English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 February 2019, 13:20   #1
Joel_w
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 22
Start script without opening a Shell window

I have created a simple script that just starts Wireless Manager and Genesis when I want to go online. It has an icon and I run it directly from Workbench. But one annoying detail is that it always opens a Shell window that only contains two lines similar to this:

[CLI 9]
[CLI 10]

Both lines in the script end with >NIL: so no other output is shown. Is there a way to avoid having this Shell window opened?
Joel_w is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 13:41   #2
Muadib
Registered User

Muadib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 272
Not sure but perhaps use this: <> NIL:

muadib
Amiga Raytracing Society
Muadib is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 13:49   #3
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 98
Are you using IconX to run the script from Workbench?

Does any of this help?

i.e. Can you add
WINDOW=NIL:
to your tooltypes if you never want window or use
AUTO
if you do but only when there would be output to show (like an error or something)
matburton is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 13:54   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,662
Are you using "Run" at the start of the lines? It could be that the >NIL: is being used for the output of the Wireless Manager and Genesis executables, but the Run executable is still outputting its output to the console. Try adding >NIL: directly after run if that's the case...

Code:
Run >NIL: C:WirelessManager
Daedalus is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 14:06   #5
Joel_w
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by matburton View Post
Are you using IconX to run the script from Workbench?
No, it’s just an icon with the script and executable flags set but I should try IconX.
Joel_w is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 14:08   #6
Joel_w
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Are you using "Run" at the start of the lines? It could be that the >NIL: is being used for the output of the Wireless Manager and Genesis executables, but the Run executable is still outputting its output to the console. Try adding >NIL: directly after run if that's the case...

Code:
Run >NIL: C:WirelessManager
Yes, if I remember correctly at least Wireless Manager needs run but I’ll try to move the redirection to NIL and see if it helps.
Joel_w is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 16:56   #7
Joel_w
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Are you using "Run" at the start of the lines? It could be that the >NIL: is being used for the output of the Wireless Manager and Genesis executables, but the Run executable is still outputting its output to the console. Try adding >NIL: directly after run if that's the case...

Code:
Run >NIL: C:WirelessManager
This worked perfectly! No more annoying window.

It sounds like the IconX route would have worked too but since this solved everything I haven't tried it.
Joel_w is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opening DOpus5 CLI from script? Retrofan support.Other 14 02 August 2018 02:57
Start fs-uae from shell? fstltna support.FS-UAE 4 14 July 2017 01:42
startup-sequence without opening CLI window Mathesar support.Apps 12 21 June 2017 19:03
Snapshot Amiga Shell window? TenLeftFingers support.Apps 3 15 June 2015 16:38
Clear background color for Shell window- Shell-StartUp fc.studio support.Apps 12 29 December 2009 14:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06780 seconds with 15 queries