English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 March 2006, 23:40   #1
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Alien Breed End Sequence - is it supposed to guru???

I just completed Alien Breed (the original version) and was treated to a good and decent end sequence (compared to what you get in the Special Edition). However, after it finishes its scroller and the high-res picture disappears, the infamous blinking red power light occurs - signalling a crash and a reset.

I was just wondering whether this is normal behaviour? Seems a bit of a copout if you were hoping to enter your name for the high-score after all that.
MethodGit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 March 2006, 23:42   #2
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
If it's on a real Amiga = faulty disk(s) (an error somewhere)
If it's in WinUAE = bad dump or wrong settings.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2006, 09:05   #3
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
There is a version that crashed for me at the end sequence back in the day!

I can't remember but I think it may have been a Loons crack!
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 March 2006, 09:59   #4
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
I loaded the PC versions of AB and AB2 but unfortunately could not get them working under XP... does that count as "crashing"

Seriously tho.. if anyone fancies a play I could Zone them tonite?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 28 March 2006, 12:48   #5
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
There are several settings you can change in XP to get older games to work, if that doesn't work you can download DosBOX and emulate the game..... there's also another program for launching old games... (don't remember the name)
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2006, 14:36   #6
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
There are several settings you can change in XP to get older games to work, if that doesn't work you can download DosBOX and emulate the game..... there's also another program for launching old games... (don't remember the name)
Ironclaw you may be thinking of VDMS sound.

There is also a nice GUI for DosBox called D-Fend V2, takes alot of the hassle away.
DDNI is offline  
Old 28 March 2006, 15:56   #7
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Jup, d-fend is great..... but I stopped playing old pc games on my pc long ago.
Ironclaw is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A new Alien Breed Dastardly News 34 15 October 2008 23:59
Working WinUAE config for Alien Breed and Alien Breed II takeobass support.WinUAE 2 22 July 2008 15:48
Cybercon III end game sequence? Angus Retrogaming General Discussion 14 23 March 2007 19:19
Which alien breed was the best? Mangar Retrogaming General Discussion 39 27 August 2004 21:26
A small challenge for all you startup-sequence guru's! Steve support.Games 40 23 June 2003 03:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19731 seconds with 12 queries