English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 November 2014, 18:43   #21
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Your best guess would be to have an return agreement with the shop selling it, alternately carry your Amiga there to try it out. :-)
LoL, You have put a picture in my head now
I can just see the shop staff as he walks in with A1200 under one arm, psu under tother and and promptly sets it up and shoves xenonII in the drive and starts playing it
supaduper is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 08:46   #22
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,676
I have carried computers to home appliance stores in my past, when buying TVs.. :-D
Jope is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 08:48   #23
schneidas
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Athens / Greece
Posts: 37
Btw, anyone gets an output of *exactly* 50Hz on the config tool of the Indivision AGA?

All I ever get is 49.938 Hz or 50.134 or some other 5-digit figures like that.

How can I get this thing to output 50.000Hz exactly??
schneidas is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 09:10   #24
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 4,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by schneidas View Post
Btw, anyone gets an output of *exactly* 50Hz on the config tool of the Indivision AGA?

All I ever get is 49.938 Hz or 50.134 or some other 5-digit figures like that.

How can I get this thing to output 50.000Hz exactly??
It may not be possible as it will always be related to the clock frequency on the board. But monitors do not care if you output 50 Hz exactly or 50.134 Hz. What is more important is the Amiga's exact vertical frequency. It is also not exactly 50 Hz, but from a previous post from Jens the Indivision clock should be derived from the Amiga master clock, so I think it should be possible to hit exactly the same vertical clock.
demolition is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 09:40   #25
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,676
Yeps, don't aim for exactly 50Hz.. It is a bit below.
Jope is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 09:53   #26
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 629
Check my latest post here if you guys want to try out some various cfg's!

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=986485#post986485
hansel75 is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 10:09   #27
schneidas
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Athens / Greece
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
It may not be possible as it will always be related to the clock frequency on the board. But monitors do not care if you output 50 Hz exactly or 50.134 Hz. What is more important is the Amiga's exact vertical frequency. It is also not exactly 50 Hz, but from a previous post from Jens the Indivision clock should be derived from the Amiga master clock, so I think it should be possible to hit exactly the same vertical clock.
Great info, thanks!
That brings me one step closer!
How much is a PAL's Amiga exact vertikal clock that I need to match?

Last edited by schneidas; 13 November 2014 at 10:16.
schneidas is offline  
Old 01 December 2014, 00:49   #28
arkpandora
Registered User

arkpandora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Namur / Belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
When talking about games (~320x256) there isn't much difference in the image quality between a scandoubler and using SCART.
When using SCART, the signal is scan-doubled by the TV itself, so the result depends more on the TV's quality. The flat screen TV I have tested was bad at scan-doubling. And it destroyed animation on the way, as if the signal was resampled to another frequency.

I have never used an Indivision and I have no technical knowledge of the Amiga, but I have read elsewhere that it is not synchrone with the Amiga clock, which means it is unable to give perfect animation even in a 50 Hz mode. That would mean the best way to scan-double the Amiga signal without corrupting it is to use the built-in scan-doubler of the Amiga 3000 or a good Zorro scan-doubling card such as the Picasso IV. But I leave it to the specialists to confirm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by schneidas View Post
How much is a PAL's Amiga exact vertikal clock that I need to match?
I think it is 50.12 Hz.
arkpandora is offline  
Old 01 December 2014, 01:15   #29
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,900
Quote:
I think it is 50.12 Hz.
For the C64, not the Amiga.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 01 December 2014, 01:42   #30
arkpandora
Registered User

arkpandora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Namur / Belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
For the C64, not the Amiga.
Thanks for stopping my sleepwalking!
arkpandora is offline  
Old 01 December 2014, 04:07   #31
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,750
Can CRT's that support 100Hz vertical run with smooth scrolling using a Mrk2?

Anyone tried it?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 December 2014, 23:30   #32
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,750
Well I've just brought a 100Hz CRT...watch this space
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 December 2014, 23:46   #33
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Can CRT's that support 100Hz vertical run with smooth scrolling using a Mrk2?

Anyone tried it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Well I've just brought a 100Hz CRT...watch this space
prowler is offline  
Old 04 December 2014, 00:04   #34
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post

Chewing nails in nervous anticipation.
Vot is offline  
Old 04 December 2014, 00:24   #35
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,750
If you want something done etc...




It's going to be a 17" CRT vs LED 1280x1024 face off!
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 December 2014, 07:37   #36
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Can CRT's that support 100Hz vertical run with smooth scrolling using a Mrk2?

Anyone tried it?
Is it not known whether the MK2 is capable of 100/120Hz (honest question)? I know the MK1 wasn't, but the config tool would have easily allowed configuring it otherwise. (Ofc the PIV scandoubler can do it since the late 90's, but it's trial and error to get the values close enough to minimize artifacting and jerky scrolling from the synch mismatch).

100Hz on a CRT sure is easier on the eyes...
Damion is offline  
Old 04 December 2014, 08:26   #37
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damion View Post
Is it not known whether the MK2 is capable of 100/120Hz (honest question)? I know the MK1 wasn't, but the config tool would have easily allowed configuring it otherwise. (Ofc the PIV scandoubler can do it since the late 90's, but it's trial and error to get the values close enough to minimize artifacting and jerky scrolling from the synch mismatch).

100Hz on a CRT sure is easier on the eyes...
The Mrk2 hardware is capable, it just depends on if the Config Tool can support it properly. I've got the monitor, just waiting for an HDMI to VGA adapter to arrive.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 December 2014, 09:03   #38
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 262
Sweet, hopefully the tool is up to the job then. :-) (Might mean Jens sells another scandoubler :P)
Damion is offline  
Old 09 December 2014, 23:26   #39
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,750
Finally got around to playing with my new 17" CRT the other day.

After adjusting the monitor and tweaking the Config tool for a few hours I've decided to stick with my LCD.

I did get it running at 100Hz with the CRT but the picture wasn't perfect (weird banding), at 50Hz (or thereabouts) the scrolling was very good.

After tweaking the config for the LCD I managed to output at exactly 60Hz which improved the scrolling (but still not perfect), I also adjusted the vertical positioning to show as many lines as possible (some still missing!).

I noticed that some games still have some detail cut off (lines at the top/side), no matter what I did those lines were still missing

When I get the time I'll attach my new config file here.

It's a real shame that the Indy Mrk2's firmware/Config tool wasn't developed further, it's still a very good solution but with a bit more effort it could be so much better, don't even talk to me about the Graffiti modes

Last edited by NovaCoder; 18 February 2019 at 10:11.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 December 2014, 00:07   #40
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,107
OK, I am/was considering an Indy AGA MK2CR as well for my A1200. But reading here that it's not optimal for games on a modern day LCD monitor, I'm starting to doubt.

From this threat I get it you need a monitor capable of 50Hz to run games scrolling smoothly. Or that a v-sync option, which isn't there anymore, would make gaming look good as well on 60Hz?

But in the following threat about a MK2CR I see a screenshot with the option to turn on v-sync..???
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=75751


So I'm getting really confused now
spudje is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 + Indivision aga mk2cr + fastata 1200 mk-iv...plcc extension? watsonfmly support.Hardware 3 02 October 2014 19:34
Indivision 1200 AGA MK2cr Seblington support.Hardware 11 25 June 2014 11:14
Indivision 1200 AGA MK2cr to HDMI question zyonee support.Hardware 2 16 May 2014 13:43
For Sale: Indivision AGA 1200 MK2cr manic23 MarketPlace 9 13 October 2013 21:22
Indivision AGA 1200 MK2cr Question manic23 support.Hardware 2 31 May 2013 13:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09742 seconds with 15 queries