English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Contest

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 December 2018, 19:26   #421
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,908
For crying out loud.

Slap me with a kipper and call me dopey.

Thanks D.

Edit. I know this disk is for a hardware test but... using WinUAE.

It works O.K with ks3.0 but, using ks3.1 it crashes with garbled sprite sheets every time I attempt to move right.
Can anyone tell me whitch button you use to jump? Oh and pressing LMB quits back to the dos screen. Is it supposed to do that ?

Last edited by Arnie; 22 December 2018 at 19:49. Reason: Added extra info
Arnie is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 19:58   #422
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
For crying out loud.

Slap me with a kipper and call me dopey.

Thanks D.

Edit. I know this disk is for a hardware test but... using WinUAE.

It works O.K with ks3.0 but, using ks3.1 it crashes with garbled sprite sheets every time I attempt to move right.
Can anyone tell me whitch button you use to jump? Oh and pressing LMB quits back to the dos screen. Is it supposed to do that ?
Works fine with my KS3.1 rom... in fact, that it what I use to develop it.
Please don't expect too much from the disk images, I'm amazed it even worked with very little effort on my real A1200.
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 22 December 2018, 20:01   #423
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,908
No problem.
It's a really great effort on your part.
Can't wait to play the finished version.
Arnie is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 20:03   #424
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Edit. I know this disk is for a hardware test but... using WinUAE.

It works O.K with ks3.0 but, using ks3.1 it crashes with garbled sprite sheets every time I attempt to move right.
I've seen this happen in WinUAE also if using a Quickstart A1200 and a KS ROM v3.1 (A1200)...

...not sure why, but to get it working without issue change "Chipset Extra" from "A1200" to "Generic":



Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Can anyone tell me whitch button you use to jump?
For "Port 2", are you using "Keyboard Layout B"?

If so, then jump is the 2nd fire button i.e. <Right Shift>

Last edited by DamienD; 22 December 2018 at 20:16.
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 20:17   #425
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
By the way... there's another disk image coming in the next hour..

You'll be able to see levels 1-5 with it.

And then that's it until after xmas...
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 22 December 2018, 20:22   #426
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,925
Awesome
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 20:52   #427
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Here we are... the loader is pretty much done - massive thanks to @ross as I used his Ocean Loader.

Having the loader means I can load levels from the floppy after each round. When Rygar reaches the temple scene the next map and background are loaded from disk.

A real weight off my mind that, can't thank Ross enough...so guys give your thanks to him also.

http://109.228.4.199/rygar_aga22122018.adf

Please note, I know there are bugs... it's just part of the development process... generally I video them.

Going to watch the boxing now and enjoy xmas... next update probs in the new year when we'll have some enemies to kill.

Geezer
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 23 December 2018, 00:03   #428
zzbylu
Saberman

zzbylu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kielce/Poland
Posts: 119
Gameplay of the new demo:
[ Show youtube player ]
zzbylu is offline  
Old 23 December 2018, 00:58   #429
spud
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 256
I'm not that familiar with the original arcade but I have to say this looks absolutely phenomenal so far.
spud is offline  
Old 23 December 2018, 12:22   #430
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,472
It's an honor to help for this wonderful project
ross is offline  
Old 23 December 2018, 23:06   #431
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,602
Nice progress here. Looks really good! Now I'm waiting for the famous Ocean Loader Tune!

I did a quick check of the latest ADF in WinUAE, but probably I don't have correct configuration (I used a A1200/Blizzard1260/128MB config). Sound is missing and Rygar always freezes shortly before the first tree.

BTW, is joystick-up used in the game? If not, can we please get it for jumping? It would make the game much more controllable, like in classic Amiga games.
phx is offline  
Old 23 December 2018, 23:48   #432
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
Nice progress here. Looks really good! Now I'm waiting for the famous Ocean Loader Tune!

I did a quick check of the latest ADF in WinUAE, but probably I don't have correct configuration (I used a A1200/Blizzard1260/128MB config). Sound is missing and Rygar always freezes shortly before the first tree.

BTW, is joystick-up used in the game? If not, can we please get it for jumping? It would make the game much more controllable, like in classic Amiga games.
You just need a stock a1200 config, 2mb chip ram withno add-ons.
There’s no sound in there yet and the plan is to make the buttons configurable.

The problems is how to make the player jump but also do the circular disk armor attack, it needs a fair amount of tuning.
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 24 December 2018, 07:16   #433
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 205
But the game support 2 buttons, yesterday tested on WinUAE in A1200 config and it plays very well.
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 08:55   #434
amighista
Registered User

amighista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
The problems is how to make the player jump but also do the circular disk armor attack, it needs a fair amount of tuning.
I think Rygar can easily be played with this 1 button configuration:

Up for jump

Press fire for regular attack

Press and hold fire, then Up for circular disk armor attack

Last edited by amighista; 26 December 2018 at 10:43. Reason: better control scheme for a 1 button config
amighista is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 10:57   #435
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
I'd be interested in more feedback on the two button config.

Having thought about it I'm inclined to keep it at two buttons only, anything else will detract the game play... but I'm open to be convinced to make it configurable.
mcgeezer is online now  
Old 24 December 2018, 11:51   #436
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 746
True, many games has messed gameplay by making it to 1 button joys. One of worst cases is Ninja Gaiden II - completely unplayable due stupid steering.

Bad think about Amiga games was that most games are "forced" for 1 button joys. That's why WHDLoad team made many games for more buttons, and in most cases it makes games more playable.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 11:55   #437
jeff b00toNic
Registered User

jeff b00toNic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arnsberg Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 148
I'd keep the two button config!

Essential if you want arcade gameplay.

Look at other conversions like Bad Dudes, almost unplayable!

Last edited by jeff b00toNic; 24 December 2018 at 12:55.
jeff b00toNic is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 12:18   #438
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
I'd be interested in more feedback on the two button config.

Having thought about it I'm inclined to keep it at two buttons only, anything else will detract the game play... but I'm open to be convinced to make it configurable.
You definitely need to keep this as a 2 button game; not 1 button.
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 13:32   #439
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,900
Two Button is the original game play. So, it has to stay. I can't stand JoyUp for 99% of all games anymore. I use it only for games which needs accurate and fast diagonals, e.g. Sensible Soccer.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 24 December 2018, 15:12   #440
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,453
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Thumbs up

i posted some link on your Youtube channel Rygar Audio Test , maybe for helping with sounds/sfx :

All the Rygar SFX from the Mame roms/Arcade and self cuted/converted to 8bits 11Khz Amiga SVX : https://goo.gl/YM9MxG and another Good .mod with good samples : http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...ostcount=1173?

Rygar Arcade music in wav format : https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bz...WpHeVkzeW84N0k


Last edited by Foul; 24 December 2018 at 15:26.
Foul is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entry: Rygar AGA Edition mcgeezer Coders. Entries 75 28 February 2019 20:41
On the Ball - World Cup Edition AGA djcasey request.Old Rare Games 4 25 January 2013 12:39
On The Ball League Edition AGA , Player Manager 2 StarEye Games images which need to be WHDified 11 22 January 2010 18:21
The Vague #1 AGA-RTG edition is released ! kas1e Amiga scene 12 30 October 2007 00:27
On The Ball: World Cup Edition AGA CodyJarrett request.Old Rare Games 11 27 May 2003 06:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12385 seconds with 14 queries