English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 May 2003, 15:40   #1
BrooksieLad
 
Posts: n/a
Transdisk track sizing

Hi,

I have sent standard ADF images (eg regular 79 tracks) from the PC to my A1200 using ADF sender terminal.

However I am at a total loss how to send irregular ADF images like games over to the A1200,

I have used the -e command to specify the number of tracks, however how do I know how many tracks an ADF holds?

How do I then configure both the PC and Amiga to do this?
 
Old 25 May 2003, 01:40   #2
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 50
Posts: 835
Hmm, I would say like this: ( it's just an idea ! No guarantee it really is like that ! )

A normal ADF has 80 tracks and is 880kB big, which is 901120 bytes.
Somehow ( which looks a little bit strange to me ?!? ) it seems that an ADF is organised in a way that every track has the same length. At least I assume it is like that, because I can successfully split an ADF into 2 equal big parts and then write them back to a disk in two goes, track 0-39 and then track 40-79 ! It is really strange that this works because from my knowledge the inner tracks would have less sectors than the outer ones and therefore should be shorter....
But anyway, if I assume every track holds an equal numer of bytes then one track has 901120 / 80 = 11264 bytes.
So an ADF with 912384 bytes would be 81 tracks and one with
923648 bytes would be 82 tracks long.
To set the number of tracks use the -s for startrack ( 0 is the forst one ) and -e for the end track ( normally 79 )

I hope I am not telling complete bullshit....
Overdoc is offline  
Old 25 May 2003, 10:55   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,189
What you tell about inner and outer tracks was true on 5.25" floppies on the C64. All 3.5" floppies have equal track sizes.

Amiga DD: 2 heads with 80 tracks with 11 sectors with 512 bytes = 880KB
Amiga HD: 2 heads with 80 tracks with 22 sectors with 512 bytes = 1760KB
PC DD: 2 heads with 80 tracks with 9 sectors with 512 bytes = 720 KB
PC HD: 2 heads with 80 tracks with 18 sectors with 512 bytes = 1440KB

Every ADF has exactly 880KB. There are extended ADFs with bit images in them, but they cannot be written back to disk. Only 880KB ADFs can be written to disk.

PLEASE DO NOT INCLUDE SIGNATURES IN YOUR POSTS! CONFIGURE USERCP INSTEAD! -ADMIN
thomas is offline  
Old 25 May 2003, 15:09   #4
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 50
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally posted by thomas
[B]What you tell about inner and outer tracks was true on 5.25" floppies on the C64. All 3.5" floppies have equal track sizes.
Hehe, yes, I cannot deny I have had a C64 for almost 20 years by now...
This has made me thinking in a C64 way
Overdoc is offline  
Old 25 May 2003, 17:35   #5
BrooksieLad
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Overdoc and Thomas, you given me both a useful explanation of how things work, but there is a lot of maths needed!
 
Old 26 May 2003, 14:21   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,189
Quote:
PLEASE DO NOT INCLUDE SIGNATURES IN YOUR POSTS! CONFIGURE USERCP INSTEAD! -ADMIN [/B]

This is the only board in the world with such a daft rule. I just can't keep it in mind.

Bye


Quote:
but there is a lot of maths needed!
You think that multiplying a few numbers is a lot of maths ? Come on, we are talking about computers, they do nothing but math.

Hint: add an alias to your shell-startup like this: alias say rx "say []"
then you can open a shell window and enter say 2*80*11*512/1024 and it will tell you 880.

Bye
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Window sizing mouse pointer issue when RTG enabled mark_k support.WinUAE 1 05 February 2013 16:30
ok. prob with transfering transdisk jettaman support.Apps 16 21 February 2008 23:43
AExplorer/Transdisk ALWAYS fail at track 40 erik_l New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 24 November 2007 10:24
Transdisk help! Muzkat New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 15 June 2002 15:58
Problem using transdisk Lancewood support.Apps 2 26 January 2002 13:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07616 seconds with 13 queries