English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 October 2018, 11:57   #1
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Which version of KS/WB to use for 1200??

I'm a bit confused as to what to use for my 1200 with 8mb of FastRAM with all these different versions out there...

I see Kickstart 40.68, 40.72, 45.064, and now whatever the version is that comes with 3.1.4

For WB disks, we have original 3.1, Cloanto 3.1, and Hyperion 3.1.4

I was thinking just going with KS 3.X (45.064) and Cloanto 3.1, but any thoughts would be appreciated...
bitter is offline  
Old 26 October 2018, 12:04   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,133
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
From what I've heard, the second dot is for decorative and legal purposes only in 3.1.4. It's effectively 3.14 with many bug fixes.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 26 October 2018, 13:07   #3
project23
Used Register

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Liverpool
Age: 35
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
From what I've heard, the second dot is for decorative and legal purposes only in 3.1.4. It's effectively 3.14 with many bug fixes.
Wouldn't that be 3.2? Not 3.14?
project23 is offline  
Old 26 October 2018, 13:18   #4
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,133
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by project23 View Post
Wouldn't that be 3.2? Not 3.14?
Nope. 3.2 was used in the Walker prototype and never did get the bugs worked out. 3.9 had a Kickstart image but it just used RAM instead of making a new ROM.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 26 October 2018, 13:21   #5
project23
Used Register

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Liverpool
Age: 35
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
Nope. 3.2 was used in the Walker prototype and never did get the bugs worked out. 3.9 had a Kickstart image but it just used RAM instead of making a new ROM.

Crazy... So strictly speaking would it not be 3.3?

I know i'm being a pedant here, just curious
project23 is offline  
Old 26 October 2018, 13:27   #6
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,133
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by project23 View Post
Crazy... So strictly speaking would it not be 3.3?

I know i'm being a pedant here, just curious
Nope. It's better than Kickstart 3.9 whose image could have been put in ROM but wasn't.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 26 October 2018, 13:41   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,500
It's an updated version of 3.1 that includes bugfixes and some 3.9 features reimplemented. That's why it was given a minor release number bump of 3.1.4. While some if the new features are taken from 3.9 (and improved/bugfixed etc.), there are still many features of 3.9 that 3.1.4 doesn't include. Having said that, with the changes that the end product does implement, it would warrant a bump to 3.2, had that not already existed. But the intention was always to be primarily a bugfixed version of 3.1.

Minor updates of a release number has a precedent in the Amiga world. Workbench 1.3 had a couple of different releases - one of my copies is labelled 1.3.3, and 1.3.2 is pretty common too, and 2.04 and 2.05 are minor variations of 2.0 (without the dots), both superseded by 2.1. Unofficially, the updated versions of 3.5 and 3.9 are commonly referred to with the second dot pattern that 1.3 used: 3.9.2 is shorthand for 3.9 with BoingBag 2 installed.

Also, bear in mind that, until 3.1.4 physical ROMs are released (which should be soon), the standard method of using 3.1.4 also involves using RAM to load the new modules, just like 3.9. Besides, running ROM modules from fast RAM will be quicker than using them directly from the ROM, which is why MapROM is such a common feature on accelerators.
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 Commodore vs Escom version. mange_lars support.Hardware 22 06 March 2016 01:25
WTB: Amiga 500 or 1200 US version mrfixx MarketPlace 5 18 October 2014 17:57
A500/600/1200 Ice cream PSU (Lighter version) Paul_s MarketPlace 0 26 October 2007 21:03
Old version number? [GameBase version vs. GBA version + misc. questions] wanderer project.MAGE 5 23 August 2007 01:51
day of the tentacle full french version for vanilla 1200 pbareges support.Games 18 24 July 2006 14:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07992 seconds with 13 queries