English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2016, 23:38   #441
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
We have found a manufacturer to make the A1200 connectors!!! so the V1200 is all set!!!. (It is not in Germany)
great news, and even better news
emufan is offline  
Old 05 November 2016, 23:56   #442
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 587
take my money for the A1200 version already!
-Acid- is offline  
Old 09 November 2016, 21:11   #443
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
This little bit of news below probably deserves its own thread but here it is anyway.

We have found a manufacturer to make the A1200 connectors!!! so the V1200 is all set!!!. (It is not in Germany)


More details later
@kipper2k The manufacturer you found, would it be a remote possibility to have them manufacture CD32 connectors in the future?
Are they the kind if company that will accept orders of small batches?

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 11 November 2016, 01:29   #444
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 376
anyone experiencing low speed disk writes to the sagasd.device? I'm getting less than 40k/s when the IDE cf flies. I never made any settings to the CF and it just goes this fast, but maybe with the vampire some are required?
KONEY is offline  
Old 11 November 2016, 02:33   #445
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
@kipper2k The manufacturer you found, would it be a remote possibility to have them manufacture CD32 connectors in the future?
Are they the kind if company that will accept orders of small batches?

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
No need, i can get those connectors here in Canada
kipper2k is offline  
Old 11 November 2016, 10:50   #446
HelloBeautiful
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 60
Will A1200 connectors made available for repairs / other projects?
HelloBeautiful is offline  
Old 11 November 2016, 16:49   #447
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelloBeautiful View Post
Will A1200 connectors made available for repairs / other projects?
That's a thought.. Maybe after the last batch of V1200 is manufactured, you (Kipper2k) could take another round of orders just for the connectors. Pretty sure you can sell 100 of them to various ppl.

Its probably not a bad idea to have a bunch of spares in circulation.
Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 11 November 2016, 18:12   #448
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
That's a thought.. Maybe after the last batch of V1200 is manufactured, you (Kipper2k) could take another round of orders just for the connectors. Pretty sure you can sell 100 of them to various ppl.

Its probably not a bad idea to have a bunch of spares in circulation.
Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
There are few different types in use, sure only one is used in Vampire.
bebek is offline  
Old 11 November 2016, 22:00   #449
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 376
sounds stupid... but there's no LED output for SAGA.device access? I mean, that can be wired to the outside... ?
KONEY is offline  
Old 12 November 2016, 15:03   #450
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelloBeautiful View Post
Will A1200 connectors made available for repairs / other projects?

I cannot see any reason not to share, after all we are a community.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 11 December 2016, 23:20   #451
DirtDevil
 
Posts: n/a
With the v500 preorder up and running, I was wondering how long will the v500 be available? Is it a case if you want one you best buy it now, or will there be a window of 6 months, 12 months . . . . ?
 
Old 12 December 2016, 02:46   #452
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtDevil View Post
With the v500 preorder up and running, I was wondering how long will the v500 be available? Is it a case if you want one you best buy it now, or will there be a window of 6 months, 12 months . . . . ?
Allow me to speculate;
Stuff like this is usually produced in batches and the preorders tell them how big the batch will be. Then depending on margins / unit.. they probably order a slightly bigger batch than the exact number of orders. So some 'spares' will surely be around.

Then... normally you'd expect another batch at a later date, but as Im sure there is a minimum meaningful number of items for a batch to happen, it *could* drag on for months, waiting to reach that particular number. Hard to tell, but it would probably be very hard to promise any exact availability dates.

And then there's always ebay ;-)

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 13:26   #453
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtDevil View Post
With the v500 preorder up and running, I was wondering how long will the v500 be available? Is it a case if you want one you best buy it now, or will there be a window of 6 months, 12 months . . . . ?
Production will continue as long as there is demand and as long as there is no follow-up. A follow-up isn't likely to happen before there are 68080-accelerators for all Amigas. The 68080 isn't going to disappear and its creators want to have as large a user basis as possible.
grond is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 15:06   #454
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
A follow-up isn't likely to happen before there are 68080-accelerators for all Amigas.
That's the kind of music I like.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 19:29   #455
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
for thos wondering why deliveries have slowed down, here is the reason, hand is pretty well useless at the moment, please be patient.



Dont tell anyone i unwrapped it to take a pic
kipper2k is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 19:40   #456
pgovotsos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
for thos wondering why deliveries have slowed down, here is the reason, hand is pretty well useless at the moment, please be patient.



Dont tell anyone i unwrapped it to take a pic
Like I jokingly said in another thread, next time remember that the hot end of the iron goes DOWN

Seriously though, take care of yourself. Getting an infection in your hand can really mess things up!
pgovotsos is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 20:24   #457
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 846
@ Brian thats some neat surgery right there ! keep well mate and just take care till its healed buddy
supaduper is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 22:27   #458
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,946
Ouch! No tugging things with that hand! Hope it heals well! How'd it happen?
Good luck with the rest of the boards.
seuden is online now  
Old 29 December 2016, 22:36   #459
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Before you reboot You must remove the uaegfx monitor in Devs/monitors because it will conflict and the Amiga will not boot so don't forget ,just create a drawer and place it there for storage.
Then just select your screemode in Prefs, you will see a selection of SAGA screen options for you to choose, enjoy
Thank you thank you thank you thank you! This should be stated in the Vampire wiki. I almost went mad trying to find out why I get "Picasso96: Could not create graphics board context for 'uaegfx'" on boot yet still RTG modes worked well when manually selected after boot. Removing Devs:Monitors/uaegfx fixed everything.

Also instructions on how to set up SD-card are not up to date. At the end of the day I found out that it was easiest to format SD-card in Windows to FAT32, install FAT95 driver and copy Storage/DOSDrivers/PC0 to DEVSOSDrivers/SD0 and replace content with this:

FileSystem = l:fat95
Unit = 0
Flags = 0
LowCyl = 0
HighCyl = 0
Surfaces = 1
BlocksPerTrack = 1
BlockSize = 512
Buffers = 20
BufMemType = 1
BootPri = 0
Stacksize = 4096
Priority = 5
GlobVec = -1
DosType = 0x46415401
Device = sagasd.device


This is from Apollo-Core forums but did not find it from the Wiki! This way Amiga auto-detects geometry and everything, using PFS or something seems to require inputting all the geometry data manually in HDToolBox. As a added bonus all non-Amiga computers can read the card also...

Ps. Kipper2k, you were supposed to get some rest, no solder these devices I could have waited few more weeks to get my board... But thanks, this board is A-W-E-S-O-M-E
jarp is offline  
Old 30 December 2016, 12:58   #460
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 83
Mine is on it's way (thanks Kipper2k), for anyone that has one and is based in the UK, did you get stung for import duty and VAT? If so how much approximately can I expect it to be?

Also what length male-female HDMI would people suggest (i am going to remove the RF modulator and stick the HDMI socket there). Want to get it all in place ready to go.

Just need to decide whether to re-cap or stick to the old saying of 'if it ain't broke don't fix it'
Lemaru is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire 600 and floppy issues Firestone support.Hardware 15 22 March 2017 19:11
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator - Vampire 600 majsta Hardware mods 736 18 July 2016 19:31
Vampire 600 more cores.. Turran support.Hardware 48 14 January 2015 18:39
Vampire 600 wierd issues Retro support.Other 4 05 September 2014 23:36
Vampire 600 troubles Viserion support.Hardware 21 10 December 2013 21:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12194 seconds with 16 queries