English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 January 2019, 13:09   #1
PeteAUFC
 
Posts: n/a
A1200 floppy drive issue

Hi all,

New member and first post - hoping for a wee bit of help/advice.

I've got an A1200 which I've been piecing together/adding to and have it all working with an ACA1221 accelerator, CF card and classic work bench, which is all great.

The floppy drive had been a bit erratic, but was being recognised when I put a disk in and didn't show anything on the work bench screen when there was no disk in the floppy drive.

Last night, I disconnected the floppy drive and gave it a good clean with cotton buds (badly needed, was very dusty/hairy!). When I reconnected the drive, disks are not being recognised and there is always a floppy icon on the work bench, labelled "DF0:????". I have checked that the cables are in correct, so it is not this, but did notice that one of the pins on the motherboard connector seemed to be missing. I didn't notice before, but assume that this has always been the case as there is no sign of the missing pin and I don't think I broke this last night.

I have also tried completely removing the floppy drive and cables and rebooting, but the same floppy icon with "DF0:????" is now always being displayed, even though there is not drive connected at all.

Does anyone have any suggestions/advice for getting the floppy back in action, or at least removing "DF0:????" from the desktop.

Any ideas would be great!
 
Old 18 January 2019, 14:17   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,669
Pin 3 is supposed to be missing from the motherboard connector.

Try to reconnect the floppy cables, make sure that you don't miss a row of pins on either end.
Jope is offline  
Old 18 January 2019, 15:49   #3
PeteAUFC
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks, I assumed that 1 of the pins was supposed to be missing and it was pin 3. I'll try carefully reconnecting again later, but pretty sure it was on correctly. Would you expect to see "DF0:????" on workbench when no cable is connect to the fdd pins at all?
 
Old 18 January 2019, 16:22   #4
Vypr
Registered User

Vypr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride, Scotland
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteAUFC View Post
Thanks, I assumed that 1 of the pins was supposed to be missing and it was pin 3. I'll try carefully reconnecting again later, but pretty sure it was on correctly. Would you expect to see "DF0:????" on workbench when no cable is connect to the fdd pins at all?
This is normal, I see this on my A1200 when I boot from hard drive and no disk drive plugged in. If your drive is dead I have a couple of spares kicking around you're welcome to have.
Vypr is offline  
Old 18 January 2019, 16:56   #5
darefail
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ελλάς
Age: 40
Posts: 93
I think i had the DF0:???? message two times.
As jope said above, i missed a row of pins and believe me, it is possible to be 100% sure that you connected it right but it is not!
The second time was when i didn't connect the pin 1 of motherboard to pin 1 on the floppy. I think in this case the floppy drive led light also is always on.
darefail is offline  
Old 20 January 2019, 17:38   #6
PeteAUFC
 
Posts: n/a
Hi all, thanks for all of your advice. I've re-installed the drive, being particularly careful with the cable and it's working again. I obviously had missed a row of pins, despite being so sure that I hadn't.

My next problem with the floppy drive now is that when I have installed it and screwed the case shut again, I am unable to insert/remove a floppy disk correctly as it doesn't seem to be lining up correctly with the slot in the case. I've also remembered that this was the main issue that I was having with the FDD when I last used the A1200 a couple of years ago. I've ensured that the shielding for the motherboard is all installed correctly and I've tried everything to get it lined up correctly, but there doesn't seem to be space to get it any lower down, which seems to be required to line it up correctly.

I'm now wondering if the floppy drive that I have is indeed meant for an A1200 - it's a Mitsumi. Vypr - would you be able to send me a pic of your spare A1200 floppy drives to let me check if they are the same as the one I have?!

Does anyone have any other suggestions about what I could try to get the drive that I have properly installed?!
 
Old 20 January 2019, 22:43   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,743
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Thats also normal, you have tightened the screws up to tight. This will cause the issue your having.



Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteAUFC View Post
Hi all, thanks for all of your advice. I've re-installed the drive, being particularly careful with the cable and it's working again. I obviously had missed a row of pins, despite being so sure that I hadn't.

My next problem with the floppy drive now is that when I have installed it and screwed the case shut again, I am unable to insert/remove a floppy disk correctly as it doesn't seem to be lining up correctly with the slot in the case. I've also remembered that this was the main issue that I was having with the FDD when I last used the A1200 a couple of years ago. I've ensured that the shielding for the motherboard is all installed correctly and I've tried everything to get it lined up correctly, but there doesn't seem to be space to get it any lower down, which seems to be required to line it up correctly.

I'm now wondering if the floppy drive that I have is indeed meant for an A1200 - it's a Mitsumi. Vypr - would you be able to send me a pic of your spare A1200 floppy drives to let me check if they are the same as the one I have?!

Does anyone have any other suggestions about what I could try to get the drive that I have properly installed?!
FOL is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 drive floppy drive just gone bad? rarr support.Hardware 10 09 January 2019 10:43
Amiga 1200 floppy disk drive weird issue vash999 support.Hardware 1 26 October 2018 16:22
A500 issue - floppy drive dims monitor kirk_m support.Hardware 1 12 April 2018 16:15
Floppy drive issue Lorfarius support.Hardware 19 15 March 2015 14:03
Understanding New Old Stock A1200 floppy issue rlcarr New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 19 April 2008 16:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06595 seconds with 15 queries