English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 April 2013, 18:14   #1
mips
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Durban / South Africa
Posts: 24
Question Amiga 5.25-inch floppy disks and drives

I got a external drive with my A500, I later purchased a 5.25" drive as the disks were 1/10th the price of the normal ones. Cut some traces on my MB and soldered in a toggle switch to boot of any of the 3 drives.
mips is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 18:40   #2
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by mips View Post
I got a external drive with my A500, I later purchased a 5.25" drive as the disks were 1/10th the price of the normal ones. Cut some traces on my MB and soldered in a toggle switch to boot of any of the 3 drives.
What was the capacity of 5.25" Disks on Amiga?

Last edited by prowler; 01 May 2013 at 23:16. Reason: Left 3.5" media discussion in the original thread.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 23:00   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
What was the capacity of 5.25" Disks on Amiga?
It was identical to the 3.5" disks - 880kB!

An image of one type of disk can be written to a disk of the other type with no problem, so mips was definitely on to a winner with his 5.25" drive if the 5.25" disks really were 1/10 of the price of the 3.5" disks!

Last edited by prowler; 01 May 2013 at 23:16. Reason: Fixed quote.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 April 2013, 18:26   #4
mips
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Durban / South Africa
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
What was the capacity of 5.25" Disks on Amiga?
880k

From what I recall they used a 1.2MB PC drive and amigaos would format the disks to 880k

Last edited by prowler; 01 May 2013 at 23:17. Reason: Fixed quote.
mips is offline  
Old 30 April 2013, 19:58   #5
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by mips View Post
880k

From what I recall they used a 1.2MB PC drive and amigaos would format the disks to 880k
Are you sure? So you would actually need a high density drive and disks for Amiga?

Also: could you use Cross Dos with a 5,25" drive?
Zak is offline  
Old 30 April 2013, 23:59   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zak View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mips View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
What was the capacity of 5.25" Disks on Amiga?
880k

From what I recall they used a 1.2MB PC drive and amigaos would format the disks to 880k
Are you sure? So you would actually need a high density drive and disks for Amiga?

Also: could you use Cross Dos with a 5,25" drive?
Yes, come on, spill the beans, mips! I would be interested to know as well. Though I suspect that CrossDOS can be used with any floppy drive.

Last edited by prowler; 01 May 2013 at 23:18. Reason: Fixed nested quote.
prowler is offline  
Old 01 May 2013, 21:46   #7
mips
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Durban / South Africa
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zak View Post
Are you sure? So you would actually need a high density drive and disks for Amiga?

Also: could you use Cross Dos with a 5,25" drive?
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Yes, come on, spill the beans, mips! I would be interested to know as well. Though I suspect that CrossDOS can be used with any floppy drive.
My memory is not that great but from what I recall I used DD disks with the drive. CrossDos worked with the drive but I cannot remember if it could read pc formatted 1.2MB disks.

Every month when my parents went shopping I would get 50-100 new 5.25" disks. When some of my friends heard about this they also got 5.25" drives.

If you google Amiga 5.25" drives you will find other people that also had them.
mips is offline  
Old 01 May 2013, 22:01   #8
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by mips View Post
Every month when my parents went shopping I would get 50-100 new 5.25" disks. When some of my friends heard about this they also got 5.25" drives.
Did trackloaders work with 5.25" drives when stuff was transferred from 3½" disks?
demolition is offline  
Old 01 May 2013, 22:04   #9
mips
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Durban / South Africa
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Did trackloaders work with 5.25" drives when stuff was transferred from 3½" disks?
I don't recall any disks that would not work on the 5.25" drive. Everything worked just as it would on a 3.5" drive.
mips is offline  
Old 01 May 2013, 22:18   #10
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Did trackloaders work with 5.25" drives when stuff was transferred from 3½" disks?
Yes, the 5¼-inch disks behave exactly likre their 3½-inch counterparts.
prowler is offline  
Old 01 May 2013, 22:38   #11
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by mips View Post
I don't recall any disks that would not work on the 5.25" drive. Everything worked just as it would on a 3.5" drive.
I guess it would require identical timing. I can see that they both run at 300 rpm, so it would probably work most of the time. The question is if the seek time is a little worse since the head has to move further.

Edit: I'm guessing the exact seek time might not be important since the tracks are not interleaved so there's plenty of waiting time to find the sync.
demolition is offline  
Old 01 May 2013, 22:54   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Edit: I'm guessing the exact seek time might not be important since the tracks are not interleaved so there's plenty of waiting time to find the sync.
That's right, and not only are Amiga tracks not interleaved, the start of each track is randomly orientated.
prowler is offline  
Old 01 May 2013, 23:01   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Maybe move a few posts to a new '5.25" Amiga drives' thread?
TCD is offline  
Old 01 May 2013, 23:02   #14
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
That's right, and not only are Amiga tracks not interleaved, the start of each track is randomly orientated.
Aren't there some copy protection schemes which rely on a certain sync offset from one track to another, which would make timing quite important?

But one thing is trackloaders from cracked games, another is original disks. Is it possible to write IPF files of originals to 5.25" disks and keep the copy protection intact?

Edit: I actually never owned a 5.25" drive. Even on the C64 I relied solely on the datasette.
And today those drives are priced as if they were made of gold, at least on ebay. Guess they are becoming rare.
demolition is offline  
Old 01 May 2013, 23:19   #15
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Maybe move a few posts to a new '5.25" Amiga drives' thread?
Good suggestion. Done!
prowler is offline  
Old 02 May 2013, 04:18   #16
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Amiga 5.25-inch floppy disks and drives

The 5.25" drives came with the Transformer PC Emulation software so their first function was to read PC floppies (360K), but could be formatted by MS/PCDOS to 720K. I recall an article about them being replaced with HD PC drives that would format PC standard 1.2 MB or Amiga 1.76 MB disks. Later there was a way to read C64 disks with an emulator, but I can't remember which one did it. It was easier to use a 1541 drive and a small interface to do this.

The BridgeBoards had issues with the drives I think, but by the time I had a BridgeBoard, I only had internal drives on my A2000.
Cymru is offline  
Old 02 May 2013, 08:15   #17
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cymru View Post
The 5.25" drives came with the Transformer PC Emulation software so their first function was to read PC floppies (360K), but could be formatted by MS/PCDOS to 720K. I recall an article about them being replaced with HD PC drives that would format PC standard 1.2 MB or Amiga 1.76 MB disks. Later there was a way to read C64 disks with an emulator, but I can't remember which one did it. It was easier to use a 1541 drive and a small interface to do this.

The BridgeBoards had issues with the drives I think, but by the time I had a BridgeBoard, I only had internal drives on my A2000.
The small interface you speak of was a slightly modified serial port, just the connections for a 1541C, I can probably dig out the archive.
Loedown is offline  
Old 02 May 2013, 10:09   #18
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Amiga 5.25-inch floppy disks and drives

Yeah, that was it.
Cymru is offline  
Old 02 May 2013, 10:17   #19
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/c64kopik

There it is.
Loedown is offline  
Old 02 May 2013, 12:55   #20
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
I guess it would require identical timing. I can see that they both run at 300 rpm, so it would probably work most of the time. The question is if the seek time is a little worse since the head has to move further.
5 1/4 inch are two speed type: 300 and 360rpm
pandy71 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga floppy drives cinemawareman Amiga scene 5 17 March 2011 16:40
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 01:44
Copying Amiga disks using Floppy drives on a PC. hamster support.Hardware 20 24 June 2006 11:49
Remeber how slow the C64 5 inch floppy was? Fred the Fop Nostalgia & memories 30 01 May 2005 17:04
Amiga games on 5 and a 1/4 inch disks? Codetapper Nostalgia & memories 14 05 July 2004 00:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09897 seconds with 13 queries