English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2020, 19:03   #1
qrdziel
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: london/uk
Posts: 1
portable.ini

I create portable.ini
Code:
# set base documents directory, where the other directories
# (configuration, controllers, etc.) will be created/used
base_dir = $EXE/documents

# set directories of media images (floppies, harddisk, cdroms, etc.)
cdroms_dir = $EXE/documents/images/cdd
floppies_dir = $EXE/documents/images/fdd
floppy_overlays_dir = $EXE/documents/images/fdd_overlays
hard_drives_dir = $EXE/documents/images/hdd
flash_memory_dir = $EXE/documents/images/flash_memory

# set Kickstarts directory
kickstarts_dir = $EXE/documents/roms
but doesn't work
qrdziel is offline  
Old 24 February 2020, 11:34   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,574
To start with, I'd like to nominate that for EAB's Most Vague Post of 2020.

Now that that's out of the way, which OS are you using and where have you placed the portable.ini?

Anything useful in the fs-uae logs?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 24 February 2020, 22:56   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,634
Also, what does not work?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 25 February 2020, 00:10   #4
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: McChord AFB, KS
Posts: 289
Code:
[application]
name = FS-UAE
version = 3.0.2
This is my portable.ini

Am I missing something?
Saghalie is offline  
Old 25 February 2020, 00:20   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,882
Considering that FS-UAE is quite heavy based on WinUAE code but then adapted for various OSs.

My WinUAE "portable.ini" looks like this:

Code:
[WinUAE]
ArtCache=1
ArtImageCount=2
ArtImageWidth=400
ConfigFile=1000 Miglia.uae
ConfigFileFolder=
ConfigFileSearch=
ConfigurationCache=0
ConfigurationPath=.\Configurations\
FloppyPath=.\Games\
GUIFullscreen=0
GUIPosX=80
GUIPosY=64
GUIResize=0
hdfPath=.\Hdf\
InputPath=.\InputRecordings\
KickstartPath=.\ROMs\
LuaPath=.\Lua\
MainPosX=283
MainPosY=84
PathMode=WinUAE
QuickStartCompatibility=1
QuickStartConfiguration=0
QuickStartMode=0
QuickStartModel=0
RecursiveROMScan=0
RelativePaths=1
RipperPath=.\Rips\
ROMCheckVersion=WinUAE 4.3.0 (2019.12.19)
SaveImageOriginalPath=0
SaveimagePath=.\SaveImages\
ScreenshotPath=.\Screenshots\
SoundDriverMask=3
StatefilePath=.\SaveStates\
Version=WinUAE 4.3.0 (2019.12.19)
VideoPath=.\Videos\

[DetectedROMs]
ROM_001=KS ROM v1.0 (A1000)(NTSC) (256k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.0 (A1000)(NTSC) (256k).rom"
ROM_002=KS ROM v1.1 (A1000)(NTSC) rev 31.34 (256k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.1 (A1000)(NTSC) rev 31.34 (256k).rom"
ROM_003=KS ROM v1.1 (A1000)(PAL) rev 31.34 (256k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.1 (A1000)(PAL) rev 31.34 (256k).rom"
ROM_004=KS ROM v1.2 (A1000) rev 33.166 (256k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.2 (A1000) rev 33.166 (256k).rom"
ROM_005=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k).rom"
ROM_006=KS ROM v1.3 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 34.5 (256k) [315093-02] / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.3 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 34.5 (256k).rom"
ROM_007=KS ROM v2.04 (A500+) rev 37.175 (512k) [390979-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v2.04 (A500+) rev 37.175 (512k).rom"
ROM_008=KS ROM v2.05 (A600) rev 37.299 (512k) [391388-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v2.05 (A600) rev 37.299 (512k).rom"
ROM_009=KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.300 (512k) [391304-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.300 (512k).rom"
ROM_010=KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.350 (512k) [391304-02] / "ROMs\KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.350 (512k).rom"
ROM_011=KS ROM v3.0 (A1200) rev 39.106 (512k) [391523-01/391524-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.0 (A1200) rev 39.106 (512k).rom"
ROM_012=KS ROM v3.0 (A4000) rev 39.106 (512k) [391513-02/391514-02] / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.0 (A4000) rev 39.106 (512k).rom"
ROM_013=KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.70 (512k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.70 (512k).rom"
ROM_014=KS ROM v3.1 (A500,A600,A2000) rev 40.63 (512k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A500,A600,A2000) rev 40.63 (512k).rom"
ROM_015=KS ROM v3.1 (A1200) rev 40.68 (512k) [391773-01/391774-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A1200) rev 40.68 (512k).rom"
ROM_016=KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k).rom"
ROM_017=KS ROM v3.1 (A4000T) rev 40.70 (512k) [391657-01/391658-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A4000T) rev 40.70 (512k).rom"
ROM_018=CD32 KS ROM v3.1 rev 40.60 (512k) / "ROMs\CD32 KS ROM v3.1 rev 40.60 (512k).rom"
ROM_019=CD32 extended ROM rev 40.60 (512k) / "ROMs\CD32 extended ROM rev 40.60 (512k).rom"
ROM_020=CDTV extended ROM v1.00 (256k) [252606-01/252607-01] / "ROMs\CDTV extended ROM v1.00 (256k).rom"
ROM_021=CDTV/A570 extended ROM v2.30 (256k) [391298-01] / "ROMs\CDTV-A570 extended ROM v2.30 (256k).rom"
ROM_022=CDTV extended ROM v2.07 (256k) / "ROMs\CDTV extended ROM v2.07 (256k).rom"
ROM_023=CD32 Full Motion Video Cartridge ROM rev 40.30 (256k) / "ROMs\CD32 Full Motion Video Cartridge ROM rev 40.30 (256k).rom"
ROM_024=A1000 bootstrap ROM (64k) [252179-01/252180-01] / "ROMs\A1000 bootstrap ROM (64k).rom"
ROM_026=Freezer: Action Replay Mk II v2.05 (128k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Action Replay Mk II v2.05 (128k).rom"
ROM_027=Freezer: Action Replay Mk II v2.12 (128k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Action Replay Mk II v2.12 (128k).rom"
ROM_028=Freezer: Action Replay Mk II v2.14 (128k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Action Replay Mk II v2.14 (128k).rom"
ROM_029=Freezer: Action Replay Mk III v3.09 (256k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Action Replay Mk III v3.09 (256k).rom"
ROM_030=Freezer: Action Replay Mk III v3.17 (256k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Action Replay Mk III v3.17 (256k).rom"
ROM_032=KS ROM v1.3 (A3000)(SK) rev 34.5 (256k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.3 (A3000)(SK) rev 34.5 (256k).rom"
ROM_033=Arcadia SportTime Table Hockey v2.1 / "ROMs\ar_airh.zip\airh"
ROM_034=Arcadia SportTime Bowling v2.1 / "ROMs\ar_bowl.zip\bowl"
ROM_035=Arcadia World Darts v2.1 / "ROMs\ar_dart.zip\dart"
ROM_036=Arcadia Magic Johnson's Fast Break v2.8 / "ROMs\ar_fast.zip\fast-v28"
ROM_037=Arcadia Leader Board Golf v2.4 / "ROMs\ar_ldrba.zip\ldra"
ROM_038=Arcadia Leader Board Golf / "ROMs\ar_ldrbb.zip\ldrbb"
ROM_039=Arcadia Ninja Mission v2.5 / "ROMs\ar_ninj.zip\ninj"
ROM_040=Arcadia Road Wars v2.3 / "ROMs\ar_rdwr.zip\rdwr"
ROM_041=Arcadia Sidewinder v2.1 / "ROMs\ar_sdwr.zip\sdwr"
ROM_042=Arcadia Spot v2.0 / "ROMs\ar_spot.zip\spotv2"
ROM_043=Arcadia Space Ranger v2.0 / "ROMs\ar_sprg.zip\sprg"
ROM_044=Arcadia Xenon v2.3 / "ROMs\ar_xeon.zip\xeon"
ROM_045=Arcadia World Trophy Soccer v3.0 / "ROMs\ar_socc.zip\socc30"
ROM_046=KS ROM v3.X (A4000)(Cloanto) rev 45.57 (512k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.X (A4000)(Cloanto) rev 45.57 (512k).rom"
ROM_047=Freezer: Action Replay 1200 (256k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Action Replay 1200 (256k).rom"
ROM_049=Arcadia OnePlay 2.11 / "ROMs\ar_bios.zip\scpa_01_v2.11"
ROM_050=Arcadia TenPlay 2.11 / "ROMs\ar_bios.zip\gcp"
ROM_051=Arcadia OnePlay 3.00 / "ROMs\ar_bios.zip\scpa_01_v3.00"
ROM_052=Freezer: Action Replay Mk I v1.00 (64k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Action Replay Mk I v1.00 (64k).rom"
ROM_053=A590/A2091 v6.0 (16k) [390389-03/390388-03] / "ROMs\A590-A2091 6.0 (16k).rom"
ROM_054=A590/A2091 v6.6 (16k) [390722-02/390721-02] / "ROMs\A590-A2091 6.6 (16k).rom"
ROM_055=A590/A2091 v7.0 (16k) [390722-03/390721-03] / "ROMs\A590-A2091 7.0 (16k).rom"
ROM_056=A590/A2091 Guru ROM v6.14 (32k) / "ROMs\A590-A2091 Guru ROM 6.14 (32k).rom"
ROM_058=A4091 v40.13 (32k) [391592-02] / "ROMs\A4091 40.13 (32k).rom"
ROM_059=KS ROM v1.4 (A3000) rev 36.16 (512k) [390629-02/390630-02] / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.4 (A3000) rev 36.16 (512k).rom"
ROM_060=Freezer: Action Cart. Super IV Pro (+ROM v4.3) (167k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Action Cart. Super IV Pro (+ROM v4.3) (167k).rom"
ROM_061=KS ROM v3.1 (A3000) rev 40.68 (512k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A3000) rev 40.68 (512k).rom"
ROM_062=:SuperIV
ROM_063=:HRTMon
ROM_064=CD32 ROM (KS + extended) rev 40.60 (1024k) [391640-03] / "ROMs\CD32 ROM (KS + extended) rev 40.60 (1024k).rom"
ROM_065=Freezer: X-Power Professional 500 v1.2 (128k) / "ROMs\Freezer - X-Power Professional 500 v1.2 (128k).rom"
ROM_066=:AROS
ROM_067=Freezer: Nordic Power v2.0 (64k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Nordic Power v2.0 (64k).rom"
ROM_068=Freezer: X-Power Professional 500 v1.3 (128k) / "ROMs\Freezer - X-Power Professional 500 v1.3 (128k).rom"
ROM_069=Freezer: Nordic Power v1.5 (64k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Nordic Power v1.5 (64k).rom"
ROM_070=Freezer: Nordic Power v3.0 (64k) / "ROMs\Freezer - Nordic Power v3.0 (64k).rom"
ROM_071=KS ROM v2.04 (A3000) rev 37.175 (512k) [390629-03/390630-03] / "ROMs\KS ROM v2.04 (A3000) rev 37.175 (512k).rom"
ROM_072=The Diagnostic 2.0 (Logica) (512k) / "ROMs\The Diagnostic 2.0 (Logica) (512k).rom"
ROM_074=CD32 Full Motion Video Cartridge ROM rev 40.22 (256k) [391777-01] / "ROMs\CD32 Full Motion Video Cartridge ROM rev 40.22 (256k).rom"
ROM_075=Arcadia TenPlay 2.20 / "ROMs\ar_bios.zip\scpa_01_v2.20"
ROM_076=Arcadia TenPlay 3.11 / "ROMs\ar_bios.zip\gcp_v11"
ROM_077=Arcadia TenPlay 4.00 / "ROMs\ar_bios.zip\gcp_v400"
ROM_078=Arcadia Blastaball v2.1 / "ROMs\ar_blast.zip\blsb-v2-1"
ROM_079=Arcadia Delta Command / "ROMs\ar_dlta.zip\dlta_v3"
ROM_080=Arcadia Pharaohs Match / "ROMs\ar_pm.zip\pm"
ROM_081=Arcadia SportTime Table Hockey / "ROMs\ar_airh2.zip\airh2"
ROM_082=Arcadia World Darts (bad) / "ROMs\ar_dart2.zip\dart2"
ROM_083=Arcadia Magic Johnson's Fast Break v2.7 / "ROMs\ar_fasta.zip\fast-v27"
ROM_084=Arcadia Ninja Mission / "ROMs\ar_ninj2.zip\ninj2"
ROM_085=Arcadia Sidewinder / "ROMs\ar_sdwr2.zip\sdwr2"
ROM_086=Arcadia Leader Board Golf v2.5 / "ROMs\ar_ldrb.zip\ldrb"
ROM_087=:NOROM
ROM_088=Arcadia Aaargh / "ROMs\ar_argh.zip\argh"
ROM_089=Blizzard 1230-IV (32k) / "ROMs\Blizzard 1230-IV (32k).rom"
ROM_090=Blizzard 1240/1260 (32k) / "ROMs\Blizzard 1240-1260 (32k).rom"
ROM_091=Picasso IV (128k) / "ROMs\Picasso IV (128k).rom"
ROM_092=Blizzard 2060 v8.5 (64k) / "ROMs\Blizzard 2060 (64k).rom"
ROM_093=Warp Engine A4000 (32k) / "ROMs\Warp Engine A4000 (32k).rom"
ROM_094=Blizzard SCSI Kit IV (32k) / "ROMs\Blizzard SCSI Kit IV (32k).rom"
ROM_107=CDTV-CR extended ROM v3.32 (256k) / "ROMs\CDTV-CR extended ROM v3.32 (256k).rom"
ROM_142=:ENABLED
I'd sort of expect something similar with FS-UAE's "portable.ini", but obviously slight adjustments for various OSs / paths.

...maybe I'm wrong though; as never used FS-UAE as I don't have the need to.
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 February 2020, 00:26   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,634
@DamienD No, FS-UAE's portable.ini does not contain UAE settings (this functionality isn't part of the shared UAE core). It mainly enables portable mode by simply being present
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 25 February 2020, 00:28   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
@DamienD No, FS-UAE's portable.ini does not contain UAE settings (this functionality isn't part of the shared UAE core). It mainly enables portable mode by simply being present
Ok cool, but surely it need to point to various paths / settings in order to make it portable?

Can you post a valid example for others in this thread to compare against?
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 February 2020, 00:31   #8
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,634
Even an empty Portable.ini file is valid The mere presence if it in the directory containing fs-uae.exe or fs-uae-launcher.exe, or any parent directory (recursively) enables portable mode with that directory as the base directory (The base directory takes the place of Documents/FS-UAE).

The (main) problem with the initial post is that there is no info about what's not working, could be anything, depends on what @qrdziel expected to happen ;-)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 25 February 2020, 00:38   #9
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: McChord AFB, KS
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok cool, but surely it need to point to various paths / settings in order to make it portable?

Can you post a valid example for others in this thread to compare against?
That's what my post was about. It's a valid portable.ini
it just makes FS-UAE operate on a portable drive.
Saghalie is offline  
Old 25 February 2020, 00:57   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,882
Noted guys, cheers for the information
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Config.fs-uae.ini pierini1 support.FS-UAE 8 24 November 2017 10:40
winuae.ini: can "ConfigFile=" be left blank or removed entirely? Foebane support.WinUAE 8 10 November 2017 20:43
winuae.ini how ???? McDuck support.WinUAE 6 26 September 2008 13:56
Emulators - Registry / .CFG / .INI NLS Retrogaming General Discussion 4 15 January 2008 11:08
Portable Amiga Frazor Amiga scene 18 07 June 2004 16:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08988 seconds with 15 queries