English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 May 2018, 14:29   #201
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 50
I'll do some tests with preinstalled WHD-Slaves for OCS/ECS Demos.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 24 May 2018, 22:05   #202
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 50
Just tested ARTE demo and it works! that's great!
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 22:17   #203
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
6MB RAM you could softkick for whdload, well, barely, if the game is really big.
jotd is offline  
Old 27 May 2018, 13:34   #204
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
I just tested Wiz'N'Liz on JST 6.1 and winuae and it works. Where does it crash?

BTW fixed 2 serious bugs, now Slamtilt & Bloodwych run. I made myself a "slave wrapper" to record in/out values of JST/WHDLoad calls & compare. that'll help!
jotd is offline  
Old 27 May 2018, 16:21   #205
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 50
Odysee-Demo is to big to load with JST, can I do something?
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 27 May 2018, 20:06   #206
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
Yes, you could use HDLOAD tooltype. If the demo is made of diskfiles, that could work.
jotd is offline  
Old 28 May 2018, 02:42   #207
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
mmu=laxist: jst. whdload:mmu=none

@dr.zeissler: you should use whdload slaves. They are updated for controls, fixes, features... JST slaves aren't updated anymore (I don't even have the means to build them anymore personally)
Hi jotd,
i remembered to have a big boost with mmu=laxist but not with mmu=none (whdload) ??? A reason ?? Or is it my bad memory ???
turrican3 is offline  
Old 28 May 2018, 08:19   #208
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
I'm really not sure about this MMU crap. MMU is still a mystery (to me, because I never really got into it).
jotd is offline  
Old 04 June 2018, 20:17   #209
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 67
Sorry for the slow reply life got in the way

Quote:
I just tested Wiz'N'Liz on JST 6.1 and winuae and it works. Where does it crash?
Hmmm... odd. I'll retest it tonight. It was crashing pretty much immediately.

Was that with Kickstart 1.3?
Was that with the OCS chipset? (but with 1MB chip ram)
matburton is offline  
Old 04 June 2018, 21:46   #210
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
if the games use to run with OCS+1MB chipmem, they'll run with JST. Kickstart 1.3 is supported by JST for users who cannot/don't want to softkick on their old A2000 or A500 HD
jotd is offline  
Old 05 June 2018, 19:19   #211
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 67
Wiz 'n' Liz only required 0.5MB chip and 0.5MB fast.

I assumed that to be safe JST would need 1MB of chip for most games given that Workbench is still in memory in the background?

Sorry I meant to re-test last night but dozed off will re-test tonight!
matburton is offline  
Old 05 June 2018, 21:08   #212
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 67
So here's a capture of Wiz 'n' Liz with 6.0 compared to 6.1



6.0 plays the game fine, 6.1 crashes in odd ways before even the logo is shown

Anything more useful I can provide? Save states, disk dumps etc?
matburton is offline  
Old 05 June 2018, 22:27   #213
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
JST is able to perform a "no return" if there isn't enough mem available. Or did I remove the "feature" ? I dunno.

Wiz'n'Liz works for me on 6.1... and JST isn't good at catching exceptions (lots of features have been broken / removed through the years, so I don't know)
jotd is offline  
Old 17 June 2018, 20:46   #214
Kickstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Berlin
Posts: 3
Hello great project.
Give it a Launcher like Igame or tiny launcher for Workbench 1.3 to start the JST games?
Kickstar is offline  
Old 17 June 2018, 21:03   #215
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
I'm not going to write a 1.3-compliant launcher, that's for sure. If you have room for the launcher, maybe you have room for softkicking?
jotd is offline  
Old 17 June 2018, 23:26   #216
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 67
Hey Kickstar,

Although I think jotd has mentioned that launching JST from workbench rather than the CLI is somewhat unrelaible at the moment I've found it to work the same as the CLI in all cases I've tried.

Hence if you just want some icons to avoid using the CLI then you could create some Project .info files, with your choice of icon(s), and assign JST as the default tool. The options that JST supports work in the same way as WHDLoad, using the tool types in the .info file.

It's certainly the way I've been launch my games and demos using JST

Shout if you want any further help.

If you do have any problems launching JST from workbench then IconJ or CLICon are both viable work-arounds and work under 1.3
matburton is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 21:33   #217
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
... and the CLI launch doesn't seem too great either. But I was unable to reproduce the slave filename truncation issue, or I'm unable to figure out why it would happen in the code.
jotd is offline  
Old 18 June 2018, 23:18   #218
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 67
Quote:
... and the CLI launch doesn't seem too great either. But I was unable to reproduce the slave filename truncation issue
In fairness I found it very tricky to reproduce after I first encountered it so it's still pretty darn great

Is there any way I can zip-up and send you a complete WinUAE save state in a reproduction state later this week jotd?
Or is that realistically not going to help find the root cause of this particular problem?
matburton is offline  
Old 19 June 2018, 00:26   #219
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
savestate will do: I can use memory watches to find which part is clobbering the file name. You can zone it.
jotd is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 02:54   #220
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 67
Hey jotd,

I've uploaded a file called
jst-6.1-file-name-truncation.zip
to The Zone!

You'll need to do the following:
  1. Put a file called
    kickstart.rom
    in
    Kickstarts
    , which should be a kickstart 1.3 ROM
  2. Extract a copy of Workbench 1.3 to
    Drives/Workbench1.3
  3. Run
    winuae.exe
    (I included the version I'm using)
  4. Load the
    File-name-truncation.uss
    save state
I also included a
Wiz-n-Liz.uss
so you check see it load the game under 6.0
But if you change the command line to 6.1 you can instead watch it crash

Hope I didn't break any rules for The Zone!
matburton is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JST 1.4 for KS 1.3 Gaula92 request.Apps 6 26 February 2013 07:58
JST Kickstart 1.3 Josh request.Apps 5 17 February 2012 22:33
A1200 Kickstart 3.1 - Light gray screen before Kickstart Sallinen support.Hardware 7 21 November 2008 22:22
Mercs Jst The Master project.WHDLoad 9 05 June 2006 22:00
JST problems someamigauser support.Apps 1 04 October 2002 08:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09844 seconds with 16 queries