English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 July 2016, 00:36   #1
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
Problems A4000T cyberstorm and OS4.1FE

Got My Cyberstorm back from repair today, but when booting I get:

ERROR: Failed to load nodule Kickstart/Kernel
ERROT: Loading of modules failed
c:bootloader fsiled returncode 20
1>

I tried reinstall with floppy(adf on gotek), and direct from cd. Last never worked.

I get the same error every time.

I have done this successfully before, so why it doesn't work now is strange.

My system is a 4000T in a custom non Commodore case, and has buster 11 full ram on Motherboard and on Cyberstorm.

Hard drive and DVD-rom is connected trough the 68 pin Cyberstorm SCSI connector, and there is a termination at both ends.

There is only the Hard drive and DVD connected to the A4000T.

Maprom is off, and ram speed set to 70ns.

It also has a Rapidroad and Picasso IV, but removing them made no difference.

I'm out of ideas, so any pointers on a solution would be welcome.
Viserion is offline  
Old 16 July 2016, 14:38   #2
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 702
As a matter of interest & guessing the CS worked before needing repair;

What exactly, ....was it repaired for?
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 17 July 2016, 00:49   #3
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
It was the 060 socket that failed.
I discovered that if I pressed tight on CPU it would show kickstart screen.
The PPC CPU was upgraded as well.

Spent most of the day trying to fix this, and have made some progress, as I mistakenly installed 8MB modules instead of 32MB ones.

In addittion I think 1 or more of them where faulty.

I did progress to seeing the blue screen, and also booting to os 3.9 via IDE there I could test that PPC cpu was working trough SysSpeed.

But it is a real hit and miss if I can boot to anything.

Did get a very blurry installation screen before I quit for the day, as I was fed up.
Viserion is offline  
Old 17 July 2016, 16:50   #4
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
A little updat:

Did get it to boot, but told me something could not be found.

Bigger problem now is that the mouse doesn't work.
I think left and right click is working, but not 100% sure because of the place mouse pointer is at.

No movement however at all.
I use a usb mouse with Jerry. I tested 2 of them, an original Amiga mouse.
I also connected one of the USB ones to my PC, and it worked fine.

Guess I need to take the MB out again and have a look even if it is a real pain in the ass to fit it in again.

Anyone knows where the mouse/joystick port logic is, as don't have the schematic for a a4000T rev4.

I do remember changing a burned resistor on an Amiga 500 once, but then iy was onlu one way that didn't work. Here it is both.
Viserion is offline  
Old 18 July 2016, 08:34   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,590
Measure that +5V is present at the mouse port..
Jope is offline  
Old 18 July 2016, 09:56   #6
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 702
Get yourself one of these rubber erasers. The wedge shape is all that is desired for this to help.



Jam it in between the Mobo & the chassis before pushing down on the CPU card along it's edge connector. This will make sure you get as good as contact as possible with the connection.

Jope's 5V check is best for mouse issue to start with....
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 18 July 2016, 20:41   #7
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
Regarding eraser I will see what I can find.
It should be properly fastened, but I can always try again.

Measured about 4.8v on both mouse/joystick port. So that should be fine.
Viserion is offline  
Old 18 July 2016, 21:10   #8
hese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 213
You can get the schematics from here.

U541 is possibly faulty.
hese is offline  
Old 18 July 2016, 21:18   #9
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
It's me who is faulty for not testing the obvious.

This being a 4000T there is cabels from the mouse/joystick port to the MB.

A little push of the cabel, and now the mouse works.

Man, I feel stupid now.
Viserion is offline  
Old 18 July 2016, 21:18   #10
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
Oh, and hese thanks for link. Will download schematics in case I ever need it.
Viserion is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaOne XE Noob Installation of OS4.1FE vladimpaler support.Hardware 3 31 March 2016 09:49
OS4.1FE screen resolution gaspi support.WinUAE 3 09 December 2015 10:01
OS4.1FE and MP3s lock up mritter0 support.WinUAE 4 18 October 2015 11:25
WinUAE 3.1. / OS4.1FE Classic - Remount install iso problems esc support.WinUAE 4 20 June 2015 17:19
OS3.9 -> OS4.1FE.....finally mritter0 Coders. C/C++ 15 28 February 2015 19:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07410 seconds with 15 queries