English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 April 2016, 22:50   #821
necronom
Registered User
necronom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Middlesbrough
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Ah ok..

Do you know where the Made in UK breadbins were made?
No idea. I don't think I was aware that they were ever made here. There was the address in Slough, 675 Ajax Avenue, which had large warehouses and things like that, but I don't know if that was just an office.
necronom is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 10:20   #822
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Is Amiga chipset strained more when running at higher resolutions, and so more prone to dying ?
60Hz 30Khz Vs 50Hz 15KHz
I doubt it will drastically shorten the life expectancy. The chips were designed to handle those frequencies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by necronom View Post
No idea. I don't think I was aware that they were ever made here. There was the address in Slough, 675 Ajax Avenue, which had large warehouses and things like that, but I don't know if that was just an office.
Time to dig through old manuals and check the locations with google maps. That Ajax Avenue address definitely looks like it could house an assembly plant too.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 11:05   #823
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Is Amiga chipset strained more when running at higher resolutions, and so more prone to dying ?
60Hz 30Khz Vs 50Hz 15KHz
When running higher resolutions like SuperPlus, HighGfx and Extreme modes, Lisa does get hotter since you're effectively overclocking it and you can sometimes get display artifacts as well as it heats up. I don't know for sure, but if the chip gets hotter then it normally translates to a shorter life as well. The question is how much.
demolition is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 11:34   #824
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
When running higher resolutions like SuperPlus, HighGfx and Extreme modes, Lisa does get hotter since you're effectively overclocking it and you can sometimes get display artifacts as well as it heats up. I don't know for sure, but if the chip gets hotter then it normally translates to a shorter life as well. The question is how much.
Lisa is not overclocked, at least not in the traditional sense of the word (increased frequency). The reason it might get hotter is that it does 'more work' in the same amount of time - that is, flip-flops will toggle more in the same amount of time, thereby increasing power draw (= heat).

It is true that if the rise in power usage and therefore temperature is substantial, it could decrease the lifetime of the chip, bu I never noticed Lisa in my A1200 to get substantially hotter.
chaos is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 14:53   #825
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
Can i use a 50mhz Crystal with an 68882 FN 33A ?

Is 50mhz overkill for the 33mhz FPU ?

Last edited by Nibbler; 25 April 2016 at 18:35.
Nibbler is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 15:25   #826
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos View Post
Lisa is not overclocked, at least not in the traditional sense of the word (increased frequency).
You are right - just did some quick calculations and HighGFX, HD720 and XTREME are all around 43.3 Mpx/s. What you gain in resolution is lost in the refresh rate.

But adding an internal scandoubler will also cause Lisa to have a harder time getting rid of heat. Anyway, very few of us have their Amigas running as much as people did in the 90s when they used it as their main computers.
demolition is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 16:38   #827
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 968
Thanks for the answers guys
At the moment I'm using DblNTSC 640x400 for my WB, and it doesn't feel like I'm pushing it too hard. We'll see.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 17:05   #828
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 400
Here's a question I never figured out the answer to: Why 15kHz RGB? Was that a standard of some kind at the time?
appiah4 is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 17:26   #829
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,922
Tv frequencies, it was meant to be a game console originally. Genlock use was a nice side effect.

TV modulators were always available, even for the A1000.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 18:36   #830
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
Does anybody know ?

Can i use a 50mhz Crystal with an 68882 FN 33A ?

Is 50mhz overkill for the 33mhz FPU ?
Nibbler is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 22:09   #831
jizmo
Registered Abuser

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Valencia / Spain
Posts: 157
Classic Amigas seem to Guru every time there's a problem. But is it an omnipotent system, or can some special type of software failure ever cause Amiga to crash and reboot without Guruing?
jizmo is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 22:34   #832
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
any software can reboot the machine without causing a Guru, Gurus are only triggered by particular conditions, i.e. hardware exceptions. Sometimes a crash can be so bad that there is neither a reboot nor a Guru but a total crazy mess!
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 22:50   #833
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
Does anybody know ?

Can i use a 50mhz Crystal with an 68882 FN 33A ?

Is 50mhz overkill for the 33mhz FPU ?
Yes, ALL 68882 FPUs are good for 50MHz clocking IIRC.
prowler is offline  
Old 25 April 2016, 23:24   #834
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Yes, ALL 68882 FPUs are good for 50MHz clocking IIRC.
Thanks for the answer.

Another Question.

Disksalv shows Invalid Volume and Invalid Bitmap on the Low level information. ( CF Card )

Is that normal for CF Cards ? ( i guess, but i want some PRO answer )

Last edited by Nibbler; 27 April 2016 at 17:53.
Nibbler is offline  
Old 28 April 2016, 11:24   #835
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
Disksalv shows Invalid Volume and Invalid Bitmap on the Low level information. ( CF Card )

Is that normal for CF Cards ? ( i guess, but i want some PRO answer )
Is your CF formatted via FFS and are all the partitions you're trying to access fully below the 4GB border?

If the answer to either is no, then you can't use disksalv.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 April 2016, 14:51   #836
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
Thanks Jope !

The CF is Formatted with FFS and i use 2GB of a 4GB Card with 3 partitions.
(around 600MB each)
All working Fine.

ANOTHER QUESTION

Are tools like Disksalv, QBTools and AmiBack actually dangerous for OS3.9 users witha CF Card ?

For Example, Disksalv say all is fine on the "CHECK" function but QBTools say that " Root drawer content corrupted " on all my 3 partitions... even on a DF0: Floppy (gotek)

weird

Last edited by Nibbler; 28 April 2016 at 17:49. Reason: add a question
Nibbler is offline  
Old 28 April 2016, 23:26   #837
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
How many different helmets you can find in Magic Pockets and what they can do?
s2325 is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 11:00   #838
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,507
@Nibbler

It would only be dangerous once you go above the 4GB barrier. If you do that, you can easily and silently destroy the partition structure and data on the drive. I suppose OS 3.9 is mentioned as it lets you easily use large hard drives without being fully aware of the problems that might be caused by other software.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 15:49   #839
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
How many different helmets you can find in Magic Pockets and what they can do?
Interesting question, but slightly off-topic don't you think?
put that in a relevant thread I'll try to answer.
jotd is offline  
Old 29 April 2016, 18:15   #840
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 46
Posts: 2,446
Don't you get that he is embarrassed to ask??
Anubis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 13:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 17:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 23:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 11:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 20:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11744 seconds with 14 queries