English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2012, 14:56   #1
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 749
Odd issue, sometimes WinUAE takes forever to start...?

WinUAE works great. But from time to time it seams it wont exit properly, perhaps due to something i did, or some quirk of my system. Not that i notice it straight away, but the next time i go to fire WinUAE up, it wont launch. Bringing up the process manager shows it's running, at about 8MB ram. Waiting isn't my strong suit, but after a couple of minutes it fires up. Everything seams as usual. Hit the start and yes, it indeed seams everything is as usual.
The prolonged start time remains until i reboot the PC, at which point it seams to go away.

Any ideas how to work around it, as i said, i hate to wait ;- )
Mr B is offline  
Old 29 June 2012, 20:43   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,636
If you have Vista or newer: select winuae.exe in Windows Task Manager, right click and select "Create Dump File" when it is trying to start and attach or email the dump file.

Probably something to do with display or audio mode enumeration. Possibly driver issue.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 June 2012, 21:34   #3
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 749
Um... You REALLY want me to email the dump? It's a bloody close to 120MB large...
I'm not even sure i can ship out such email attachments. I don't wanna put it on the forum servers, if it even would allow me. Waste of space that the forum could use for better things.

The @winuae.net email is your preferred option?
Mr B is offline  
Old 29 June 2012, 21:39   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,636
Hmm.. Usually it is very small (few hundred kilobytes) when emulation hasn't been started yet.

Try to compress it, dump files usually compress really well.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 June 2012, 21:52   #5
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 749
Rar'ed it, 17 MB. That i should be able to email... i think. Would that be ok?
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 29 June 2012, 22:01   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,636
It is still too big.

If you can duplicate the hang easily, run winuae with -log parameter and copy&paste all log lines. This should show approximately where the hang happens.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 June 2012, 22:17   #7
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 749
As long as i don't reboot, it happens everytime now. And when i reboot, it stays away, until "something" happens.

It freezes at the same line everytime:
"DirectInput enumeration.. Game controllers.."

Just sits there, and then snaps out of it, and continues.
Attached Files
File Type: txt log.txt (17.9 KB, 96 views)
Mr B is offline  
Old 29 June 2012, 22:19   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,636
Try removing your USB input devices. Still hanging?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 June 2012, 22:56   #9
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 749
Pulled the SmartJoy PSX to USB thingy. No luck. Swearing, as it's the most difficult to manage to get back in to the USB port, it's attached on the back of the screen. Disconnected the Saitek Cyborg 3D USB joystick. Still nothing, oh well, it's on the side of the screen, easy access. Pulled the Bluetooth USB dongle for the keyboard. Nothing. Right. Connected it again, and pulled the dongle for the mouse. Jackpot. Reconnected the mouse, and tried again. Still works. Reconnected smartjoy, and joystick, and tried again. Still good. Cool. Pulling the mouse i can do from where i sit and work, and just reconnect it. Thats a workaround i can live with. Any idea what would cause it?

Thank you for the lightning-fast support.
Mr B is offline  
Old 30 June 2012, 10:35   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,636
Not the first time DirectInput enumeration has hung or crashed due to some driver weirdness.. (Crash dump would show exactly where it hangs)

I'll add disable DirectInput enumeration command line option to next beta (-nodirectinput) that should work as an easier workaround.

DirectInput is still used to enumerate game controllers because not all game controllers are USB HID (=supported by RawInput).
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.3.3 takes double time to boot then 2.3.2 AmigaSurfer support.WinUAE 7 25 September 2011 01:03
Pinball games start issue JohnnyD support.Games 36 06 June 2010 17:42
Usb & WhdLoad Odd Issue marcolau support.Hardware 6 23 November 2009 22:50
My WinUAE Wont Start amigamenough support.WinUAE 4 03 January 2009 07:50
Force AVI recording to start aligned to odd/even frames LocalH request.UAE Wishlist 0 16 September 2004 02:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11226 seconds with 14 queries