52   #70
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,351
The only downer is that some RAM sensitive CD32 games stop working when it is plugged in because a floppy drive takes up some RAM.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 17:27   #71
Gordon
Settler
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,488
And your CD32 joypad will lose its functioality. So if you want to play CD32 game with more than 1 button you need to disconnect it.
Gordon is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 16:37   #72
other_reality
Registered User
other_reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 72
Another bump !

I've been experimenting with my analogic floppy drive for a while, and I've read this whole thread. Is there a verdict on how to take advantage of these ports ? I could certainly use an RGB out (who wouldn't ) but I cannot find the way. Another thing, on some games (floppy based ofcourse) i am having trouble with the disk writing i.e in sensible world of soccer, the floppies will not format and thus i cannot create a save disk.
other_reality is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 16:40   #73
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,351
All you need is to make a cable and 15KHz RGB out works fine.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 16:56   #74
other_reality
Registered User
other_reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 72
OK I will try and make one, i am planning to use it for the 1084 monitor because the composite looks awful compared to what the RGB of my 4000T shows like on it. So it seems i need the D-sub connector (which type ? ) and an RGB male connector for use in the 1084s. Sorry to ask again but i'm a total noob when it comes to cables.
other_reality is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 17:04   #75
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,351
You'll need a DA-15 and a DE-9 (both male) plus the shrouds etc.

It will be upto you to determine the pinout but I think it will be the same as VGA as I am pretty sure they meant to put a DE-15 connector on the CD32 FWSi.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 18:13   #76
other_reality
Registered User
other_reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 72
Thanks for the heads up. I will find a vga to rgb pinout and try with these connectors. Hopefully it will work
other_reality is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 22:05   #77
AmigaFun
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by other_reality View Post
Thanks for the heads up. I will find a vga to rgb pinout and try with these connectors. Hopefully it will work
Hi there. I have a cable here that I bought with my unit from Analogic. Have you tried to find out if they have any left?

If you are ok hanging on I can take mine apart and make a note of the pinouts in case it's not standard socket...you may have to wait though as it's all wired into the TV stand!
AmigaFun is offline  
Old 08 February 2011, 12:19   #78
other_reality
Registered User
other_reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 72
Oh, I can wait ! No problems, it could be very useful. On the other hand I might as well try to contact Analogic, it would be a shame ripping off your cable ! I will try and send them a message through ebay, hopefully i will get an answer. Is that cable for RGB connection though ? As I said i want to connect it straight to the 1084, when I connect my cd32 with the CRT TV the SVideo is sufficient, when it comes to the monitor though the composite is a real mess.

I already know that I can connect it to the chroma/luna of the 1084, thus taking advantage of the svideo of the cd32, but I couldn't find an appropriate cable and as i said i suck at cables !!!
other_reality is offline  
Old 08 February 2011, 19:01   #79
AmigaFun
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by other_reality View Post
Oh, I can wait ! No problems, it could be very useful. On the other hand I might as well try to contact Analogic, it would be a shame ripping off your cable ! I will try and send them a message through ebay, hopefully i will get an answer. Is that cable for RGB connection though ? As I said i want to connect it straight to the 1084, when I connect my cd32 with the CRT TV the SVideo is sufficient, when it comes to the monitor though the composite is a real mess.

I already know that I can connect it to the chroma/luna of the 1084, thus taking advantage of the svideo of the cd32, but I couldn't find an appropriate cable and as i said i suck at cables !!!
OK, here we are then, the cable pin out from the 15 way 'd' type male plug to a standard male SCART. My one had no resiters installed. I belive this to be a RGB cable.
First, in the SCART link pins 5-9-13-17-18.

'D' PLUG PIN >TO> SCART PIN

15 ------------------ 16
14 ----------------- 8
9 **BRAID/SHIELD*** 13
3 ------------------ 15
4 ------------------ 11
5 ------------------ 7
6 ------------------ 20

If making one up, use shielded cable.
Beaware of the numbering on the SCART plug, it's easy to miss read as they are not sequential. Look at one and you will see.

If you want to connect to your 1084, then you would need to identify what each pin is for on the 1084 and transpose the the SCART plug pin outs to your 1084.

This link may also help with the pinout for the 1084. http://wiki.classicamiga.com/Atari_S..._1084S_monitor
Note, they mention 120 Ohm resistors on the RGB lines.

But if as you say you suck at cables, then I would get someone who is confident with doing such things, to make a cable up for you, as damage could occur if wired up wrong!


Hope this helps


Last edited by AmigaFun; 09 February 2011 at 21:59. Reason: formatting and error in pinout
AmigaFun is offline  
Old 09 February 2011, 01:46   #80
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,351
You sure that is right? I'm pretty sure two things cannot be connected to SCART pin 15 (RED in)!

One of them has to be wired to pin 16? So which is it?

NOTE the pinout (if correct) is completely different than VGA DE-15 pinout and MAC DA-15 pinout! That means no standard adapter would have worked.

Last edited by alexh; 09 February 2011 at 02:01.
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 Analogic Floppy drive problems? Cooljerk support.Hardware 2 25 February 2012 13:33
Analogic CD32 floppy drive questions twiggy support.Hardware 18 04 May 2010 02:43
CD32 Analogic Floppy Drive - Will it work w/SX32, small port on back? RGB_Gamer New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 05 March 2010 11:12
MorphOS 2 review (on a Mac mini) jPV Amiga scene 4 05 February 2010 11:10
Amiga CD32 +Analogic's disk drive should it stay or should it go ? lolafg New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 10 December 2008 11:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10055 seconds with 15 queries