English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 22 March 2010, 02:35   #1
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Hawk Ram board & Whdload

Hello:
I'm new at this and I'm from Spain, so excuse my english. First of all a salute to all the Amiga fans.
To introduce myself I have to say I'm a retro fan, and have two C64's (one repaired by myself changing chips and reading forums), two 48k Spectrums, a Megadrive, a SNES and lot of games.
I have to tell I know very few about computers and so, but I'm a handyman.
I have received the A1200 4 days ago (and I've treated it with Retrobright with excellent results) but I've been reading things since 4 weeks ago. I'm also into an internal cd-rom project.
To go to the point: The Amiga came with a Hawk ramboard with 2 mb's, and I put a 4Gb flashdrive as Hardrive and the kickstarts roms. I changed the memory of the Hawk board to 8 mb.
The Whdload games worked fine (only some of them because of memory problems), but today I noticed I haven't changed nothing when I put the memory, so today I changed the jumpers. All ok, it reads the memory, but when I try to play the same games that worked, they don't.
So if I put the jumpers to 2mb I can play them, but not if I change them to 8mb (it says not enough memory available or something like that).
The jumpers are in the right possition:
LK1 = open, close, close
LK2 = close, close, open
LK3 = open, close, close

I have to say I coudn't install the floppy disk of the Hawk ram because I bought the Amiga with the floppy drive out of order (for 50 pounds with box, joystick, instructions and all the Dynamite pack).

Any suggestion, please?

Last edited by Retrofan; 14 September 2013 at 02:35. Reason: Improvements
Old 22 March 2010, 11:56   #2
Philophus

Sounds like wrong memory simm size to me Ie: you are trying to use a mb simm as an 8mb simm or if it is infact an 8mb simm it may be faulty....double check your simm size.
Old 23 March 2010, 17:53   #3
Retrofan