English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 August 2013, 17:57   #61
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,936
Well, you can play CE online via FS-UAE. Not really beginner friendly yet, but it works..and with less jerky scrolling.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 30 August 2013, 18:21   #62
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
the online multiplayer support is actually a really nice addition and should be brushed aside as a quick cash in.
Exactly

Seriously though: The online feature is nice, but overall this version is a mere 'make it work' rather than 'make it better' (setting aside that one aspect). I played the MD version before FS-UAE offered netplay online, so that aspect doesn't sell the game to me at all. The bloom effect is very poorly implemented and makes the game look a lot worse IMO.

Verdict: For people that know the game on the Amiga there's no reason to fork out any money.
TCD is offline  
Old 30 August 2013, 18:42   #63
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,936
At least one guy actually played it before he rated it.

http://www.gog.com/game/the_chaos_engine#reviews=2
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 30 August 2013, 20:05   #64
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Comparison side by side [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 30 August 2013, 20:30   #65
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,936
What a lame comparision. Full Screen or it doesn't happen. And it's ECS vs remake. Should have been AGA vs remake
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 30 August 2013, 20:34   #66
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 3,135
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Comparison side by side [ Show youtube player ]
So they left AA version on the title screen...
And what is the option for subtitles (at 1:06)? Do you get subtitles for "Node activated", "Food", "Players saved" etc...
lilalurl is offline  
Old 30 August 2013, 20:36   #67
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,936
Subtitles for the game options in the menu and the intro story. Too lazy to create new graphics.


Quote:
And what is the option for subtitles (at 1:06)? Do you get subtitles for "Node activated", "Food", "Players saved" etc...
Edit: You are right. They used it for that too. Like "forced subs" in movies.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 30 August 2013 at 21:35.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 30 August 2013, 20:46   #68
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
Subtitles are important, as a kid I heard 'not activated' instead of 'node activated', really confusing
s2325 is offline  
Old 30 August 2013, 20:48   #69
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,936
Well it's actually for that.

Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 30 August 2013, 21:07   #70
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 9,047
They need to look at Prince of Persia classic to see how it's done. Or another world HD.
BippyM is offline  
Old 30 August 2013, 21:27   #71
Exl
Registered User
Exl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 120
It's an interesting "remaster". I'm not too fond of the glow effect (or the scaling filter), but you can disable both of those. The sound isn't always quite right, like the node activation lightning noise that just stutters a bit. The controls feel the same though, with the same "heft" to it. Also this is nice: http://i.imgur.com/KL59OeR.jpg

There's a few interesting things to gather from the data files as well. There's leftover files referencing a Psy-Q 64k assembler, for Sega Genesis\CD development. All the music has been converted to OGG Vorbis files, which is odd. I'm guessing they didn't get music playback working right with their approach of just running the original 68k code in it's own built-in emualtor. Some of the same script files for assembling the game data are still in there as well, just as they were for the CD32\AGA version.

I wonder why they opted to emulate instead of rewriting it from the ground up, if they had access to the original assembler source code.
Exl is offline  
Old 30 August 2013, 21:53   #72
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exl View Post
I wonder why they opted to emulate instead of rewriting it from the ground up, if they had access to the original assembler source code.
One explanation would be that they wanted to put the as less effort into it as possible. It's a bit of an 'overhype' to call it remake really. It simply isn't. It's a bundled emulator version with some minor improvements. Still keeping my fingers crossed for comunity created content though
TCD is offline  
Old 30 August 2013, 22:06   #73
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,936
There is no editor included. Was it even planned?
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 30 August 2013, 22:18   #74
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
Re-reading the thread is was just wishful thinking on my part Ah well, it was actually better when



It's just not for me being a die hard CE fan and hoping for anything really new. This is not the worst way of 'introducing the game to a new generation of gamers' though I guess.
TCD is offline  
Old 30 August 2013, 23:37   #75
Titler
Zone Friend
Titler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 295
I was gifted a copy of this game, and I have to agree with all said so far; I still have the original ECS version that came with the Beau Jolly compilation (Woot for that compilation!) and I'd never tried the AGA so the colours used in the remake horrified me. The SAI filter is messy and ghastly. The "Tutorial" is amateurish and disappointing. I've not got any friends these days who played Amiga in those days, so I've remained without an online partner to try net play... but this thread has pointed me to a new online UAE I didn't know about! I still had Kaillera installed, so this is at least has led to something positive :P

Oh, almost forgot; it has Steam trading cards, so for getting the game free, in theory I can earn about 30p! Hurrah for profit!
Titler is offline  
Old 31 August 2013, 22:20   #76
Qube
Registered User
Qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: England
Posts: 218
Potential for user content was hinted in this interview - [ Show youtube player ]

They also mention CE2 depending on reponse to CE1...

Q;
Qube is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chaos Engine - Help us through co-op clownstyle Retrogaming General Discussion 18 28 February 2013 13:33
Chaos Engine vs Chaos Engine 2 NytroX86 Nostalgia & memories 20 31 August 2005 11:25
Chaos Engine killergorilla HOL contributions 11 05 June 2004 19:30
Chaos Engine CD Unregistered request.Modules 15 17 August 2002 18:58
Chaos Engine 2 Tim Janssen support.Games 12 22 March 2002 11:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08802 seconds with 13 queries