English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.SPS (was CAPS)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2003, 10:03   #1
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 50
Posts: 1,549
GODDAM IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Killing Game show just chewed through the 9MB of ram in my A500.
whiteb is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 12:21   #2
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,930
Was Killing Game Show an addon?

Anyway, it is probably because the game has lots of unformatted tracks. Nothing we can do about that unfortunately!

Just leave that one...
fiath is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 13:15   #3
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,141
whiteb, i have this. And im CAPS'ing my Amiga games this week.
Antiriad is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 14:34   #4
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 48
Posts: 1,838
Antiriad: remember the test dump process first. Can save a lot of time
IFW is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 17:37   #5
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 50
Posts: 1,549
Quote:
Originally posted by Antiriad
whiteb, i have this. And im CAPS'ing my Amiga games this week.
Tis done...

6.3MB Zipped. And thats just images for IPF'ing.

Disk 1 is 3.9MB
Disk 2 is 5.7MB.

I realised what i was doing... Archiving in ramdisk... hence running out of memory fast.
Archive to HDD worked a treat.
Uploading as I type this.
whiteb is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 17:42   #6
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 50
Posts: 1,549
Quote:
Originally posted by fiath
Was Killing Game Show an addon?

Anyway, it is probably because the game has lots of unformatted tracks. Nothing we can do about that unfortunately!

Just leave that one...
Killing Game Show was a game in its own right, by Psygnosis.
I always thought of it as a platform game featuring ED209 from Robocop. The intro sequence makes it sure look like ED209.
whiteb is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 17:55   #7
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 1,930
Thanks for that...

But the reason I asked if it was an addon is that you originall posted to the "Addon" thread for current releases...

I was being sarcastic
fiath is offline  
Old 17 February 2014, 04:21   #8
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 211
It's been some time since whiteb offered his dumps, but The Killing Gameshow still isn't listed by the SPS. What went wrong? Were the images faulty or altered in any way?
pintcat is offline  
Old 17 February 2014, 04:54   #9
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
From what i gather they were never worked on by SPS due to the track structure so there aren't any "official" dumps out there
kipper2k is offline  
Old 17 February 2014, 22:53   #10
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,184
They can be added to the SPS Analyser but no one has due to the amount of work for so few titles, it may happen one day, but not today!

There's an unofficial IPF in The Zone uploaded by Retroplay if you're interested!
BarryB is online now  
Old 18 February 2014, 08:34   #11
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 44
Posts: 1,374
We do have good dumps, but yes, adding "official" support means having correct transport layers. If you know how, you can even stuff raw data in an IPF. It just does not serve its purpose then. It's not interchangeable anymore, and it's not preserved (in regard to checks for authenticity and integrity). Even the very first IPFs done over a decade ago write back perfectly, even though writing has not been available until 2012.

It's like the mostly analogue track for the original Dungeon Master. This needs a separate transport layer for a single track and one game only. Can this be faked digitally? Yes. Will we do it? No. Why.. Psygnosis version 3.6 can be used.

One day, these few candidates will be fully supported...
mr.vince is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 12:41   #12
Steve
Corona Virus is Fake News
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
It's like the mostly analogue track for the original Dungeon Master. This needs a separate transport layer for a single track and one game only. Can this be faked digitally? Yes. Will we do it? No. Why.. Psygnosis version 3.6 can be used.

One day, these few candidates will be fully supported...
I dumped my copy of DM probably 10 years ago. So 'one day' seems like a long way away.
Steve is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 13:02   #13
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the unofficial IPF made by Kaffer writes back perfectly on fresh disk, and works perfectly.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 13:06   #14
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
the unofficial IPF made by Kaffer writes back perfectly on fresh disk, and works perfectly.
Yep, although i think like most IPF's, it will fail on some floppies, If you have a good calibrated floppy to write the image then you will be more successful. The first floppy drive i used for Kryoflux was "iffy" so trial and error is the order of the day
kipper2k is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 13:13   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
using excellent floppies is the thing. I used my kryoflux to write the IPF back, and it works very finely. I have also tested the disk by installing them with whdload, and the rawdic imager didn't showed any errors during reading.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 13:14   #16
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 44
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
the unofficial IPF made by Kaffer writes back perfectly on fresh disk, and works perfectly.

That may very well be, but there may be issues with verification. We don't make up stories; if the transport layer would be there, we'd just use it.

As for the work involved... If anyone wants to sponsor an unpaid leave from daytime job, feel free to let us know. Otherwise things progress as someone puts his spare time into something he wants to do.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 13:17   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
if the IPF content is perfect, then the only failure can only be the floppies. This must be cared by the person writing back to disk.

btw, Kaffer told me that each track has checksums. So there is no problem either here

EDIT : all the games using the special psygnosis format have checksums on each tracks.

Last edited by dlfrsilver; 18 February 2014 at 13:24.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 15:44   #18
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 44
Posts: 1,374
Yes, but to my knowledge no replicator checksums. These checksums are afaik only accessible to the loader.

To be honest... If you have the knowledge, why don't you engineer the proper transport layers into the library? Or in other words: what's the reason behind your post? You know better, we don't? Where's the benefit?

When we have so many things to do, like eg ingesting 3,000 titles for the C64, which we recently did, it makes sense to eg reverse engineer formats that were used in 50+ titles.

PS: I did not say the IPF is perfect, no one here has checked it.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 16:51   #19
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
I'm not a coder, and you know it, i told it to you on skype

I know you have a lot of thing to do on C64, and it put a stop on all other machines.

The reason behind my post or the explanation, is that we have fully working, and rewritable non official IPF for these games using special format. And nothing else
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 February 2014, 17:05   #20
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 44
Posts: 1,374
Well if you say so, how could I object...

As I have said before, we have not checked it. Is it unmodified?
mr.vince is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Killing Game Show BippyM project.Maptapper 1 09 July 2013 12:46
Killing Game Show AlphA request.Old Rare Games 12 24 November 2006 10:50
Found: Killing Game Show bird Looking for a game name ? 3 30 May 2006 16:30
The killing Game Show. whiteb HOL data problems 2 29 November 2005 08:47
Killing Game Show Dastardly request.Old Rare Games 7 26 February 2003 23:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10469 seconds with 15 queries