English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 July 2012, 20:31   #1
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 115
PC in Amiga 1200 - the end - Photos

Finaly, i completed the project.
Space inside the case was the major problem. Everything else compared with Space problem was easy.
Closing the original A1200 case with keyrah inside and a pc laptop board was ...... Hell ...
I did it, but everything was to compress inside.
I should get an ribbon cable extention so that i could put the Keyrah in a more confortable position.
anyway, it's done.
My soldering skills are not the best, but i was able to do the job.

so in resume:
- Original Amiga 1200 case
- Laptop Mother Board (Pee Cee)
- Keyrah adaptor with original A1200 keyboad
- USBs
- Sound RCAs
- DB9 Ports (with Keyrah)
- Power on/off plug
- Power on/off button (connected to m. board slot)
- F12 button for Winuae (connected to m. board slot)
- HD 2,5" sata (with extention cable)

The HD 2,5" sata (with extention cable) is not very stable, don't know why. 1 in 10 boots fail to detect Hd
without the extention cable wokrs fine


https://plus.google.com/photos/10256...wa&gpsrc=pwrd1

And, i know, that a lot of you will say "WHY? Why did you do such a project?!?!"
- Because i had some spare parts... and because i like to create... and... to have a dedicaded emulation machine
Tiago is offline  
Old 09 July 2012, 21:34   #2
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 46
Posts: 1,233
really nice

would like to see it working in a video now !!
lolafg is offline  
Old 09 July 2012, 23:54   #3
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
nice mate
johnim is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 00:23   #4
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 52
Posts: 1,718
Nice job... did you look into a thin ITX mobo as well or just went straight to a laptop board?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 00:31   #5
Specksynder
Registered User
Specksynder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Apolidia
Posts: 415
Nice? C'mon guys, this is great!
Specksynder is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 04:31   #6
ravard
Registered User
ravard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Olympia WA
Posts: 21
Pretty cool! Good job on this.
ravard is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 12:12   #7
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Nice job... did you look into a thin ITX mobo as well or just went straight to a laptop board?
well i went to see all kind of mother boards, many of then were much better to use in this project, but, i didn't had any available to use, i would have to buy it (and they are expensive...). And this was a spare parts project.
The laptop used had a screen problem, and monitor didn't work, but VGA output was good so i could be used. CPU was old, so for a windows usw was a bit old, but for winuae was perfect, so i used it because it didn't have any use.

The final cost was only the keyrah, everything else i allready had at home.
Tiago is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 14:00   #8
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Blasphemy!

No no, nice DIY job there
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 15:00   #9
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Great stuff indeed Tiago!

Thanks for sharing!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 15:09   #10
Andrew1971
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Tiago
Execellent work you have done there. Now whats the next project PC in a A600
Many Thanks
Andrew
 
Old 10 July 2012, 15:26   #11
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew1971 View Post
Hi Tiago
Execellent work you have done there. Now whats the next project PC in a A600
Many Thanks
Andrew

hummm.... well, if i was able to get a nice mini atx, or similar board.... i may get a spare A600 case....

I found it very nice to work with all the parts of this project.
I didn't have any soldering skills before, and it was good to learn a bit more.

Thanks
Tiago is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 17:06   #12
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 52
Posts: 1,718
Not sure an ITX board fits in an A600... probably have to be D945GSJT or DN2800MT Atom boards only?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 17:21   #13
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 115
mini atx should be 15x15 cm i think... maybe
but there are smaller then that... but more expensive...
Rasberry PI should be also good for something similar !
Tiago is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 18:11   #14
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 52
Posts: 1,718
No, ITX... ITX is the smallest widespread standard (17x17cm).... There are pico and nano ITX but only with crappy VIA CPUs generally.
Methanoid is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 18:53   #15
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 115
What about the Raspberry PI? It is very small, and it can run Linux, so i guess it's possible to run UAE there. And the price is great :-)
How many days to delivery? Last time i heard about it it was 2 or 3 months...
Tiago is offline  
Old 13 July 2012, 16:41   #16
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
@Tiago. Excellent work

Currently stalled on my a500-pc mod... Mounted a psu after being forced to modify it, thinking about placing a card reader where the floppy drive once sat but not sure as it means cutting bits and stuck on how to get the original led's working.

I have some questions regarding the keyrah. Do you have any pictures of how you wired up the keyboard switch?

and

What did you use to fix the keyrah to the back of the keyboard?

ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 13 July 2012, 18:47   #17
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 115
Hi Electroblaster:

Quote:
What did you use to fix the keyrah to the back of the keyboard?
i didn't fix it, because of space required, i have a laptop mother board inside,
do the reyrah was on top of it. I will try to do some ribbon extention, so i can put it in a more far away place.
but so far, it's not fixed t anythng.

Quote:
I have some questions regarding the keyrah. Do you have any pictures of how you wired up the keyboard switch?
i am not understanding your question (my english is not the best),
what switch? do you mean the Pee Cee keyb slot on mother board? To do the buttons? If it's that yes i can get you photos.
Tiago is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photos and/or measurements of Amiga 500 bLAZER request.Other 144 16 October 2018 02:40
Photos of Amiga 500 Box Avanze Amiga scene 1 10 August 2011 18:50
[sell] Amiga 1200 end Amiga 4000 ONLY EUROPE Dexther MarketPlace 11 21 October 2009 15:24
Yet another Amiga meeting in Poland (many photos warning) Shoonay Amiga scene 23 20 March 2009 17:31
[Buy] Amiga 1200 end Flat cable 2,5 IDE Dexther MarketPlace 0 06 May 2008 10:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09067 seconds with 13 queries