English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2012, 23:59   #1
h0ffman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salisbury
Posts: 469
Tutorial: Converting samples to Amiga.

Hi guys

Someone PM'd me asking about how I do my sample conversion for ProTracker. I ended up going into quite a bit of detail in who to do it trying to retain as much quality as possible. Thought I would post it up here and some peeps could find it useful.

-- PC Preperation of sample (using soundforge or similar)

1. Mono Conversion

Depending on the sound, you can either mix it down to mono or take either left or right channel. The latter is usually better as you can get phasing when mixing stereo to mono.

2. EQ

There's no rule here, just depends on the content you are converting. A rough guide would be to maybe remove some low end with a filter if there is some. Means you can maximise the sound more.

3. Limiting / Loudness

This is a must!. Quiet samples on the amiga sound like shite. If the sample is loud, but you play it quiet on the Amiga, you will retain the sound quality. Either normalise it or put it through a good limiter plugin.

4. Resampling

Make sure you do this while the sample is still 16-bit as it will give greater accuracy for the resampling and better results. My suggestion here is to setup some presets for each note you want to resample too. Use the table below to perform the calculation.

Code:
 (For a PAL machine)

                7093789.2
SampleRate = --------------
               Period * 2

Period table:
C-1 to B-1 : 856,808,762,720,678,640,604,570,538,508,480,453
C-2 to B-2 : 428,404,381,360,339,320,302,285,269,254,240,226
C-3 to B-3 : 214,202,190,180,170,160,151,143,135,127,120,113
5. 8-bit and save as WAV

Simple really, you've prepped the audio data, now all you need to do is convert it to 8-bit and save it as a wav. Your audio editing app should then save the sample with the new frequency inside it.

-- Amiga Side (converting to IFF)

Now I think there are programs out there in PC land which do this, but I never found one. So I use SoundBox on the Amiga, its on Aminet and there is a free key for it too. Simply load your newly created Mono wav and re-save as IFF! Done!

BONUS TIPS..

If your samples when on the Amiga need a little hi-end boost, load em up into ProTracker and hit the Boost button one or two times depending. Really good for adding a bit of fake top end to your sample.

If you wanna twist up samples in the Amiga, try Aural Illusion.
h0ffman is offline  
Old 30 September 2012, 01:33   #2
Sektor 83
Registered User
Sektor 83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 143
Excellent stuff, h0ffman... heard your tune 'Drop The Panic' only just the other day, loved it and wondered how you managed to get all those great-sounding samples
Sektor 83 is offline  
Old 30 September 2012, 18:54   #3
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 774
Thumbs up

great info! thanks for posting
klx300r is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 18:47   #4
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Too close to the North Pole
Posts: 324
Resurrecting an old thread here. I'm having issues understanding how to resample samples for ProTracker. I have downloaded the Adventure Kid single cycle waveforms (in 8svx format). Problem is that all samples are very "deep", the highest pitch is very low, so I'm unable to play high notes. How can I resample or play these waveforms at higher octaves? Thanks in advance for any insight!
MickGyver is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 19:37   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchmaster View Post
the highest pitch is very low, so I'm unable to play high notes. How can I resample or play these waveforms at higher octaves? Thanks in advance for any insight!
Yeah this is a problem with this kit. If you let the Amiga pitch it up, it could bring issues. But I dunno because I never tested them. Have you tried?
Maybe reduce those to less cycles, if I remember correctly, the Adventure Kid waveforms are actually -not- single cycle, not all of them at least, and single cycle would probably the best to start with.

What is it exactly that is happening? The samples should sound, is it that they are going off tune?
Akira is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 19:49   #6
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Too close to the North Pole
Posts: 324
Thanks for the reply! Most of them are single cycle waveforms. I'm able to use them but with the 3 octave limit on the Amiga I can only play 3 low octaves, making the samples more or less useless. When I load the same samples into MilkyTracker, I'm able to use seven octaves and the samples sound fairly good up to the highest notes. There is some resampling options in MT but I have no idea how to use them. Damn, I have read the tutorial in this thread and tried to find some good info on resampling for the Amiga but haven't found anything I understand, I feel a bit stupid, can it be this hard?
MickGyver is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 20:10   #7
Tsak
Registered User

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 402
Open protracker, load your sample, open the sample editor (SAMPLER), press "UPSAMPLE" (lower right corner) and done
Tsak is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 20:11   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchmaster View Post
I'm able to use them but with the 3 octave limit on the Amiga I can only play 3 low octaves, making the samples more or less useless.
I see what you mean! Makes total sense.
Yeah PT sucks and it seems you can only downsample, but not upsample.
You could use a PC tool like Wavosaur, or I am sure there's some Amiga tool that could do it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsak View Post
Open protracker, load your sample, open the sample editor (SAMPLER), press "UPSAMPLE" (lower right corner) and done
Maybe this is PT3.x. PT1.x/2.x does not have this option.

Even though, you'll reach a sample frequency limit for the AMiga pretty soon, so I would recommend using a PC tool, upsample to required pitch, then downsample in fine quality back to original sample rate (8Khz)
Might sound like absolute garbage, though.

Last edited by Akira; 07 September 2017 at 20:19.
Akira is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 20:27   #9
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,116
Did you resampled your samples? If not you can/need to change the sample rate (see h0ffman`s point 4.). For example if you want to have the result on note F-3 (Protracker) then sample rate is 7093789.2 / (160 * 2) ~= 22168.0913. First make sure to get mono. Saveing to 8svx format is or should be the last option. Sometimes is is good to have one sample resampled to different sample rates / notes but you will notice that if needed.

Protracker itself has up- and downsampling option (octaves) and resample but I guess the quality isn`t so good compared to good pc software use. However, I used it sometimes and maybe the result is good enough for you (depends on sample). Just try it.

Sometimes it is enough to halve sample rate from 44,1kHz to 20050 Hz. On Protracker it is something between E-3 and F-3. Further you can use the finetune option. Octaves change is done with key F1-F3. Press the Help key for Protracker docs.
daxb is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 23:04   #10
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Too close to the North Pole
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I see what you mean! Makes total sense.
Yeah PT sucks and it seems you can only downsample, but not upsample.
You could use a PC tool like Wavosaur, or I am sure there's some Amiga tool that could do it.

Even though, you'll reach a sample frequency limit for the AMiga pretty soon, so I would recommend using a PC tool, upsample to required pitch, then downsample in fine quality back to original sample rate (8Khz)
Might sound like absolute garbage, though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Did you resampled your samples? If not you can/need to change the sample rate (see h0ffman`s point 4.). For example if you want to have the result on note F-3 (Protracker) then sample rate is 7093789.2 / (160 * 2) ~= 22168.0913. First make sure to get mono. Saveing to 8svx format is or should be the last option. Sometimes is is good to have one sample resampled to different sample rates / notes but you will notice that if needed.

Protracker itself has up- and downsampling option (octaves) and resample but I guess the quality isn`t so good compared to good pc software use. However, I used it sometimes and maybe the result is good enough for you (depends on sample). Just try it.

Sometimes it is enough to halve sample rate from 44,1kHz to 20050 Hz. On Protracker it is something between E-3 and F-3. Further you can use the finetune option. Octaves change is done with key F1-F3. Press the Help key for Protracker docs.
Thanks for the input! I tried to resample the original waveform (used the 16bit wavs) in SoundForge to 96000Hz, then pitch it up by 24 semitones. Sounded ok at that point. Then I converted the pitched waveform using sox (sox sample.wav -D -r16754 -b8 sample.8svx). It sounds good by itself but it's a little out of tune to the lower pitched original. Finetuning makes it worse.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsak View Post
Open protracker, load your sample, open the sample editor (SAMPLER), press "UPSAMPLE" (lower right corner) and done
Thanks! I was using PT 2.3 so I didn't have that option, installed 3.62 and tried upsample in that version, seems to sound ok, the tuning might be a little off but I have to test some more! I can always use upsample in 3.62 and use the sample in 2.3, I prefer it's gui.

Last edited by MickGyver; 08 September 2017 at 08:38.
MickGyver is offline  
Old 08 September 2017, 01:54   #11
Tsak
Registered User

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I see what you mean! Makes total sense.
Yeah PT sucks and it seems you can only downsample, but not upsample.
You could use a PC tool like Wavosaur, or I am sure there's some Amiga tool that could do it.
Personally I wouldn't recommend working on pc if your samples material is already 8bit (is this the case here?). As most decent pc sound etitors (Wavelab, Soundforge e.t.c) work in 16bit mode, everytime you load, process an 8bit sound and save it again has the potencial to harm it's quality by some degree, add unwanted hiss, extra noise floor e.t.c. (due to accumulated quantisation).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Maybe this is PT3.x. PT1.x/2.x does not have this option.
Ah, yes. I'm using v3.62.
Tsak is offline  
Old 08 September 2017, 16:29   #12
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchmaster View Post
Then I converted the pitched waveform using sox (sox sample.wav -D -r16754 -b8 sample.8svx). It sounds good by itself but it's a little out of tune to the lower pitched original. Finetuning makes it worse.
Number turner? 7093789.2 / (214 * 2) ~= 16574.2738. Maybe the reason for out of tune. However, 16kHz is sometimes a bit low (depends on sample). You should at least try 22kHz and higher. If not alread known/noticed, B-3 is near/over hardware limits what may cause noise if played (depends on sample too). There is a thread on this board about converting/resampling samples on PC to Amiga with useful (technical) infromation you should read.
daxb is offline  
Old 08 September 2017, 17:30   #13
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Too close to the North Pole
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Number turner? 7093789.2 / (214 * 2) ~= 16574.2738. Maybe the reason for out of tune. However, 16kHz is sometimes a bit low (depends on sample). You should at least try 22kHz and higher. If not alread known/noticed, B-3 is near/over hardware limits what may cause noise if played (depends on sample too). There is a thread on this board about converting/resampling samples on PC to Amiga with useful (technical) infromation you should read.
Thanks! God damn, number turner indeed! When converting the waveform I pitched with -r16574 and the lower original with -r8287 they are both in tune with each other.
MickGyver is offline  
Old 08 September 2017, 17:56   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsak View Post
Personally I wouldn't recommend working on pc if your samples material is already 8bit (is this the case here?)
It was because witchmaster got the 8svx pack of AKWFs, but you can get the AKWFs in their original form and work from there. It's what I would recommend.
Always work with higher resolution of anything you have and then make your way down.
Akira is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 20:24   #15
mt12345
Registered User

mt12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ffman View Post

4. Resampling

Make sure you do this while the sample is still 16-bit as it will give greater accuracy for the resampling and better results. My suggestion here is to setup some presets for each note you want to resample too. Use the table below to perform the calculation.

5. 8-bit and save as WAV

Simple really, you've prepped the audio data, now all you need to do is convert it to 8-bit and save it as a wav. Your audio editing app should then save the sample with the new frequency inside it.

-- Amiga Side (converting to IFF)

Now I think there are programs out there in PC land which do this, but I never found one. So I use SoundBox on the Amiga, its on Aminet and there is a free key for it too. Simply load your newly created Mono wav and re-save as IFF! Done!
your wav2amiga app covers the steps above, right?
mt12345 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zero-G Datafile Amiga Music Samples thinlega request.Modules 8 10 November 2018 11:02
Octamed samples transfer from PC to Amiga trydowave support.Hardware 6 26 February 2013 18:01
Amiga drum beat with speech-samples (1987-88) encore request.Modules 0 25 February 2013 17:17
Best way to get samples onto the amiga... ElectroBlaster Amiga scene 4 21 October 2012 18:13
converting Amiga disks to PC rOuGh New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 15 November 2001 23:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.20033 seconds with 15 queries