English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2001, 20:13   #1
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy LHA problems?!

Hi to everyone!!

If there is someone to spare a few minutes with my problem I would be really grateful!!

Well the Aminet is full of lha files. How can I use them in WinUAE?
I know how to extract LHA files but I don't have a clue how I can use the extracted files with an Emulator!

Maybe it's too easy for you but I'm used to work with ADF files...

Thanks in advance!!

Amiga Rulz!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 November 2001, 20:17   #2
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Was covered here
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1472

About lzx files but similar method
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=649

Read announcements
http://eab.abime.net/announcement.php?s=&forumid=5
Paul is offline  
Old 05 November 2001, 20:29   #3
scifi
Resurrected...
scifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 44
Posts: 238
If I understood correctly the only way to use the extracted files is Amiga In A Box...?
...for beginners I presume?

The extracted files have the following form:

Brucelee
Brucelee.gui
Brucelee.run

(I believe the guide for using aiab is on the same page)


Your reply was impressively quick!!
Thanx
scifi is offline  
Old 05 November 2001, 22:02   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by s4murai
But you need a HD-setup to get the programs from lha-archives working.
No you donīt You can also copy the LHA program to your boot adf in C: and extract the archive to an empty disk, now you can start the executable from there
RetroMan is offline  
Old 05 November 2001, 22:07   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Hmm I moved this one but I aint sure.. I think this is a newbie question....

RCK or anybody else, if you think it belonged in the other forum, move it there again
Akira is offline  
Old 05 November 2001, 22:34   #6
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan

No you donīt You can also copy the LHA program to your boot adf in C: and extract the archive to an empty disk, now you can start the executable from there
Even if a newbie is able to get the extracted files to an adf/floppy, it's still not gonna boot or be ready to plug in and go (like they are probably looking for).

The bottom line is, if a 'newbie' wants to be able to run files from Aminet, they are gonna have to use some type of hard drive Amiga setup. I could never use AIAB because it just doesn't even feel like an Amiga (to me), but to each his own.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 05 November 2001, 22:34   #7
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by s4murai
But this means you'll still have to copy them on an ADF first and therefore from a 'Windows-partition'...
Hmmm, yap, but you can use ADD PC DRIVES AT STARTUP for that, no need to set up a complete HD
RetroMan is offline  
Old 05 November 2001, 23:03   #8
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Seems like AIAB has dominated

This does not please Amigaboy
 
Old 05 November 2001, 23:24   #9
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by s4murai


Hmm =/

I never did that before. How do you access them then in CLI? As PC0: or C:?
The drives are added as the Windoze names are (C:, D:, E:, etc.)
RetroMan is offline  
Old 06 November 2001, 00:13   #10
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
@s4murai

Dunno, test it
RetroMan is offline  
Old 06 November 2001, 03:50   #11
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
On my WinUAE HD setup, my PC drives are DH1: and DH2:
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 15 November 2001, 22:33   #12
CPC464
Junior Member
CPC464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: York
Age: 48
Posts: 393
Send a message via ICQ to CPC464 Send a message via AIM to CPC464
Wink LHA's

hello

I find that LHA files are great and easy to extract using WinRAR.

Also if you are stuck on a hard disk and really don't know how to set one up try jaybee's Amiga in a BOX.

Hope this helps

//admin: please don't use direct signature in your post, configure your UcerCP instead.
CPC464 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lha problems. Thorham support.Apps 13 18 October 2009 15:24
Lha.run problems RonL support.WinUAE 3 18 August 2008 19:38
LHA Extraction Problems THX1138 support.Apps 1 16 February 2004 06:40
PRoblems with ZIP, LZX, LHA and who knows what else :P Akira support.Apps 5 09 February 2004 12:27
Lha! Pixel New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 31 May 2002 20:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20727 seconds with 12 queries