English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 June 2010, 13:00   #1
DyLucke
Cookie Muncher
DyLucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spain
Age: 45
Posts: 237
Help with KCS Power PC Board

Hi there folks, i've just purchased one of these devices and finally i've installed it on my A500.

I have no idea how this board works, since it came without disks and without manual, for what i have managed to find out so far, it has to be the 1.2 version, since it has the 25-42 legend on it.

I've boot up the A500 (512k chip) and found Workbench says i got 1mb other memory... Strange since i thought it would only provide 512k extra ram.

Well, the thing is, i don't know how to make this thing work on PC mode, could somebody provide some with it please?

I've read old posts and it seems there's an scanned english manual available, but i can't find it. I've got several disks but i don't know if they're for my board revision or they're meant to be for the original board, or the plus version.

Thanks in advance folks.
DyLucke is offline  
Old 30 June 2010, 13:10   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
Holla DyLucke!

Mmy friend the software you need is the same as the KCS PowerBoard

you can find more info here

I am sure there are some others here that have first hand experience but my good friend r0jaws had one of these in his A2000 runing (albiet incredibly slowly) Windows 3.1
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 June 2010, 14:11   #3
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 120
From what I recall you will need to use the KCS software that came with the board to create a disk, that will allow you to boot into PC mode. THe disk looked like one of the ones on the right of this image: http://www.elektronica-assemblage.nl...owerboard2.jpg
I think you have to boot from one of those disks (keep it write-protected, though), and it will give you the option of creating a new disk.

Once booted into PC mode you will need a DOS boot disk, but that's another matter entirely.
Exl is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:29   #4
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
I am sure there are some others here that have first hand experience but my good friend r0jaws had one of these in his A2000 runing (albiet incredibly slowly) Windows 3.1
It was Dos 6.22 / Window 3.0 REAL Mode, from the HD image I sent him

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KCS Power PC board + A500 Plus commie1974 support.Hardware 13 07 June 2017 13:02
KCS Power PC Board – Help? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 64 25 May 2015 12:37
KCS Power PC Board in A2000 genny support.Hardware 9 30 November 2010 18:20
KCS Power PC Board Manual in ENGLISH Fingerlickin_B request.Other 11 18 March 2008 12:47
KCS POWER PC BOARD with A590 XT Amiga-emuman support.Hardware 2 30 August 2006 15:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06549 seconds with 15 queries