English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2008, 10:55   #1
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 318
support for atari diskimages

Thanks Toni for the "pattern"-hint.

Its really funny to play around with kicktos on the a1000.
http://www.amiga-news.de/en/news/AN-...-00067-EN.html

For some testing and debugging (winuae is a must have for debugging) it could be nice to load some atari-diskimages .

br
Andre
Ratte is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 12:14   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratte View Post
it could be nice to load some atari-diskimages .
Aren't they 99% identical to PC images? Find Atari MFM structure description (or differences between Atari and PC) and I'll think about it
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 14:26   #3
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Aren't they 99% identical to PC images? Find Atari MFM structure description (or differences between Atari and PC) and I'll think about it
This would be great!
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 16:52   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,219
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
winuae already support via extended ADF atari ST disks.

Exemple : ADI educational suites, they use an amiga boot disk, and atari ST data disk.
When imaged with RAWREAD, it generated an extended ADF that winuae can read
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 18:18   #5
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
RAWREAD who wrote that
I was suprised to download a .ST 720kb disk image from planet emu and WinUae read it both with CrossDos and ST Emu - But it wont read .ST 800kb.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 18:27   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,339
720k disk image = handled as a PC image.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2008, 23:58   #7
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,219
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
OK you just need access to the files ? Send to the zone the atari ST disk, i will do the trick !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 01:39   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
OK you just need access to the files ? Send to the zone the atari ST disk, i will do the trick !
Hi, dfrsilver,
Does this "trick" involve replacing the media byte ?
prowler is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 03:18   #9
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
Please have ago at any 800kb .ST from PlanetEmu -Try an app-But I thought the ST used standerd 720 disks so whats 800?

Rattes KICKTOS looks more stable than other ST emus -I like to test it!
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 07:57   #10
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,219
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
which disk do i have to process ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 07:58   #11
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,219
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i'm afraid you miss one point. It works for disks with standard scheme...
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 11:31   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,339
Quote:
i'm afraid you miss one point
You missed the point. This is not about rawread but built-in support for most common ST formats.

Quote:
Please have ago at any 800kb .ST from PlanetEmu -Try an app
Direct URLs or I won't care. (to image that is CONFIRMED non-corrupted)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 12:51   #13
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
Heres Word & WordPerfect
Word = 720 -Works!
WordPerfect = 800

Toni for example if WinUae loaded TOS into the original memory address for Atari would winuae be an ST?
Attached Files
File Type: zip Atari.zip (516.6 KB, 142 views)
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 13:34   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,339
Thanks, 800k (819200, 10 sectors per track) PC images supported in next beta.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 14:30   #15
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
Excellent work again
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 19:30   #16
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
about time we had native support for pc disks
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 22:51   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
about time we had native support for pc disks
About time? Standard 9/18 sector 720k/1440K pc disks have been supported for very long time.. (and nobody told about 800k images until now)

800k support in latest beta. Only test done so far: "dir pc0:" worked.

Quote:
for example if WinUae loaded TOS into the original memory address for Atari would winuae be an ST?
No, Amiga and Atari hardware is quite different, I think the only common part is 680x0
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 01:01   #18
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,219
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes the only part they have in common is the 68K.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 01:20   #19
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
And the joystick ports
killergorilla is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 09:18   #20
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,219
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
loool
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Portaudio support (was: WinUAE support for ASIO drivers) Akira support.WinUAE 57 28 March 2009 22:15
ATARI ST-E versus ATARI ST-FM ? megajetman Retrogaming General Discussion 19 18 March 2006 02:09
What makes you decide between ripped files and diskimages? MethodGit project.WHDLoad 8 02 April 2005 12:56
Atari Legend. Finally an Atari ST database similar to HOL! Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 23 04 December 2004 07:46
EBAY Amiga / Atari ST / Atari 2600 stuff Eggsplosion MarketPlace 0 09 October 2004 22:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08914 seconds with 14 queries