English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2020, 15:56   #1
gbasource
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 34
Kickstart 3.0 and WB3.1 compatibility

In a lot of youtube videos, when I see people installing classicwb and whdload onto a compact flash, their real amiga is running on kickstart rom 3.1 and they select the kickstart 3.1 rom and workbench 3.1 adf in winuae when setting up the partitions, installing customwb and whdload. My real amiga is running on kickstart 3.0 so would I have to use that kickstart rom and the workbench 3.0 adfs on winuae instead when setting up the partitions and installing classic wb/whdload?

Last edited by gbasource; 19 January 2020 at 16:18.
gbasource is offline  
Old 19 January 2020, 17:18   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,806
You can use the 3.1 software with a 3.0 ROM just fine.
Jope is offline  
Old 19 January 2020, 18:04   #3
Joel_w
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 22
In general Workbench 3.1 works just fine with 3.0 roms, I ran my Amiga 1200 like that for years. Maybe there were a few problems, I can’t remember exactly, but in the end it was a better experience than WB 3.0 which is a bit buggy.

Putting real 3.1 or 3.1.4 roms in there would of course be better though. If you have an accelerator it’s probably possible to softkick the 3.1 rom too.
Joel_w is offline  
Old 21 January 2020, 16:02   #4
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 646
3.1 workbench will boot on 3.0, but you will run into some more esoteric font issues in some things, etc. It's mostly little niggling stuff not a huge deal.

On the hardware end though 3.1 has some good bugfixes and performance improvements and you definitely want to upgrade to it, either by installing physical ROMs or softkicking (even if you have the physical 3.1 ROMs, softkicking is a good idea in general for speed reasons if you have any sort of CPU upgrade). Moreover all sorts of third-party utilities either require or work better with 3.1.
AmigaHope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HQC Kickstart 1.2 (cracked kickstart) T_hairy_bootson support.Apps 51 18 February 2019 20:25
OCS ECS compatibility problem or Kickstart V1.3 / V2.04 Powergoo Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 19 October 2015 00:12
DosFellow compatibility list and compatibility of specific games ruffian support.WinFellow 8 24 May 2010 19:23
A1200 Kickstart 3.1 - Light gray screen before Kickstart Sallinen support.Hardware 7 21 November 2008 21:22
WB2.1 or WB3.1 or WB3.9 Olecranon New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 02 September 2006 18:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06382 seconds with 15 queries