English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2009, 17:43   #41
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,536
Suddenly I'm beginning to think Motorola made 3 CPUs in 15 years...

Anyway, would be interesting to drop a 68020 core in a gate array and see how fast you can get with today's frequencies, caches and stuff.
Photon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 September 2009, 17:53   #42
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Suddenly I'm beginning to think Motorola made 3 CPUs in 15 years...
68000 - 1979
68020 - 1984
68030 - 1987
68040 - 1990
68060 - 1994

More like 5 cpu in 4 generations
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 17:55   #43
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
*cough*
68010 - 1982
TCD is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 17:58   #44
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
*cough*
68010 - 1982

Just some bugs fixed. Does not count.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 19:51   #45
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,536
That doesn't sound right. Lemme run Sysinfo on my A500-040...
Photon is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 21:38   #46
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,536
Well, ok. I had a memory 040 was at least 5x the speed of 030 at the same clock. Well, pretty close.

My A500-040 (28MHz) is 4.28 x A3000 (25 MHz 68030). Dunno if faster chipmem on the A3000 affects the comparison.

So um we're both right ... or something
Photon is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 00:32   #47
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,536
Just asking here in case you didn't see my post in keyboard membranes thread: Will the n-key rollover thing become better with an A500 keyboard? In case the little glitch doesn't affect a simple 5/6-pin connection...

Unless the problem is with the A1200 keyboard flatcable... I had that problem where all keys worked separately but combos like alt+amiga didn't (locked out each other)
Photon is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 09:17   #48
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Just asking here in case you didn't see my post in keyboard membranes thread: Will the n-key rollover thing become better with an A500 keyboard? In case the little glitch doesn't affect a simple 5/6-pin connection...
It does, as it is not a problem with the mechanics of the A1200 keyboard, but the controller that lives on the motherboard is shit.

Quote:
Unless the problem is with the A1200 keyboard flatcable... I had that problem where all keys worked separately but combos like alt+amiga didn't (locked out each other)
Nopes, the membrane and flat cable are 99% the same as in the A500. The major difference is, that it comes out from the middle of the keyboard, instead of above Del/Help. Just be sure not to use one of the less common A500 keyboards with two flat cables. The majority have just one, and this is what you want.

It's easier to just plug the A500 controller into the A1200 flat cable, then wire it up. If you use an A500 keyboard in the A1200 case, it will hit the power and drive leds in the A1200 case and not fit together.
Jope is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 15:45   #49
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,536
Yes, well that collision can be avoided with a saw and and hammer. I mean modding

"Plug the controller into the A1200 flat cable" makes no sense to me but I guess I can go by the photo of your mod and replicate it?

Apparently I don't have to remove the chip? Won't that chip interfere with the controller on the A500 keyboard? Or did you simply nip off the +Vcc pin?
Photon is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 15:56   #50
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Yes, well that collision can be avoided with a saw and and hammer. I mean modding
Please, no. The A1200 has a perfectly fitting keyboard + led board, why on earth would you want to ugly it up?

Quote:
"Plug the controller into the A1200 flat cable" makes no sense to me but I guess I can go by the photo of your mod and replicate it?
Well you can look at my photos for how the wires hook up to the A1200 motherboard, but the similarities end there..

Let's go through the A500 controller board into A1200 keyboard thing again:

There's a wide plastic cable snaking out from the back of the A1200 keyboard that plugs into the A1200 motherboard. This much is agreed upon, I'm sure.

Now take the A500 keyboard into your hand and look closely between the keyboard controller and the black plastic in the top right corner. There is a very short piece of plastic cable visible between the controller board and the keyboard itself.

Unscrew the little PCB from the corner of the A500 keyboard, then unplug this short piece of cable you see between the mechanism and the PCB so that you have the little PCB free in your hand. You may also need to cut a cable tie that holds the rainbow coloured wires down before it comes loose.

The A1200 keyboard's cable plugs into the same slot on the little PCB (instead of going to the A1200 motherboard), then you just connect the rainbow coloured wires to the correct places on the A1200 motherboard.

If you do it like this, you will not have to hacksaw the case or the keyboard, nor do you have to transfer the white keys to the A500 keyboard..

Quote:
Apparently I don't have to remove the chip? Won't that chip interfere with the controller on the A500 keyboard? Or did you simply nip off the +Vcc pin?
If it doesn't work with the controller left in, the best way to do this is to cut or bend up the CLK and DAT pins from the A1200 keyboard processor. Don't leave it hanging on the bus unpowered, this might still interfere with the signalling.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 19:41   #51
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,536
Yeah, it seemed like the leds would fit in the holes, but well, I just had a quick look so wasn't 100% sure.

And I suspected you had disconnected some pins from the mobo - right. Point taken about the bus.

Although it's pretty hard to see all of it on that pic after the previous owner's hot-air gun massacre One side of the keyboard controller looks like it's been attacked with hammer and chisel (!)
Photon is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 13:39   #52
Matt020
Registered User
Matt020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 163
Hey Jope, did you get to install the CDROM into your A1700?
Matt020 is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 18:36   #53
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,724
I did, yes. I ended up creating a bracket for it that screws into the lip at the back of the computer. To make the bracket, I cut up an A500 AmigaBus grounding strip and soldered it together so that the holes lined up with the laptop drive.

Fits nicely. I originally tried to mount the CD-ROM onto the top cover with hot glue, but naturally it didn't stand transport at all.

I meant to take new pics once I get around to modifying an AmigaBus hole cover to sport a PCMCIA slot opening, but I haven't bothered with that yet, so now pictures and thread updates either. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 06 March 2010, 17:32   #54
Matt020
Registered User
Matt020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 163
any chance of pics?
Matt020 is offline  
Old 18 September 2010, 18:37   #55
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,724
So .. long time, no pics. I did something to the machine and decided to snag some new shots while I'm at it.

Its been in use on and off, always a conversation piece at demo parties. I upgraded the crappy TRA turbo with a B1230-IV pretty soon after I took the machine into use. I also found a used Indivision A1200 for a reasonable price some time last year and installed that too.

But that was then, today's project was the PCMCIA hole I was talking about before.

First off, here's what the insides look like at the moment:


It's a bit cluttered, since there's a lot of spare flat cable. Makes taking it apart easier.

Here's the hole. :-)


Here's the CD-ROM bracket I mentioned before, fashioned out of a cut down A500 AmigaBus grounding strip:


And it rests in place like this. I also opted to mount the Indivision's VGA port in place of the useless RF modulator.


Everything fits comfortably and it's time to put the cover back on. You can see the two screws that hold the CD-ROM bracket down at the rear of the machine if you squint, it's a little out of focus in that area. :-)


Mmm, NMB keyboards.. <3 (still looking for more of these.. A500/A2000 models both accepted. :-)

No-one knows what lurks within.


Unfortunately I mounted the CD-ROM too far towards the front at first. I'll do something about it later. Maybe.

Last edited by Jope; 19 December 2011 at 22:11. Reason: NME -> NMB :-D
Jope is offline  
Old 18 September 2010, 19:11   #56
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Thats looking quite promising indeed Jope =D
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 September 2010, 20:04   #57
Lobotomika
Registered User
Lobotomika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in the past and present
Posts: 122
That's simply beautiful. SO MUCH better than a tower case. Tower cases make your miggy sad people!
Lobotomika is offline  
Old 18 September 2010, 20:08   #58
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Thats looking quite promising indeed Jope =D
Cheers.. ;-)

Still considering making the bottom case seamless with some spackle/bondo and then painting the whole machine over in amiga beige or function key grey. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 18 September 2010, 20:17   #59
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
So lovely...

...and my A1200's go so little room in it. (I wonder how much dead A500's are fetching on feaBay atm..?)
Charlie is offline  
Old 19 September 2010, 07:11   #60
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I'm still inspired by your A1700, mate. Only thing I want to do with a spare A1200 board (when I get one, as my 1200 died an horrible death) is mounting the CD to the back of the machine using the original grills to hide where the CD/DVD is mounted (routing the eject button to the under side of the back side is the goal, here). I'm still plenty of non-wanted A500 cases on my house (wife complains about the space)...

BTW: my house have more than 300m² of constructed area (the swimming pool is not counted!)...

I think I can help on the subject, but we live too far away...
rkauer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photon's A1700 Photon Hardware mods 43 25 December 2011 15:30
Keyboard question (for Jope? ;) Akira Hardware mods 5 28 June 2008 23:22
Jope's C-64T Jope Hardware mods 21 27 June 2008 06:32
New A1700 jurgen36 Hardware mods 12 12 June 2008 23:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09334 seconds with 16 queries