English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. AMOS

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 January 2016, 00:00   #21
volvo_0ne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
ah, manual actually says "Do not try to combine several tests into a single AMAL expression using the ampersand (&) or upright(|) characters."

Hmm... seems a bit of a limitation. I never actually used AMAL for animation, it seems more trouble than it's worth tbh...
But I'm not Combining them, I'm ONLY using upright(|) character (OR)

I guess the only way to go now is negate the tests and do Two If,s for each test.... What a pain!
volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 30 January 2016, 00:04   #22
volvo_0ne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Hmm... seems a bit of a limitation. I never actually used AMAL for animation, it seems more trouble than it's worth tbh...

It probably is, but it's much quicker than keeping track of many objects in BASIC, because of the array checking speed alone.
volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 30 January 2016, 00:06   #23
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
 
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by volvo_0ne View Post
But I'm not Combining them, I'm ONLY using upright(|) character (OR)

I guess the only way to go now is negate the tests and do Two If,s for each test.... What a pain!
You are combining two tests (two comparisons of values). | and & are not tests, they are arithmetic operators, like + and -. so you could do "If X&4=4" for instance. But i don't know why <, > etc don't work like that as well... it's all a bit mysterious...
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 30 January 2016, 00:45   #24
volvo_0ne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
You are combining two tests (two comparisons of values). | and & are not tests, they are arithmetic operators, like + and -. so you could do "If X&4=4" for instance. But i don't know why <, > etc don't work like that as well... it's all a bit mysterious...
Well I'll try a double "If" tomorrow when I can be bothered to sort out the logic, too tired tonight, Thanks
volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 30 January 2016, 21:20   #25
volvo_0ne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Sorted now thanks , Should have been ........
AM$=AM$+"H: Let R1=7 ; Let R8=X+R0>RC ; Let R9=Y+R0>RD ; If R8 | R9 then Jump I ; Let X=X+R0;Let Y=Y+R0 ; P ; Jump Loop ; "

V1
volvo_0ne is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Polygon game speeds Echo support.WinUAE 38 20 March 2003 20:00
[nitpick] Time zones problem Amiga1992 project.EAB 15 02 September 2002 05:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:00.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.44010 seconds with 13 queries