English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2008, 17:20   #1
HenryCase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 125
Retrofitting Amikit or AmigaSYS to existing AmigaOS install

Thanks to some great help I received on eab (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=24745), I was able to install OS3.9 on WinUAE. What I am now looking into is whether I could apply Amikit or AmigaSYS to the existing install I have. Please note I only have an AmigaXL CD-ROM, not the standard OS3.9 CD-ROM.

So, can anyone tell me whether it is possible to apply Amikit or AmigaSYS settings/files to an existing AmigaOS install?
HenryCase is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 20:28   #2
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 51
Posts: 1,792
Keeping in mind that this comment is just off the top of my head (not checked) I have a feeling that AmigaSYS's install does recognise the AmigaXL CD-ROM.

Amikit (again if memory serves) installs using OS 3.1 floppy images, & you then upgrade the system to 3.9 from within the set up. Recognises your CD..? I suspect so, but a nose round the website prior to downloading should clinch it.

Um, Amithlon (& AmigaXL) work rather well from that particular CD.


If I'm mistaken on both of the above one doesn't need to give up hope:
Examining the installers for either 'distro' will likely reveal how to add them to a current 3.9 install...
...with luck it will be no more complicated than copying the files directly over 3.9 - some care may be needed with the contents of SYS:s & the specific CPU libs required...
...and you'll likely need to make sure your partitions are present / labeled as your chosen 'distro' expects.

Last edited by Charlie; 16 November 2008 at 21:26.
Charlie is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 21:19   #3
HenryCase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 125
@Charlie
Thanks for your reply. I had tried using AmigaSYS with the AmigaOS XL CD I have, didn't seem to like it much. I decided to just install Amikit + AmigaOS XL from scratch, rather than adding the files to my existing AmigaOS3.9 install. Posting this from iBrowse running in Amikit.
HenryCase is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 23:50   #4
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 51
Posts: 1,792
Charlie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmiKit vs ClassicWB vs AmigaSys vs... antonvaltaz New to Emulation or Amiga scene 43 03 December 2012 10:56
Help on how to install CWB39 to Existing 3.9 OS rikbliz project.ClassicWB 8 03 September 2012 10:11
Adding HD´s to Amiga Forever/Amikit/AmigaSYS Basquemactee1 support.Amiga Forever 1 29 April 2010 22:14
Amikit AmigaOS ROM Update Amigan Amiga scene 10 21 April 2008 22:30
AmigaSYS 3 Plus VS AmiKIT 1.4.0 Benchmark. Dary News 0 18 November 2007 20:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06096 seconds with 13 queries