English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 October 2008, 18:04   #1
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 52
Posts: 4,089
Question Seperate USB Flashdisk support

The only way you can use your USB flashdisk using WinUAE is to enable "Add PC Drives at Startup", this is OK if you only have one drive, but as I have several, the Screen can get quite cluttered and it takes a while to load them all up.

To have all drives available at a novice users disposal could have disastrous results by accidental deletion or wiping your PC's HDD. I like using the flashdisk as it is safe 'n' whatever you delete can be undeleted easily. I also know you can use the windows recycle bin when deleting stuff off your emulation, but its default setting is off and a novice wouldn't always think of setting this to on.

Would this be possible it would be helpful too
DH is offline  
Old 04 October 2008, 18:08   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
The only way you can use your USB flashdisk using WinUAE is to enable "Add PC Drives at Startup"
Wrong. Tick "Automount removable devices".
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 October 2008, 18:11   #3
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 52
Posts: 4,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Wrong. Tick "Automount removable devices".
Tried it 'n' it wont show up my USB flashdrive, it's only when I tick the Add PC Drives at Startup that it's displayed

Edit: I'm using an 8Gb Sandisk Cruzer, maybe WinUAE doesn't support these sizes yet but why is it available when I tick the Add PC Drives at Startup

Last edited by DH; 04 October 2008 at 18:18.
DH is offline  
Old 04 October 2008, 18:21   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
Tried it 'n' it wont show up my USB flashdrive, it's only when I tick the Add PC Drives at Startup that it's displayed

Edit: I'm using an 8Gb Sandisk Cruzer, maybe WinUAE doesn't support these sizes yet but why is it available when I tick the Add PC Drives at Startup
Does it appear if you remove and insert it while emulation is already running? (and "automount" is ticked)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 October 2008, 18:30   #5
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 52
Posts: 4,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does it appear if you remove and insert it while emulation is already running? (and "automount" is ticked)
Yes it does, should of tried that ages ago as it stays plugged in almost all of the time, thanks Toni Wilen.

So why doesn't WinUAE mount it on startup when it's already plugged in
DH is offline  
Old 04 October 2008, 19:30   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
Yes it does, should of tried that ages ago as it stays plugged in almost all of the time, thanks Toni Wilen.

So why doesn't WinUAE mount it on startup when it's already plugged in
It is "logic error" in "automount removable drives".. It only mounts drives that are inserted (and unmounts if removed) when emulation is already running, it does not care about already mounted drives..

I could mount all already mounted removable drives if "automount" is enabled but there may be users that like current method.. (not mounting already mounted drives except if mount pc drives is enabled)

Perhaps best option is to add "include removable drives" option and not change "automount".

I'll need to think about this..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 October 2008, 21:23   #7
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 52
Posts: 4,089
OK Thanks TW, sorry it was problem rather than a wish list, If I had of known this then I would of posted this elsewhere, once again thanks for your expert advice
DH is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Support/Default Profiles for Competition Pro USB? predcon support.WinUAE 4 01 April 2011 09:44
Amiga 600 USB Support? wXR Hardware mods 4 15 March 2011 04:58
AROS updates: Themes, USB Keyboard support Ultron News 4 09 April 2007 13:08
USB Drawing tablet support. oldpx request.UAE Wishlist 3 28 July 2004 14:24
WinUAE and USB support??? nothingman New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 10 April 2003 16:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07047 seconds with 15 queries