English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 April 2010, 01:41   #1
caver99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ellesmere Port / UK
Posts: 117
A1200 Pcmcia

I have an A1200 with a problem, when i put my cd rom, hdd or squirral scsi in to the pcmcia slot the A1200 when turned on will sometime come on but most of the time power will turn on but leds will stay off untill i remove the pcmcia card then it will run asa normal, i know it is the a1200 as i have a part working spare board and it turns on every time with the pcmcia inserted.

Would anyone know of which components i would need to replace

Oh yeh and all the pins are straight and intact.
caver99 is offline  
Old 18 April 2010, 03:30   #2
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 54
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Sounds like a problem with the Squirrel itself. Those squirrels dye too easily. Mainly on winter (lack of enough peanuts), but you never know.

You can try with some other device in the PCMCIA port?
rkauer is offline  
Old 18 April 2010, 11:28   #3
caver99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ellesmere Port / UK
Posts: 117
Hi, the CD Rom is a Q Drive , the HArd drive is an Overdrive and i Have the Squirral which i dont know if that work anyway but the other 2 do perfectly just intermittently on this A1200, i am awaiting a replacement to arrive which is a complete system.
caver99 is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 02:52   #4
telbee
Registered User
telbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 49
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to telbee
Out on a limb here... had a similar problem with another 'not amiga' system -
Are you sure your PSU isn't faulty? If one of the rails is failing, then plugging anything in might just be enough to drag down the voltage enough to stop your board booting up.

Just a thought

T
telbee is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 pcmcia questions Paul_s support.Hardware 11 11 July 2008 02:14
A1200 PCMCIA problem tanuki support.Hardware 3 12 September 2005 12:31
This PCMCIA card ok for A1200 ? whiteb MarketPlace 2 26 October 2003 14:36
PCMCIA Smartmedia on A1200? Mojo support.Hardware 9 29 September 2003 00:31
A1200 + PCMCIA networks DeltaWolf7 support.Hardware 4 04 September 2002 04:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06018 seconds with 13 queries