English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 June 2012, 22:31   #1
Mendel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kokkola/Finland
Posts: 75
Limiting cdrom speeds in classicwb39?

I have a 48x cd rom drive and I´d like to limit it to running at like max 4x or 8x speed. It´s because it makes a really, really horrible noise when it accelerates all the way up to 48x speed. Maybe there is a way to limit it and thus make it less noisy?
Mendel is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 22:34   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mendel View Post
I have a 48x cd rom drive and I´d like to limit it to running at like max 4x or 8x speed. It´s because it makes a really, really horrible noise when it accelerates all the way up to 48x speed. Maybe there is a way to limit it and thus make it less noisy?
Theres a program, name escapes me though. I tried it and it didnt slow it down, something to do with the drive type.
FOL is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 22:36   #3
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
was it idefix fol?
roy bates is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 22:59   #4
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 500
WolnyCD?

http://aminet.net/package/disk/cdrom/WolnyCD
James is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 23:34   #5
Mendel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kokkola/Finland
Posts: 75
Thanks! Will try it asap!
Mendel is offline  
Old 19 June 2012, 00:45   #6
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
was it idefix fol?
Nope.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
Yep, thats it, never really went to deep into it.
Let us know how you get on, as I may have another good.

If I recall, my slot loading DVD drive refused to go at lower speed.
I would rather it run at lower speed, for same reason as you.
I main use drive for CD32 emulation.
FOL is offline  
Old 19 June 2012, 13:26   #7
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Were using it to tame my 52x CD-Rom to 8x - worked flawlessly.
zipper is offline  
Old 25 June 2012, 21:40   #8
Mendel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kokkola/Finland
Posts: 75
Seems like I need more help with this. Let´s say I put in a cd... then my cdrom ramps up the speed to 48x... if I then run this wolnycd then it immediately slows down my cd to 8x speed which is nice... but when I click on the cdrom drawer it then immediately again speeds up to full speed... so I really do not get it how to use this
Mendel is offline  
Old 26 June 2012, 01:18   #9
_psy
Registered User

_psy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Thessaloniki/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 116
there is a way here too http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=59939
_psy is offline  
Old 26 June 2012, 03:08   #10
rampartsagain
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Porto/Portugal
Posts: 383
yeah i agree i like some powerfull cars after some time the exaust and the engine too loud take as all the thrill ,fortunatly i use only my cdrom only always boot by hd
i have amiga os 3.5 but i am not shure which ones i can play on my miggy 1200 the cd32 ones or other ones
rampartsagain is offline  
Old 30 June 2012, 19:08   #11
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
To follow up on this.

I gave WolnyCD another go. After messing with it for awhile. I finally got it working perfect.

It doesnt seem to work correctly if used before mount command.
As I wanted it to slow when I use CD32 games. I added the following after the cd0 mount command in the CD32-Startup;

C:WolnyCD DEVICE=atapi.device UNIT=2 VOLUME=CD0: SPEED=4 QUIET

Obviously, my command uses atapi and unit 2. You would need to change yours to whats in your CD0 file.

I now feel I have the perfect A1200 and CD32 setup.
Every CD32 game works and I have WHDLoad for ADF games.

Last edited by FOL; 30 June 2012 at 22:54.
FOL is offline  
Old 30 June 2012, 22:13   #12
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
I had a button left out on WB to launch it when needed.
zipper is offline  
Old 30 June 2012, 22:53   #13
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,663
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
I had a button left out on WB to launch it when needed.
I figured Im not really interested in fast speeds. So I used command line, hated the drive sounding like a helicopter.
FOL is offline  
Old 30 June 2012, 23:25   #14
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
That's what I meant, launched WolnyCD - and I mounted CD-Rom also via WB because of that jet sound and vibration my 52x created. And different screenmodes via buttons, too.
zipper is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More cycle-exact speeds Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 5 28 June 2013 09:44
WinUAE Speeds? Amigaboy support.WinUAE 6 18 August 2003 12:00
Polygon game speeds Echo support.WinUAE 38 20 March 2003 21:00
Emulation Speeds With Cycle Accuracy Interceptor support.WinUAE 3 05 December 2002 22:57
MAD speeds in WinUAE! Akira Retrogaming General Discussion 11 12 September 2001 14:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.66328 seconds with 15 queries