English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 November 2012, 19:29   #1
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Online Game Configuration Database for FS-UAE Launcher

If you want to participate in the beta, please PM me with your e-mail address. You will then get a registration e-mail from the system shortly after!

I have created some guidelines (with examples) for screenshots and covers in the database: http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/database-images. Documentation for database editing: http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/database-editing. Let me know what you think

Already Done:
  • Imported TOSEC (ADF, IPF) games for beta games + WHDLoad version
  • User registration system
  • Key/value-based configuration system with moderation (review/approval) support.
  • Image uploading
  • Simple commenting system
  • Synchronizing information down to FS-UAE Launcher
  • Downloading images to FS-UAE Launcher on demand
  • Flexible system in FS-UAE Launcher for finding / assembling files for WHDLoad game support.
  • User permission system, ability to give users moderator status
  • A rating system to be used to determine the best configurations for a game?

Todo:
  • Document better/more how the system should be used
  • A user control panel where a user can see the status of his/her submitted content
  • System to subscribe to a game, get e-mail when comments are added and/or key/values are changed?
  • Support editing your own comments, quoting in comments

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 14 February 2013 at 23:13.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 20:06   #2
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 42
Posts: 500
Great!!
nexusle is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 15:22   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
The web interface is now available at http://fengestad.no/games/

More beta users are needed, please send me a private message with your e-mail address (for registration - the e-mail address will not be made public). Also, include the name of a favorite game and the game will be included in the initial test set.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 25 November 2012 at 22:05.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 26 November 2012, 00:13   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Version 2.1.5 is now available from http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/download-devel

This version of FS-UAE Launcher will synchronize with the online configuration database and download screenshots/covers on demand if you have a beta account. Short instructions on how to enable the database feature at http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/database
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 26 November 2012, 18:24   #5
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 42
Posts: 500
Hey Frode,
I get an error, if I try to load a config + files: "Scan error 'dict' object has no attribute 'find'"

Last edited by prowler; 30 August 2013 at 04:13. Reason: Rewind.
nexusle is offline  
Old 26 November 2012, 18:44   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
Hey Frode,
I get an error, if I try to load a config + files: "Scan error 'dict' object has no attribute 'find'"
After the error has occurred, close down the launcher and send Launcher.log.txt to fs-uae@fengestad.no!
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 26 November 2012, 19:22   #7
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 42
Posts: 500
sent
nexusle is offline  
Old 26 November 2012, 21:09   #8
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Scan problem with new database (when missing files) should be fixed in version 2.1.6: http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/download-devel
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 26 November 2012, 21:14   #9
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 42
Posts: 500
This version works perfectly! Also the Cloanto-ROM-problem is fixed! Now I have overall green icons!

Thanks!
nexusle is offline  
Old 26 November 2012, 22:22   #10
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 42
Posts: 500
After some tests, uploads and comments I must tell you all, that this database works like a charm! Another great piece of work from Frode!

Frode, if you need help to moderate some things, let me know!
nexusle is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 00:29   #11
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
After some tests, uploads and comments I must tell you all, that this database works like a charm! Another great piece of work from Frode!
And thanks for testing / adding content. I agree it worked quite well

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
Frode, if you need help to moderate some things, let me know!
I will definitively need help with that . -Should have the permission-based system ready in a little while.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 20:23   #12
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 42
Posts: 500
Hi Frode,

will it be possible to upload PDF files for Manuals in the future?

I've found a good source for manuals in german/english on the internet.

http://amiga-manuals.xiik.net

AND: I wait for new games to fill with data

Last edited by nexusle; 27 November 2012 at 20:33.
nexusle is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 21:21   #13
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
Hi Frode,

will it be possible to upload PDF files for Manuals in the future?

I've found a good source for manuals in german/english on the internet.

http://amiga-manuals.xiik.net

AND: I wait for new games to fill with data
I agree! It would be very nice if you could open the manual from the launcher. -And especially nice if you bring up the manual on-screen / overlay when in FS-UAE.. Since one cannot know that links to other sites will be working in the future, it would be nice to collect manuals too...

But I haven't really considered having manuals collected/available due to copyright issues, but maybe I am too cautious... -Perhaps it is not a big problem to let people upload manuals (whether with permission or not), and just respond to any DCMA notices or similar if it should happen.

Anyway, configurations for WHDLoad versions of the games will be uploaded soon -And I'll add a new test game as well.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 22:33   #14
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Configurations for WHDLoad versions of the test set games are now added to the online database

A short description of how it works:
  • A configuration contains a list of (installed) files for the specific WHDLoad install (with Amiga file path / checksum information).
  • FS-UAE Launcher will scan and index all files (in the directories specified), and it will also index files inside zip files (and lha files too soon, code added, but FS-UAE distributions needs to be updated with libraries for LHA support).
  • The configuration from the online database will be added to FS-UAE Launcher if *all* individual files are found.
  • When starting the WHDLoad game, FS-UAE Launcher will assemble a temporary hard drive with all WHDLoad files (based on the information from the configuration), extracting them from archives if necessary before starting the game. Also, WHDLoad itself, required startup files and kickstart ROMs are copied into place automatically.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 22:37   #15
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 42
Posts: 500
I've added some changes to ST25A because it doesn't run without modifications.

We need an option to set ZIII RAM ;o)
nexusle is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 22:40   #16
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusle View Post
I've added some changes to ST25A because it doesn't run without modifications.
We need an option to set ZIII RAM ;o)
You are right, I forgot to document one thing. I have made a feature where you can specify *more* than 8192 KB fast_memory for game entries. If fast_memory > 8192, then then Launcher will automatically select A1200/020 and use Zorro III fast memory instead of regular fast memory to make that possible -So we can specify e.g. fast_memory = 16384 for Star Trek 25th Anniversary.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 22:41   #17
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 42
Posts: 500
ok! I'll change my changes
nexusle is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 22:54   #18
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Documentation at http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/database-editing updated accordingly.

Unfortunately, I found an annoying bug. chipset = AGA, kickstart = 2.0+ and fast_memory = 16386 caused A600 to be selected So I need to fix that and create a new release. (At least I add tests for this stuff to a test suite, so there'll not be regressions later!)

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 28 November 2012 at 00:06.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 23:41   #19
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
Version 2.1.8: http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/download-devel

* (Launcher) Fixed Amiga model selection when database key kickstart is used in combination with fast_memory > 8192 (Zorro III).
* (Launcher) Updated translations: es [albconde].
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 18:54   #20
nexusle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Age: 42
Posts: 500
I've a little feature request )

please can you implement the ability to filter for "ADF"-, "IPF"-, "WHD"- and "CDROM"-configs in launcher.

It could be made possible by using checkboxes for each item.
nexusle is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE Launcher FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 414 20 September 2015 22:39
How to add config options to an online database entry locally in the launcher TCD support.FS-UAE 3 24 February 2013 22:18
[FS-UAE] Optimized or corrected Amiga Game Database Entrys nexusle support.FS-UAE 3 24 August 2012 22:30
[FS-UAE] Amiga Game Database for FS-UAE Launcher nexusle support.FS-UAE 31 24 August 2012 21:24
UAE launcher for game or demo Frazor support.WinUAE 4 28 March 2003 17:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09298 seconds with 14 queries