English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2019, 13:44   #81
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,131
@DamienD

I'd say it has the edge in both processing and redraw speed over Shapeshifter. Not much, but it's visible, especially in games, ie Civ 2.
vulture is offline  
Old 11 December 2019, 20:06   #82
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I've never tried Fusion; how does it compare to say ShapeShifter, which is pretty cool indeed?

In my experience Fusion's RTG modes are quite a bit faster.
SimonV is offline  
Old 12 December 2019, 11:54   #83
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonV View Post
I just wonder ... can that new version be used for classic 68k machines or is it just targeted to the new fpga things ? Because in that case there still will be no legal way to get Fusion 3.2 for a lot of us.

It's targeted for Amiga machines. If you happen to have a FPGA based Amiga you can use that too.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 12 December 2019, 11:56   #84
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonV View Post
In my experience Fusion's RTG modes are quite a bit faster.

That's because I replace Apple's QuickDraw routines with accelerated versions. You can disable this feature if you want to in the video driver setup, but I really never found any case where it didn't work... it was one of those "just in case" things.

Also, I replace Apple's math packages with super fast optimized assembly versions that yield up to 2.5x the performance for floating point functions. MANY games for the Mac use the floating point library, and the Mac OS itself does for nearly everything.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 12 December 2019, 20:49   #85
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,468
Jim, I'd be interested to know how Prince of Persia: The Shadow & The Flame plays like in Fusion?

Unfortunately in ShapeShifter the game freezes randomly, there in no music and the cutscenes get stuck...
DamienD is online now  
Old 13 December 2019, 00:54   #86
Misclegend
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Jim, I'd be interested to know how Prince of Persia: The Shadow & The Flame plays like in Fusion?

Unfortunately in ShapeShifter the game freezes randomly, there in no music and the cutscenes get stuck...
pop2 works OK in Fusion 3.2, music and cutscenes works very well
but in shapeshifter 3.11 the game works but music get corrupted

I'm trying in winuae and macOS 8.1 btw
I use idem hardfiles for both emulators so the problem is shapeshifter
Misclegend is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 02:05   #87
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,468
Thanks for the details Misclegend, so no problems with POP2 in Fusion regarding random freezes, music and cutscenes

Only issue for me with Fusion is that it's not free (I don't mind paying BTW) plus being unable to actually purchase at the moment, and also for these reasons I couldn't include in my collection even if I could somehow get a copy.

So I guess I'm stuck with ShapeShifter, which is pretty good anyway... but I wish it would get an update to fix POP2
DamienD is online now  
Old 13 December 2019, 14:02   #88
Misclegend
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post

So I guess I'm stuck with ShapeShifter,
perhaps you can try an old version of shapeshifter ej 3.9 or 3.10
I will try this tomorrow , I think those old releases were more compatible (if I remember correctly)
Misclegend is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 14:20   #89
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misclegend View Post
perhaps you can try an old version of shapeshifter ej 3.9 or 3.10
I will try this tomorrow , I think those old releases were more compatible (if I remember correctly)
Been there, done that... see this thread: Mac titles for CD32 via Shapeshifter?

No difference with POP2 unfortunately
DamienD is online now  
Old 13 December 2019, 21:28   #90
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 675
POP, POP2, etc. all work fine. There are only two programs that I know of that do not work with FUSION, and that is MacBugs from Apple (their developer environment handler, kind of like our Enforcer for the Amiga), and a Virtual Memory enhancement from a company in France. Both of these use the MMU in ways that are not compatible with the Amiga's multitasking. POP and POP2 both do use custom math functions. Funny how many Mac games require a FPU and you have to either use a Mac with a FPU (68882 or 040) or use SoftFPU to emulate the FPU.

Last edited by JimDrew; 13 December 2019 at 22:17.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 22:51   #91
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 462
Is Fusion supposed to work with the MiSTer Amiga FPGA implementation?
Its currently 68020 + AGA + lots of RAM + lots of HDD space.
But it does NOT have an MMU (to my knowledge) or FPU implementation.
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 23:53   #92
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 675
Yes, it should except the CPU core itself is broken. It is missing several instructions and has problems with exception handling. If the core ever gets fixed, then FUSION will work. Same for the Replay 1 core. I already have a video driver ready for when these work.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 14 December 2019, 10:05   #93
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 462
@JimDrew: Have you tested latest Minimig MiSTer versions? Seems to have some previously missing instructions implemented.
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 14 December 2019, 11:45   #94
Misclegend
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Been there, done that... see this thread: Mac titles for CD32 via Shapeshifter?

No difference with POP2 unfortunately
I just tested POP2 in Basilisk emulator for windows and this game have music problems too,
well ,Basilisk was wrote by the same guy who wrote shapeshifter
(someone who Jim hates )

it seems the only way to play this MAC game today in PC is using Fusion under winuae
Misclegend is offline  
Old 15 December 2019, 08:09   #95
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaula92 View Post
@JimDrew: Have you tested latest Minimig MiSTer versions? Seems to have some previously missing instructions implemented.
Yes. I test every version of Minimig, hoping whatever is broken gets fixed. Since the new CPU core came from Till & Mikej, I already knew of the various fixes. I wrote test code that exposed many of the issues that were fixed. There is some type of address issue for sure because some instruction is stripping the upper 8 bits of a longword in an address register.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 17:27   #96
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 237
Any chance you can make a requester in the sound tab to select the AHI unit number you want to use ? That would be great so I can use a different unit for Fusion instead the need to choose unit 0 for different programs.
SimonV is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 19:52   #97
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 675
The support for AHI back in the day was experimental and I don't think there was support for different units because AHI was so new. I can look at adding a UNITS field.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 22 December 2019, 13:16   #98
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 462
@JimDrew: Does FUSION require an MMU, or should it work on a plain 68020?
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 22 December 2019, 23:57   #99
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 675
The minimum requirement is a 68020 (no MMU).
JimDrew is offline  
Old 24 December 2019, 12:10   #100
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 454
It's cool to hear about the paravirtualization of the Quickdraw and math libraries. The room for improvements on graphics handling via paravirtualization are obvious, but I have a question though, how are the math libraries any faster vs. just having the FPU handle them?

Do the Apple math libraries just handle transcendentals badly on 040/060? Do they just rely on exception trapping? What about running on a system that also has Cyberpatcher/Oxypatcher that sticks a JIT cached version into the code after the first trap?
AmigaHope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fusion MAC emul back to wb keys clauddio support.Apps 0 15 March 2012 03:35
Fusion Mac emu DDNI request.Apps 47 12 March 2009 02:21
Mac emulator Fusion panos_pit request.Apps 2 26 October 2008 16:58
Were to get Mac os for emulator? adonay request.Other 12 28 February 2008 17:07
Damn Mac games fly in Fusion!! DDNI Amiga scene 1 04 June 2007 02:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10192 seconds with 13 queries