English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 September 2008, 22:13   #1
reanimator
Pass me a bud'
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rochester, UK
Posts: 23
picked up an Amiga 2000 at a local boot fair

for a fiver ....
but I wont complain

anyway its quite grubby and only has 1 floppy drive and a 2091 SCSI card (V6.6 ROMS) an unknown size scsi hard drive, 2meg fast ram and an official amiga to scart lead.
but no mouse or keyboard and worst of all the battery has leaked.
the serial number is 007607
I quickly fired it up and it boots into workbench but it has a keyboard prob, everytime i press a key it just keeps printing a random character over and over again.

any ideas as to why this happens (i am using an old compaq 5 pin din keyboard, this works well with my towered 1200 and my CD32 with adaptor)

as soon as I can I will post some pics

Last edited by reanimator; 30 September 2008 at 22:20.
reanimator is offline  
Old 30 September 2008, 22:31   #2
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 791
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Git!
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 01:18   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
AWESOME

Quote:
Originally Posted by reanimator View Post
for a fiver ....
but I wont complain

anyway its quite grubby and only has 1 floppy drive and a 2091 SCSI card (V6.6 ROMS) an unknown size scsi hard drive, 2meg fast ram and an official amiga to scart lead.
but no mouse or keyboard and worst of all the battery has leaked.
the serial number is 007607
I quickly fired it up and it boots into workbench but it has a keyboard prob, everytime i press a key it just keeps printing a random character over and over again.

any ideas as to why this happens (i am using an old compaq 5 pin din keyboard, this works well with my towered 1200 and my CD32 with adaptor)

as soon as I can I will post some pics
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 01:28   #4
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
The Keyboard error is because you are entering PC keyboard codes into the Amiga's keboard controller.

You need to use an original Amiga Keyboard OR a code convertor such a the Lyra external (Individual Computers) for the miggy to understand your Compaq keyboard.
Original miggy Keyboards can be expensive to pick up.

Your A1200 Tower works as the Tower keyboard adapter probably has this additional circuitry built in as part of it's function.

Oh yes......I forgot..... You Lucky Lucky git

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 01:29   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,236
How come there are never any computers at any of the boot fairs I ever go to? Just masses and masses of old movies on VHS cassette tapes and the odd MK1 B&W gameboy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorfiot View Post
The Keyboard error is because you are entering PC keyboard codes into the Amiga's keboard controller.
I would agree but how come it works with the CD32 then? Must be a mighty special CD32 adapter...
alexh is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 01:34   #6
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
How come there are never any computers at any of the boot fairs I ever go to? Just masses and masses of old movies on VHS cassette tapes and the odd MK1 B&W gameboy.

Alex, You & I go to the same Boot sales then.

Years ago It was always guaranteed to find something, even rare & interesting. I picked up a Full C64 system including 1541 for £5 in 1997
But since ebay came along everybody thinks their old A500 is wortth a fortune.

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 01:36   #7
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
How come there are never any computers at any of the boot fairs I ever go to? Just masses and masses of old movies on VHS cassette tapes and the odd MK1 B&W gameboy.


I would agree but how come it works with the CD32 then? Must be a mighty special CD32 adapter...

There were a couple of adapters on ebay a few months ago for about £15 that did the 5Pin to PS/2 conversion & included a PIC to convert the codes advertised esp for CD32.

Have you ever managed to get a PC AT keyboard to work with an A2000 without modification then ?
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 01:37   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,236
Nope... but if you are right, the cheapest solution for the A2000 is to continue to use the PC keyboard together with the CD32 dongle and buy an ultra cheap (£1) PS2 to 5-pin DIN keyboard adapter.
alexh is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 01:40   #9
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Nope... but if you are right, the cheapest solution for the A2000 is to continue to use the PC keyboard together with the CD32 dongle and buy an ultra cheap (£1) PS2 to 5-pin DIN keyboard adapter.

Overlooked the obvious yes I totally agree
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 01:52   #10
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,301
@Reanimator

I hate to state the obvious but get rid of that bluddy leaky battery and give your MB a right good cleaning

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 01 October 2008, 19:22   #11
reanimator
Pass me a bud'
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rochester, UK
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by davideo View Post
@Reanimator

I hate to state the obvious but get rid of that bluddy leaky battery and give your MB a right good cleaning

Dave G

battery has already gone
and mobo is being cleaned up
reanimator is offline  
Old 03 October 2008, 21:44   #12
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,242
I hate you.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 05 October 2008, 03:02   #13
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
What bootfair was it? (I live near you).
Eclipse is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get my 2000 to boot off of the HD tesla support.Hardware 6 15 March 2013 23:58
Just picked up Amiga 500 and bits! Need some help. trydowave support.Hardware 26 18 February 2013 22:05
amiga a2091 and gvp tekmagic - boot order issue amiga 2000 MoreBITS support.Hardware 6 05 December 2011 21:26
Amiga Revival Fair 2009 Mikey_C Amiga scene 72 16 November 2009 00:25
Something I would like to see in an Amiga fair Shatterhand Retrogaming General Discussion 32 21 July 2002 15:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07968 seconds with 13 queries