English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 October 2018, 00:34   #1
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,729
Floppy disk BestWB 1.0

BestWB 1.0 - 28.09.2018

BestWB is a new workbench pack, much like BetterWB. It aims to be much like an enhancement, an updated extension to AmigaOS 3.1.4, without all those hardware penalties typically associated with these kind of packs. It is indeed a better 3.1.4 than 3.1.4 itself!

BestWB will suit anyone that wishes a clean AmigaOS experience without the unneeded bloat often associated with these kind of distros. It persues speed and usability and does not focus on eye candy.

Feature list:

-A Find system tool so that the workbench menu "Find..." gets activated (SimpleFind).

-New and Improved datatypes for gif, jpg, bmp, png, pcx, tga, tiff, and wav media.

-New Removable media partition mounter (SCSIMounter)

-New System snooper (SnoopDOS)

-Fast and easy to use floppy disk copier application (SuperDuper)

-Libraries for cpu support and better hardware detection (MMULib+BoardsLib).

-A filemanager to copy, move and delete files in an easier manner (DirWork).

-Lots of of handy commodities that make user experience much more comfortable (GrabIFF, AssignWedge, CleverWIN, FreeWheel, Rewincy, ToolsMenu, ToolAlias, NewMode, yStart, DosPrefs, BenchTrash, PowerSnap, CronTask, PM and MagicMenu).

-58 additional workbench printer drivers (take a peek at your SYS:Storage/printers drawer).

-Complementary commands like AddMem, DMS, WBCtrl, and showboards.

-ZIP and JAZ drive support and their corresponding mountlists (IOTools).

-XPKMaster offers a data compression/decompression library available to programs that support it.

-Charmap is a tool that helps dealing with all the characters of a given font. Useful for accents and uncommon characters.

-Prepcard+ helps the user to manage many hardware on the pcmcia port

-The popular LHA, LZX, GZIP and ZIP/UNZIP archiver commands are installed in their latest incarnation.

-Compact Disk audio player with lots of great features (ACDPlay)

-Midi support for many programs with camd.library and the Midiports preferences application.

-New graphic interface that lets you read and write back adf and dms floppy images (TSGUI).

-There is a new preferences program (WBStartupPrefs) that lets you easily handle the WBStartup and Commodities drawer.

-The light weight but otherwise efficient Redit text editor is also included.

-New monitors drivers for native Amiga chipset (Film24, HD720, HighGFX, SuperPlus and Xtreme).

-FontView is an app able to browse thru available fonts and report their characteristics.

-A Backup tool that can even be made to work with non Amiga partitions (ABackup).

-Shell with command completion, scrollbars and lots of other nice features thanks to VinCed.

-A workbench friendly NSD/TD64 compatible drive defragmenter (DiskOptimizer).

-Totalcalc is a replacement calculator that can even be configured as an advanced scientific one.

-Unpacker aids the user in uncompressing archived files with a GUI.

-A very fast antivirus that supports xvs.library is now deployed (Fungicide).

-TextView is an advanced text viewer that supports html between other formats.

-DTView2 is a simple and efficient picture viewer.

-IconLib 46.4 is a fast icon.library reimplementation that allows you to see all types of icons (standard, newicons, glowicons, png, etc.).

-FullPalette will let you lock and optimise palettes.

-A complete set of manuals that explain all these new features. They are inside HELP:.

-And much more…
gulliver is offline  
Old 01 October 2018, 10:19   #2
jman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 307
Link:



http://lilliput.amiga-projects.net/BestWB.htm


:-)
jman is offline  
Old 01 October 2018, 10:21   #3
eispic
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Paradies / Sky
Posts: 7
Hello,

I used a Pc with WinUAE.
There is somewhere installation instructions for a Newbi
eispic is offline  
Old 01 October 2018, 10:35   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,578
Installation is simple, choose an Amiga model from Quickstart (A1200/A4000) better if expanded 4MB Ram, attach a Hardfile or Directory filesystem with WB 3.0/3.1 installed. Start the Workbench, insert BestWB disk 1 and start installation, you will be asked for the other floppies to complete the installation.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 01 October 2018 at 12:15.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 October 2018, 14:19   #5
cmsj
Registered User

cmsj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London / UK
Posts: 158
Are any of the contained tools customised somehow, or otherwise newer than the versions on Aminet? I like a lot of the choices you've made here, but I prefer to install things by hand
cmsj is offline  
Old 01 October 2018, 14:22   #6
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 838
Nice, unfortunately, the system I would have wanted this the most for (CD32 + TFS832) does not get any 3.1.4 love
spudje is offline  
Old 01 October 2018, 14:28   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Nice, unfortunately, the system I would have wanted this the most for (CD32 + TFS832) does not get any 3.1.4 love
BestWB in my opinion you can install it without problems on CD32, in this distribution there is no OS 3.1.4 and only prepared to accommodate this new OS; anyway I think you can still install OS 3.1.4 on the CD32.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 October 2018, 14:46   #8
cip060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Treviso ITALIA
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Nice, unfortunately, the system I would have wanted this the most for (CD32 + TFS832) does not get any 3.1.4 love
The 1200 version I think can be the same for the cd32
Just made a basic installation 3.1 and bestwb !!
I have a cd32 and Terrible fire !! a system loaded with 2.0 chips and 7.9 Fast !!
whdload and some other programs and the system is complete
The system occupies 10 megs of hardisk without whdload game
cip060 is offline  
Old 01 October 2018, 14:46   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,828
It's possible to load the updated modules into memory, the A1200 build is probably the best match for the CD32.
Jope is offline  
Old 01 October 2018, 14:49   #10
cip060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Treviso ITALIA
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
BestWB in my opinion you can install it without problems on CD32, in this distribution there is no OS 3.1.4 and only prepared to accommodate this new OS; anyway I think you can still install OS 3.1.4 on the CD32.

The 1200 version I think is the same thing using the cd32
cip060 is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 01:27   #11
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 114
hi gulliver, maybe my fault instalation but , can you check if all flags are correct in new files when all installation is finished?

I ask you coz I've to fix all new files from BestWB with "execute" protection bit.

thx
Estrayk is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 01:37   #12
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post
hi gulliver, maybe my fault instalation but , can you check if all flags are correct in new files when all installation is finished?

I ask you coz I've to fix all new files from BestWB with "execute" protection bit.

thx
Hmm...

The last thing the script does, before saying goodbye at line 465 is:

protect SYS:#? +rwe all

which should put the execute bit on all your files.

I guess there is something wrong with your system.
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 05:32   #13
shaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto / Canada
Posts: 124
Something that would be nice for an update would be to have glowicons for the new additions as an option just like the 3.1.4 installer has. It's a very useful package. I just prefer DOPUS 4.16 to Dirworks. This is probably the easiest way to get a functional 3.1.4 system in the fewest amount of steps.

I applaud the effort and highly recommended it.
shaf is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 06:08   #14
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaf View Post
Something that would be nice for an update would be to have glowicons for the new additions as an option just like the 3.1.4 installer has. It's a very useful package. I just prefer DOPUS 4.16 to Dirworks. This is probably the easiest way to get a functional 3.1.4 system in the fewest amount of steps.

I applaud the effort and highly recommended it.
Thank you for your comments.

GlowIcons are considered for an update of BestWB. First I just needed to check that everything works as intended.

I do like DOPUS, but it is a memory monster. It eats quite a lot of memory, and only v4.12 is 68000 compatible. On the contrary, DirWork works with just 70KB on a 68000!
gulliver is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 07:41   #15
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
Hmm...

The last thing the script does, before saying goodbye at line 465 is:

protect SYS:#? +rwe all

which should put the execute bit on all your files.
Which is utterly wrong, and changes functionality... don't believe me? Ask ThoR.
kolla is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 07:45   #16
betajaen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wales, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 69
Thanks for BestWB.

I used it last night, although I didn't use the installer script. I just copied over features I liked manually.

I also had a problem with protect SYS, but I think that was my fault. But it worked in the end.

Thanks again!
betajaen is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 08:07   #17
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
Hmm...

The last thing the script does, before saying goodbye at line 465 is:

protect SYS:#? +rwe all

which should put the execute bit on all your files.

I guess there is something wrong with your system.
I assume you meant "SYS:C/#?" If not that is a terrible idea. All files on SYS: are obviously not executable.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 08:18   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by betajaen View Post
Thanks for BestWB.

I used it last night, although I didn't use the installer script. I just copied over features I liked manually.

I also had a problem with protect SYS, but I think that was my fault. But it worked in the end.

Thanks again!

Normal, if you've unzipped your Zip by hand, many files included in the archive are not executable is missing "Flag" "E",an installation made with the installer does not create this problem.

Zip archives if unpacked from Windows will not have this problem and the "E" flag will be present

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 02 October 2018 at 09:16.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 08:48   #19
pgovotsos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 211
If we have the WarpDT datatypes, should we continue to use them or are these better? By WarpDT I mean the ones available for purchase at https://www.warpdt.co.uk
pgovotsos is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 13:54   #20
adonay
active amiga 1200 user
adonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Either Haugesund /Norway or Vaxjø Sweden
Posts: 205
Send a message via MSN to adonay
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgovotsos View Post
If we have the WarpDT datatypes, should we continue to use them or are these better? By WarpDT I mean the ones available for purchase at https://www.warpdt.co.uk
WarpDT use ppc don't they ? There are no PPC datatypes in this package as far as i can see
adonay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08759 seconds with 12 queries