English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 September 2017, 09:27   #1941
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,621
Hi AMIGASYSTEM,

don't know what you want to show me in your video clip?

Of course, NewIcons, OS 3.5, OS4 and PNG icons won't need any pens on a TrueColor screen. They are directly drawn into the graphic card memory with WritePixelArray(). Only the old-style planar icons (like MWB) are using the 256 pens of the screen palette and maybe some of the GUI elements of your theme.

Just tested: AfA_OS indeed ignores the Workbench setting: "No color icons" !

Last edited by PeterK; 01 September 2017 at 09:45.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 September 2017, 11:54   #1942
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Btw, why didn't you tell PunkyClown at Amiga.org that he could fix wrong MWB colors with FixMWB? I don't have an account there. Converting MWB icons with ProcessIcon into the OS 3.5 format just wastes memory and makes loading them much slower.
I had no idea about FixMWB, really, I just said how I solved "the problem". Must say I haven't noticed any slow-down or memory drain using colour icons instead of old-school MWB, but of course you know this much better than I do. I will check it out next time I pull out the Minimig

Last edited by kolla; 01 September 2017 at 12:52.
kolla is offline  
Old 01 September 2017, 23:05   #1943
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
don't know what you want to show me in your video clip?
Sorry I probably do not understand my English, you've seen the whole video?
AFA OS System do not use "Workbench.prefs" dedicated Theme to MagicWB"

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 16 September 2017 at 01:31.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 September 2017, 00:19   #1944
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,621
I really like Italian icecream (gelati) since I've been in Scacchi at the Adriatic Sea in 1965 and also Italian Pizza since it was brought to Germany later, but I still don't understand much of the Italian language or Italian English yet.
PeterK is offline  
Old 02 September 2017, 00:27   #1945
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
My English is Google Translator

My Town and low Adriatic
[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 September 2017, 00:48   #1946
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,621
Not bad !!

Seems that Brindisi has developed a lot since I've been there with my school friend in May 1981 during an Interrail tour through Europe. Unfortunatly, we did not see much of Brindisi because we were only checking all the ticket argencies to get the cheapest ticket for the next ferry to Patras in Greece as soon as possible. We did no sightseeing in Brindisi, although it looks nice in your video clip.

A selfie from 1965 in Scacchi:
Attached Images
 

Last edited by PeterK; 02 September 2017 at 01:04.
PeterK is offline  
Old 02 September 2017, 01:34   #1947
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
I was born in 1954, Brindisi now is more beautiful
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 September 2017, 01:58   #1948
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,430
@PeterK
Do you know if the bugs fixed by PatchWB http://m68k.aminet.net/package/util/boot/PatchWB are included in latest patch for workbench.library 45.132 + IPrefs 45.13?
Because I still have (rare) random WB hangs when reopening WB screen in my WB3.9...
hexaae is offline  
Old 03 September 2017, 02:41   #1949
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,621
Hello hexaae,

no, I've never tested PatchWB under WB 3.5+ yet. Isn't it restricted to WB 3.0/3.1?

But you could try this delay before LoadWB is executed:
Code:
Run >NIL: Wait 3 +
          LoadWB
PeterK is offline  
Old 03 September 2017, 02:52   #1950
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Hello hexaae,

no, I've never tested PatchWB under WB 3.5+ yet. Isn't it restricted to WB 3.0/3.1?

But you could try this delay before LoadWB is executed:
Code:
Run >NIL: Wait 3 +
          LoadWB
No problem with LoadWB, but some WB games close WB screen (e.g. UFO, XTR - XTreme Racing, Ambermoon....) and sometimes WB screen hangs with pointer in the middle of the grey screen with no icons or background loaded... which behaves exactly like the well known old bug with OpenWB()
This should have been fixed by newer Iprefs and workbench.library though.
But maybe is just some of these games that corrupt something. Will find WHDLoad replacements
hexaae is offline  
Old 03 September 2017, 02:58   #1951
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,621
Sorry, but I don't have any experience with WHDLoad, since i don't like to play any games.

(Never use FastIPrefs under OS 3.5+)
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 15:45   #1952
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
Peter, your work on the icon library is outstanding; congratulations.

Although I would like to share my experience (including any problems that occured with the latest version). Actually there is only one problem which appears in random states after rebooting, and this has to do with color mapping.

For example when my A4000D/060 boots to Workbench, everything is fine, but after a second or two, all colors are messed up, like green background on the workbench, totally incorrect colors in menus, icons and so on. Those colors seem to change as well when I try to click somewhere (like opening a drawer, or a file).

Even ResetWB doesn't do anything. So, I wanted to ask, this behaviour has to do with the icon library? I'm just asking because I want to narrow down the problem, but I guess that another updated library can cause this issue?

Currently I'm using the latest workbench.library as well if that can be of help. Also, that problem is occured more often when I run ToolManager (instead of AmiDock) which uses brushes as icons.

I will try to grab some screenshots tonight if those can be of great help. Also, if you need any other information about my system, glad to share it.
Phantom is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 16:04   #1953
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
For example when my A4000D/060 boots to Workbench, everything is fine, but after a second or two, all colors are messed up, like green background on the workbench, totally incorrect colors in menus, icons and so on. Those colors seem to change as well when I try to click somewhere (like opening a drawer, or a file).
Are you using Fullpalette and locking the pens? Sounds to me like you might not.
Akira is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 16:11   #1954
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
Hi Akira, thanks for your reply. Actually I used to have FullPalette installed (because of VisualPrefs), but when I deleted VisualPrefs I thought to delete FullPalette as well; not a wise move I guess.
Phantom is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 16:31   #1955
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,621
Hello Phantom,

what is your OS version (3.1 or 3.5/3.9) ?
which intuition-, graphics- and workbench.library are exactly in use?
what is your screenmode?
are FBlit, FastIPrefs or FPPrefs in use ?
are these wrong colors only appearing after a manual reboot (not after the first system start) ?
Please post your startup-sequence, user-startup and what is in WBStartup?

It sounds like a graphics.library problem with the pen allocation and color settings (ColorMap and PalExtra structures).
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 16:49   #1956
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
Hi Peter, I'm running AmigaOS 3.9. My screenmode is 1280x1024x8. No FBlit, FastIPrefs or FPPrefs in use, about the libraries will tell you tonight after I get home; need to check the versions and dates exactly.

Those wrong colors are appearing surely after a manual reboot (but sometimes everything is fine, so it's completely random I guess?). Need to check tonight from a cold boot.

Last edited by Phantom; 07 September 2017 at 16:52. Reason: Typo.
Phantom is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 17:21   #1957
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,621
1280x1024x8 seems to be a graphics card.
Which monitor driver? And P96 or CGX4?
Why an 8-bit screenmode and not HiColor or TrueColor?
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 17:39   #1958
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
Yes, PicassoIV with Picasso96 mode.

8-bit screenmode, because although I managed to create HiColor or TrueColor modes at 53Hz, when you switch screens the redraw is very slow (I dunno why). Also if you load up a picture file with Multiview or MysticView (that's what I use for pics), and you move the window on a new position, the redraw again is quite slow. So I guess that's the maximum of the PIV or something else?

Yesterday I installed the latest layers.library (found on BoingBangs 3&4, of course disabled the specific layers library in LIBS: Picasso96 drawer) and I saw a better response, but again it's slow compared to 8bit mode which is ultra fast.
Phantom is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 17:57   #1959
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,621
The latest layers.library from Thomas Richter should be ok, although I once noticed some problems in conjunction with a particular RTG.library version, but that was not concerning colors, of course.

I won't recommend to use any replacement for the intuition.library.
Replacements of the graphics.library may work or not. I never use them.
Workbench.library 45.137 from BB4 works for me ATM, but sometimes it needs more than a year to find hidden bugs like in older WB replacements.
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 September 2017, 18:07   #1960
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
Should I try with FullPalette prefs found in your latest archive first?
Phantom is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14114 seconds with 14 queries