English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 August 2008, 03:02   #1
miggy1974
 
Posts: n/a
My beloved blizzard 1260 board is damaged, and no longer boots, help please

HI all Amigans
I have my beloved blizzard 1260 right here but the problem is 2 or 3 tracks on the circuit board have broken near the crystal oscilator and the blizzard gives just a blank grey screen and no longer boots the amiga. The amiga works fine without the board fitted. The board was working fine before this happened, like a careless fool i left it on the floor while installing my amiga in a dbox tower and it got damaged, sob

I dont suppose anybody knows of any pictures of a blizzard 1260 with its crystal desoldered/removed so i can see where the broken tracks go and repair them as i miss my 1260, it happened right before i mounted my amiga 1200 in a nice Dbox tower I bought from a great seller, BUMMER. I am a regular on here so if anybody has any info for me or could help me with a picture i would be truly grateful indeed as at the moment i am really gutted as i am using a stock 2mb 14mhz A1200 in the tower with ATA Power flyer gold and aren't able to install Amiga OS3.9 or Amigasys.

I will supply pictures of the damage to the board if anyone needs them.

Please help

Kind Regards, jimmy


Amiga keep the faith
 
Old 11 August 2008, 04:10   #2
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,758
Send it to France and get it fixed properly


JJB in France http://www.amigacenter.com/

Last edited by NovaCoder; 11 August 2008 at 05:48.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 August 2008, 00:35   #3
Dimlow
Likes to be thought of as
Dimlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kent,UK
Age: 51
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Dimlow Send a message via Yahoo to Dimlow
Where are you in the UK ? Got any pictures of the broken tracks, could be an easy fix.
Dimlow is offline  
Old 12 August 2008, 01:26   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,352
http://www.flickr.com/photos/27941763@N02/

They are pretty crap photo's though. It is almost impossible to tell what the original damage was.

The repair looks pretty horrendous.. but I cannot quite tell as there is a lot of scorching.

Last edited by alexh; 12 August 2008 at 01:31.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 August 2008, 02:50   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
hmmm looks more of a bodged attempt gone really bad...

Looking on Amiga-Hardware, the Original Oscillator is 4pin DILL, and the Hack to allow for 8PIN DILL Oscillators.

to really comment on its repair-ability, I would definitely need better pics.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 03:44   #6
miggy1974
 
Posts: n/a
Hi i am in
ipswich
suffolk

Thanks, jimmy
 
Old 13 August 2008, 03:47   #7
miggy1974
 
Posts: n/a
Hi all, i no the photos are terrible but this is due to my 4mp digital camera, the closer i get the blurrier the image gets. I can use macro but then the optical zoom is not available, must be a fault with my camera. If i desolder the crystal socket would this help and then i could try and take better photos again so hopefully you could all see the damage in better detail ???

Cheers, jimmy

Last edited by miggy1974; 13 August 2008 at 03:49. Reason: forgot to add an important statement
 
Old 13 August 2008, 03:50   #8
miggy1974
 
Posts: n/a
If i sent it to amiga repair center in france any idea how much it would cost ?

Thanks

Last edited by miggy1974; 13 August 2008 at 03:51. Reason: spelling mistake
 
Old 13 August 2008, 04:22   #9
miggy1974
 
Posts: n/a
Pictures of damaged blizzard before and after

Hi if this helps i have pictures before the repair took place. This is when the card as converted to the 060 by myself was working and after the damage and repair.

http://eab.abime.net/album.php?albumid=40&pictureid=239 Before damage and repair

http://www.flickr.com/photos/27941763@N02/2750493936/ After damage and repair.

Look to me like 2 tracks ae joined together and may be creating a short on the board. what do you guys think ?

JIMMY

 
Old 13 August 2008, 09:55   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,352
Beg, borrow, steal another Camera. Or perhaps try scanning it if you have a scanner.

Removing the crystal socket would help, but only if you can do it safely.

It is impossible to tell what the problem is from the photographs. You cannot see what is above the mask resist and what is connected to vias around the fix. There also looks like some solder spillage around the right legs of the crystal socket.

It would help a great deal if you told us exactly how the damage occured and how you decided to make the fix that you did.

Last edited by alexh; 13 August 2008 at 10:00.
alexh is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 11:58   #11
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@miggy1974

send JJB (Amiga Center France) an email, the most expensive thing will be recorded postage for there and back LOL

although expensive, there is no better option, I highly rate JJB's service. clearly awesome!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 August 2008, 14:37   #12
Dimlow
Likes to be thought of as
Dimlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kent,UK
Age: 51
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Dimlow Send a message via Yahoo to Dimlow
Ooh, that repair looks Nasty, far too much solder, Flux really helps, and i cant stress enough about cleanliness and a cooler solder Iron. I could possibly fix that, but also i guess a few others here could too.
Alex is right with the scanner trick, i used that on some boards before, but a good camera is the trick.

Ipswich to Kent its a be far for you to pop round, so i could take a look at it. May someone else ?
Dimlow is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 + Blizzard 1260 + Blizzard SCSI + ACard + CF test setup Toni Wilen Hardware pics 69 18 August 2011 13:49
WTB: Blizzard 1260 or Apollo 1260 OldB0y MarketPlace 1 13 April 2010 23:42
Blizzard 1260 Hardsequencer MarketPlace 4 21 May 2009 03:59
Apollo 1260 32MB FAST or Blizzard 1260 64MB FAST? prart support.Hardware 36 19 June 2008 00:23
blizzard 1230iv scsi no longer registers :( Boot_WB support.Hardware 5 24 November 2004 02:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07895 seconds with 13 queries