English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

Old 19 May 2024, 21:40   #1
kerravon

68000 and floating point

I have limited knowledge about floating point, but the C90 standard mandates floating point.

I'm mainly interested in the Amiga 500 (which is what I had back in the day - around 1988).

Currently I am building my C library (PDPCLIB) with gccami -m68020 as I don't want the multiply instructions to cause external routines to be called in which I don't have public domain code for. But I'm going to have another attempt at that.

So assuming I get 68000 to work - including multiply routines - then the next thing I need is floating point.

From reading Wikipedia there was no option to add a floating point coprocessor to an Amiga 500. There was an expansion port where you could add a 68020 though. Or even directly on the machine it seems. Based on that, I could switch to 68020 as a minimum I guess - but I'm not really concerned if multiply operations are slow, so I'd prefer to stick to 68000. But regardless, this still isn't floating point.

I am aware I could generate soft float, but I don't want to do that. I believe the way things normally work is that you can generate hard float even for a machine without a coprocessor, and then the CPU traps, and you can have a trap handler which does the soft float for you and then returns to the executing program.

I remember reading about some machine that didn't have the ability to continue executing after a fault, so that virtual memory couldn't be implemented, but I don't remember which machine that was, so that's presumably not relevant.

With the Amiga 2000 (actually 2500/20) there is the first sign of a coprocessor - 68881. That was in 1988 - the sort of time period I am interested in.