English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 April 2015, 21:57   #1
defcon8
 
Posts: n/a
Got new amiga, some questions about coding

Hi all :-)

I just got this new Amiga. It's a A1200 in towercase with:

- Blizard 1230 (50 Mhz) with co-proc. / 32 MB
- Mediator LT4
- Creative Banshee 3D
- Soundblaster 128
- Spider USB
- Compact Flash 2 IDE
- WB3.9

I've never worked with this mediator shizzle. Basicaly i want to program 68k ASM application (mostly demos) for OCS, ECS and AGA with ASMPRO.

Is there anybody here who is doing this kind of work with this kind of machine? I already found out, i probably need to buy a scandoubler or indivision solution to get the original video output. But will it work? Can i run ASM-Pro on my VGA display adapter.. and poke the hardware register of the AGA port?

Thanks!

 
Old 05 April 2015, 22:11   #2
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 202
[ Show youtube player ]

This is part one of a many part youtube series which shows you how to make demos using asm-one on the amiga.
zerohour1974 is offline  
Old 06 April 2015, 08:37   #3
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,305
@defcon8

You can run the development software using the Mediator, and benefit from improved resolution etc., but as you have probably figured out the demos won't be displayed that way. Some actual Amiga graphics cards have a pass-through for the native video signal, but I don't believe it is possible with any Mediator type setup (I'm not an expert with those, however).

You can access the native video output simply by plugging the Amiga in to a TV using a SCART cable (with a DB23 at the other end, Amiga shops will have these). This is the simplest and cheapest option at least here in Europe where SCART-enabled displays are common. There is also a composite output on the A1200 though the image quality is significantly lower than with the RGB video.

If you definitely need VGA/DVI, you can get an Indivision scandoubler for the purpose. It is not like a graphics card connected to the Mediator, it just plugs directly onto the motherboard and needs no drivers (for basic operation, anyway). Be sure to check that it physically fits in together with the Mediator!
ajk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Coding: where to begin? Mr Softy Coders. General 27 01 March 2017 11:32
Any of you Coding on Amiga? Amiga Forever Coders. General 42 31 January 2012 02:58
Interested in coding on the amiga. Gandalf Coders. General 7 16 August 2011 10:30
Amiga Coding WIKI Spellcoder Coders. General 9 22 November 2007 23:09
aga coding newbe questions. kas1e Coders. General 0 20 May 2006 13:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06022 seconds with 15 queries